We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Wood Residence
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Dhaka City
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Th hotel is average and probably good value for the price - everything is okay - breakfast is okay and service is okay and the rooms are okay (with the exception of the beds which are very firm / hard) - the location, however, is excellent and that can make up for a lot when you are dealing with Dhaka traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 334Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights when visiting Dhaka for work. It is in Gulshan, so reasonably convenient. Basic rooms with a TV, wheezy AC and OK bed. Not too noisy. The food and service was fine without being special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for five nights in a mixture of single and double rooms. The double rooms were much better appointed and also in better condition.

As with all hotels in Dhaka there can be problems with mosquitos. Although all the rooms were glazed and had fly screens it seemed obvious that these had been left open at certain times allowing millions of the blighters to get in.

Breakfast is good, particularly the Bangladeshi style food.

The staff are friendly, helpful and speak English.

The hotel can arrange pickup/drop offs to the airport.

Its about 10 minutes walk (depending on how chaotic the streets are) to Gulshan 2 circle and around 20 mintues/rest of your life by CNG to old Dhaka waterfront

There are a couple of internet connected PCs which guests can use free of charge-these are hidden away in the business centre.

There is small gym with various weights.

Room Tip: book a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chepstow_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The room is OK, comfortable enough. Having breakfast there can be depressing if you stay more than a week. I had a horrible experience where I ordered a burger via room service and the next morning I had a waterry diarrhea! The diarrhea lasted for a week! Be careful what you eat even hotel food.

The room lack of water kettle, which is a big turnoff if you like having a hot drinks in your room. Of course you can order a hot boiled water but be weary, the water smells.

The room lighting can be depressing, if you stay for a longer period and I must say, there are small bugs and cockroaches in the room as well!!!

The hotel staff were very friendly and sometimes can be suspiciously friendly.

I placed Do not disturb sign at the door and they still disturbed me by calling to my room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This hotel is surprisingly comfortable, as opposed to the only other reviewer's opinion. He's right, it's not the cleanest place on earth, but neither is it "dark and depressing"!

Arrived at 6a.m. at the Zia Dhaka airport, after a 3 hour flight delay, and the hotel driver was still waiting for us. And the cars are both pretty new and comfy. Good first impression already.

The hotel allowed us to check in even though it was still so early in the morning, and we had breakfast as well at 7a.m. The breakfast selection was not large, but enough - capati & dhal, fried noodles Chinese style (that's a surprise to find in Dhaka), frech toast, bread/toast with jam, honey, butter, and you can even order omelettee/hard boiled eggs. I tried to order half boiled eggs, but they don't seem to understand what it means, and came up with hard boiled eggs - which is OK for me as well.

It's the cold season in Dhaka, daytime temperature around 20C, by nights are around 15C. The bed is cold, and the blanket doesn't seem to be warm enough for me. But the bed is comfortable enough, not saggy at all, and definitely no bed bugs. The sheets were white and clean. So were the towels - snow white & clean.

The toilet/bathroom though is another matter. It is small (but still bigger than the ones in easyhotels & the japanese ones). And the toilet is where I find it not up to standard - there are brown stains everywhere - in the toilet, on the sink, in the shower tub, in the corners on the floor... but the places you have to "touch" are acceptable, and not too disgusting. There's warm water at the sink. The shower's strong too, and its nice and warm for this cool weather. And it doesn't clog. So, that's OK. Oh, and they provide a toothbrush and toohpaste, besides the usual soap, shower gel & shampoo. The toilet roll is soft too!

There doesn't appear to be a kettle available in the room. And when I asked for an iron and ironing board, that's not available either - you have to sent your clothes to the laundry at a small fee (it's not too expensive though). [By the way, the ironing was very prompt - my 3 pieces of clothes were returned within half an hour nicely pressed.] And everything in the fridge (including the small bottles of water) is chargeable. But a nice touch is the welcoming fruit bowl which is complimentary! And best of all, there's free internet in the room!!!

The location of the hotel is also good - right in the centre of town at Gulshan. And when we walked out there are small restaurants nearby, and also a marketplace where there's wet market downstairs, and dry market - with clothes, grocery shops, souvenirs, etc upstairs. And if you need to go a little distance, you can always take the tricycles.

Overall, I am pretty happy with this little hotel. Not five star, definitely. Perhaps only 2 or 3 stars, but definitely worth it at only USD35 per night for a single room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbkoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Rooms are very dirty, there is one lamp in the room with 20W light bulb in it. The room makes you depressed jut to be in it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bangali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere che danno sulla strada sono le migliori perchè le altre hanno un muro del palazzo di front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
0.5 mi away
Century Park Residence
Century Park Residence
#42 of 83 in Dhaka City
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Olives Residence & Suite
The Olives Residence & Suite
#23 of 83 in Dhaka City
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific lake View Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coventina Lake Suites
Coventina Lake Suites
#49 of 83 in Dhaka City
2 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bon Vivant
Hotel Bon Vivant
#47 of 83 in Dhaka City
11 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Milina
Hotel Milina
#61 of 83 in Dhaka City
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Wood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Wood Residence

Address: 1 # 6/A. Road #13, Gulshan | Gulshan 1, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Dhaka City
Price Range: $84 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rose Wood Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestle among the Greenest part of the city and Gulshan Lake, the hotel offers easy-going barefoot living, understated luxury and casual friendly service. Situated a few miles from International Airport and the commercial area, the hotel is privileged to share a close proximity to the high officials and diplomatic enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Wood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Wood Residence Hotel Dhaka City
Rose Wood Residence Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing