We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Donuts in Dhaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glazed

Glazed
Ranked #1 of 16 Dessert in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout
Description: Glazed is the first donut & coffee shop in Dhaka, Bangladesh! Strategically located opposite the Westin hotel in the Gulshan 2 market, Glazed brings you fresh, hand made donuts that are by all means extraordinary. To complement your donut, our menu includes a variety coffees and iced slushies.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Donuts in Dhaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Without a doubt, they serve the best donuts in Dhaka. I have stopped buying from Westin ever since I have experienced Glazed Donuts .. as good, as fresh, as soft as any international brand. I wish they sold cupcakes too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FarhaNZaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Doughnut....ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

If thinning up your wallet is not a concern and you have a sweet tooth, then this is the best place to be in Dhaka. The BDT 135 tag on each Doughnut is an issue because you can't definitely stop at one Doughnut. I'll give it a 4 out of 5 simply because of it being a bit pricey and no seating arrangement.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashiq_Alam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ah, Donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

So in Bangladesh, good doughnuts are scarce. Imagine everyone's delight when Glazed opens up! Glazed doughnuts are good, bringing foreign flavours like Apple Pie certainly help locals get a taste of what life is like outside Bangladesh, but be warned; if you have had any doughnuts from big places like Dunkin Donuts, Krispy Kreme, etc. then these doughnuts are not for you. The doughnuts, while good, cannot even attempt to compare to the tasty, sweet doughnuts from the big brands. The aftertaste is almost bitter and not nearly as good as the variety and taste of the places abroad. Still, it's a pretty fair substitute for a country of people dying for foreign treats.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arman H, Owner at Glazed, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Glazed. However, I would like to take this time to highlight the majority of our customers are well travelled and have consumed donuts all over the world. We have customers who come in and even say that our donuts beat some of the brands you have mentioned above. So when you say "flavors like apple pie certainly helps locals get a taste of what life is like outside Bangladesh," it is a false assumption that Bangladeshi customers of Glazed have not travelled. Furthermore, I would like to take this time to highlight that over 30% of our repeat clientele are expatriates. So in a "county of people are dying for foreign treats" please be advised that in a globalized world, it is only natural for people to be associated with and demand products from all parts of the world, which is why half of H&M retail stores are full of Bangladeshi products. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Melting doughnuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Never cared much for doughnuts, maybe I will eat one, maybe not. But a doughnut from here, I will definitely eat. Pricey I must say, but the taste beats all bakeries everywhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Copy of Krispy Kreme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is located at the Gulshan 2 DCC market.

Basically the doughnuts are pretty great, almost melts right in your mouth and the smell of the doughnuts make you wanna eat more. They are fluffy and made to look as attractive as possible.The donuts might seem quite pricey (Tk.135/doughnut last I bought them) but more or less worth it.

The only con I see is the size, the donuts are comparatively small and just doesn't fulfill the requirement, maybe it's just a business policy so that people have to buy more than one!!

In the end, this is basically Krispy Kreme in Bangladesh without the brand name. Basically the same recipe so can't really complain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rafatabedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glazed also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Glazed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing