We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the oldest hotels around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the oldest hotels around”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Pan Pacific Sonargaon is one of the oldest hotels in Dhaka city. You cant but help notice most of the older bits and pieces of the hotel, although they have been refurbishing the place. It is rated a 5 star hotel, but I did not get the feel in general while I was staying there.

This hotel has been host to some of the most famous dignitaries world over, and the impressive list is put up in the lobby.

- Rooms are quite old and definitely need a giant face lift
- Breakfast is quite impressive and should satisfy almost all taste buds, specially the spread
- Location is not the greatest as you are bound to be in traffic all the time.
- The pond just behind the hotel stinks and spoils the view

All in all, if you have work bang in the middle of the city, you pretty much dont have choices around.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you get rooms on the newer floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    271
    106
    23
    20
See reviews for
42
25
41
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

When in Dhaka, after endless traffic snarls, you enter the solace in a place call Pan Pacific Sonargaon. Nicely laid out, nice business wise location, classy rooms, great maintainence, good food and friendly, helpful staff. Good Value for money.

What they can do better.... Breakfast with Indian dishes, room service menu - more variation and do away with old TV sets !!!!

Room Tip: Please ask room on front side.. It gets sunny early on rooms facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was told that this was one of the best places in Dhaka. It definitely is a very good hotel and many of the international diplomats use it while visiting Dhaka. I was there for a conference and preferred to stay in the same place. The service and facilities were on par with any of the other premium hotels in the Indian subcontinent. One could have slight difficulties in understanding the accents influenced by Bangla. There is a fountain next to the lobby and this adds a lot of charm to the ambiance. There is a small coffee shop which serves excellent pastries and remains open for long hours. Breakfast options are good and vegetarians like me did not have any trouble in finding right food.
Apart from a big mall, unfortunately I could not find much of interest around the hotel. The mall is just 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel and you can grab good Jamdani/Muslin cloth materials. However one needs to really bargain hard.
The place is bit far from the airport. I heard that the traffic in Dhaka is crazy and hence had checked out very early but it took just 45 minutes to reach the airport. Anyways this can't be benchmarked. So please do discuss with the concierge about your travel plan.

Room Tip: Good coffee house near the lobby A Barista on the opposite side of the hotel - in case you crave fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangeshPatankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A classic representative of my home town- Dhaka City........ I have checked in here after 13 years with my wife to celebrate our 15th anniversary and their welcome was just awesome. I got an executive suit at the rate of standard room (because the occupancy rate was luckily low at that time) and the experience was simply awesome. Rooms are nice and clean and staffs are real friendly. We got free usage of executive lounge and hospitality was simply mind blowing. Its not because of my home town hotel, but I can guarantee you that it is one of the best five star luxury in Bangladesh.......highly recommended from me......

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed in this during a business visit to Dhaka. The Sonargon’s facilities are top of the class. A large number of foreign delegates and diplomats have stayed here. The rooms are spacious and clean. The buffet certainly meets the international standards and the range is exceptional. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is located very close to shopping area.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with the view of Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weliglah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 or 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel was friendly without being in your face, and all areas I visited were very clean.
The room was clean and comfortable, but perhaps a little tired.
Breakfast and restaurant was fine, good selection on the buffet, and a good menu. Service was fine.
Nice clean communal areas in lobby.

Internet worked fine.

I didn't use the pools, so can't comment...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

the service & location of this hotel is awesome....
the view from this hotel may not be so charming but overall its a standard 5 star hotel to stay at Dhaka!
they have several world class restaurants to meet your hunger though its a bit over-priced...but,you won't mind to pay when the pleasant taste & soothing environment pleases you!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tazbir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
3.0 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 81 in Dhaka City
232 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Dhaka
The Westin Dhaka
#4 of 81 in Dhaka City
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 81 in Dhaka City
186 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 81 in Dhaka City
279 reviews
6.2 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#3 of 81 in Dhaka City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka

Property: Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
Address: 107 Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue | GPO Box 3595, Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#6 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Sonargaon, Dhaka welcomes you with a warm heart to enjoy the typical five-star facilities available; from first class surroundings to world-class hospitality in true Pan Pacific style, right from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Pan Pacific Dhaka City
Dhaka City Pan Pacific
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing