We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a place of great adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonargaon

Sonargaon
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Private Tour: Sonargaon Day Tour including Country Boat Trip
Ranked #3 of 75 things to do in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Its a place of great adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is a capital of ancient time of bangladesh.It is developed by Ishakha a land lord nominated by moghol emperor. The landscape is highly impressive. You need to take ticket before entering, after entering you see a palace it is now use as a museum with lots of ancient time products. Outside the palace a big lake with lots of trees and birds. beside you watch a village there you can see so many local handmade products of Bangladeshi culture, a puppet show, a meena bazar, you can see the souvenir shop, food court, you need to visit at least 4 hours to complete the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank donaldgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    87
    43
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Histrical attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you have love for history, culture & architecture, this place is ideal for you. At museum founded by great artist (Shilpa Achariya) Jaynul Abedin, you'll experience the essence of local custom, costume, tradition, lifestyle, & most importantly, art forms of rural Bengal.
And DON'T FORGET to visit the Panam City, Capital of medieval Bengal furnished with lovely residential buildings, which is just a few minutes walk from the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanvir_Ayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little android guide for you trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=easyjamUK.bangladesh#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDIxMiwiZWFzeWphbVVLLmJhbmdsYWRlc2giXQ..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Afar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Definetly does not look Pictures -but a nice place to get out of Dhaka”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

As a new resident of Bangladesh-i am going to explore my new home for the next several years. This was our first trip out of Dhaka-- for that i would give it 4/5 stars.

However, for the place itself--2.5 in reality. The walls are crumbling-- with little thoughts of perserving them-- even the tour guide was ashamed of how far the country has let it's history lay in ruins. The "historical art" and "folk art" is mostly of the 19th and 20th century-- and most are in poor shape. If you are expecting the quality of museums and artifacts you see in Inda or even Nepal-- you will be disappointed. The museum will take about 15 mins to walk through-- the ruins another 20 mins. However, the green park like area is nice.

Yes, there are people selling all types of stuff (lots of chinese made dolls, toys) including shari's. No different than other places.

I do not mean to be disrespectful-- the town we walked through were inviting-people smile-- one of my blond colleagues was a bollywood star and had her picture taken 100 times. I took some pictures with some children as they followed us around-- and bought them peanuts as a favor. That was fun.

I would do this as a side trip or a trip just to get out of the city. I would not though expect great museum or artifacts-- go to any of the major antique dealers for that. There food for sale-- take your chances- my stomach is not adjusted to street food yet. Of course take plenty of water as always.

There are other places to explore in Bangladesh-- i will be writing about those as i go along-- trying not to be over critical-but also being fair to those who want to know what to expect.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Panam City Ruins and Folk Craft Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was pursuaded by our Business partner to visit this placa and the decision was correct ! This place is awsome. The ruins are located in a very small area ... its just a street but have the ruins on either side. If you look closely, it has resemblnce of the British architechture and mesmerises you. More info can be found at

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonargaon

The Folk craft Museum is a must visit place. You can also buy the traditional Jamdani sarees and dress material a t reasonable price.

Worth a visit !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SanjaySri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonargaon also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Sonargaon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing