We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BN museum”

Bangladesh National Museum
Ranked #10 of 76 things to do in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BN museum”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

inteersting, u can learn a lot about the culture and surprisingly the budhist history of the coutry!
very nice pieces of work donated

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BenGOTYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    35
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comprehensive and well-structured, but varied quality of content”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A visit to this museum, which obviously is popular, is a good learning experience. We didn't get to see all, but the layout is reasonably clear, and the quality of most exhibits are also good. I particularly liked the presentation of fauna and national painters/paintings. The flora and food exhibits were comprehensive. The only question I had was the exhibit of prints (paintings) from international (mainly European) art, but understand why this is there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasta, Norge
Level Contributor
229 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old memories”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The museum obviously has high status among the Bangladeshi people, and probably a good one in Dhaka standard. The first floor is the most interesting for us foreigners with a decent description of Bangladesh. For me this was also a trip back in time to the museums of my childhood: Everything was licely placed in boxes, and quite often with no cultural or natural contex.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hohygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting museum containing both old and new”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my third visit to the National Museum. The first time I had just enough time to get round the place (it's quite large), the second time I concentrated on some of the natural history of the country and this time I spent more time on the Liberation War Section. Next time I will take some time in the art and pottery areas.
Anyway, Bangladesh is a wonderful country with a rich and colourful history. A visit to the National Museum is a must for any visitor, there is something here for everyone.
Note that photography is not permitted and cameras have to be left at the desk.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank harvest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Tourist Attraction In Dhaka”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bangladesh National Museum is a Center of Historical Bangladesh. Bengal Was Best Richest Country In The World Before British Strike to Bengal. British Troops Also Broke The Economy of Bangladesh. BDesh now a Poor Country in world But It's History Not Poor. Vanga to Bangladesh, We Are Lost Our Land. Indian Crop Most of Bengal Regime at 1947. But Bangladesh Become A Freedom Land After 1971 from Pakistan. You Can See Our Great History From Bangladesh National Museum.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain_Aslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangladesh National Museum also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Bangladesh National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing