We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Swiss Garden, Banani, Dhaka, Bangladesh”
Review of Hotel Swiss Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Swiss Garden
Ranked #13 of 82 Dhaka City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On my 3 week work trip to Dhaka in March 2013 I was accomodated at the hotel Swiss Garden.
It turned out to be a hidden gem as regards price-quality (having worked extensively in developing countries). A small, pleasant hotel, with a small indoor swinning pool as a surprise (not common in Dhaka!). Good spacious, clean room with well working internet and flat screen Tv with international channels. Friendly staff. Quiet hotel on a quiet street but very close to Banani main street (rd 11) and thus close to many good restaurants. The hotel restaurant food was a bit hit and miss and the breakfast buffet was average but as a summary I very much recommend this hotel for a budget conscious traveller

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank elintunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Swiss Garden is a small boutique hotel in upmarket Banani area. Its a new hotel with clean rooms, well decorated. Restaurant offers limited menu for vegetarians. Breakfast too offers limited options.Has swimming pool and an average gym with not much equipment. Staff however is very friendly. For the price, his hotel definitely offers value especially being in a nice residential peaceful area of Dhaka city. Good choice for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed there on my 2nd visit to Dhaka. A very nice & cosy boutique hotel in the Banani residential enclave. Rooms are small in size but spotless. They really know the meaning of Cleanliness is Godliness. We booked a suite as we were on a business tour there. It had separate meeting room & bedroom, which we liked the most. The food street (Road No. 11) of Banani is just round the corner & you will get all the varieties of world cuisines on that single street.

You can choose any room you want as its a bit in the interior, away from the hustle & bustle of the main street. As a result, it's very quite all the time. Lobby & rooms are luxuriously furnished & so is the restaurant & swimming pool area (Yes!! It has an indoor swimming pool). The only issue is the price. I agree that the quality is top notch but still you feel being ripped apart by the pricing. It ranges in the territory of a 4-Star hotel which is quite a good asking amount for such a small boutique property. The room service is also a tad dull but manageable.

Overall a very good place to stay but there are better options available in Dhaka at the same price.

Room Tip: Choose any room you want but opt for the Swiss Garden Suite if you have business meetings to deal wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumit_bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After my last experience a month ago, your would think I would settle for anything in Dhaka!
But then again....
After this stay at the Hotel Swiss Garden, there's not much more than I can ask for.
They arranged for an airport pick up (Tk500 + taxes) - so arrival into the hotel was easy. It did help that there was a "hartal" or general strike that day - so it took us precisely 15 minutes to get to Banani. Check in was smooth.
There is nothing as relaxing to a traveller than to enter into a room that is spotlessly clean (really not spots!!) and a toilet that is basic yet really functional. The ample storage space for luggage and travel clothes, the queen sized bed, the relaxing sofas, the wide screen tv - all make for a comfortable stay. Again, at the end of a tiring day there is not much else you can ask for.
The breakfast is standard - I loved the luchi (pooris) and mince chicken. The conference lunch would put you to sleep in the afternoon session - the fare was truly Bangali - ilish fish, chicken curry, rotis, rice and the most lip-smacking dhal I have ever had! If you have even one sweet tooth - the ultra large servings of icecream or the mishti doi (sweetened curd) - would have you wishing you had another 32 more teeth.
I hear that the food street - Road No. 11 in Banani is close by. It is close to the business district of Gulshan.
They must have done something about the mosquitoes - because contrary to other reviewers I did not find even one during the two nights I stayed here.
If there was a negative - it could be the room service - a tad late to bring in my jumbo burger and sweet lassi! I hear from my colleagues that the service in the restaurant is also a little tardy.
Will look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the middle floors i.e. 2/3/4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobYourUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

All is good : food, stay, location (close to gulshan and other business districts), room rates, etc.

Whats not good: mosquitoes and the airconditioning! the air conditioners have been set up to shut off on their own (no its not sleep mode!! there's some other adjustment that the staff has done) and no matter what you do or how many times you complain the staff keeps avoiding this complaint! probably the hotel was on a electricity cost saving mood during my travel. hope their management reads this review and fixes the issue.

Things to look forward to: fitness center was being constructed and so was a rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: rooms on the rear are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumitminocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed a few times already at this hotel mainly because it is a fairly new residence. But mosquito has always been a problem there. Last time, they did not gave us the spray and the electric mosquito (liquid type) until we complained. This should be done before guests checked in. Also I had water problem on one of the nights, the water pressure was very low, the water in the shower was only warm and running at low volume and finally there was no water at all, so I did not properly finish my shower.

Getting a taxi is problematic. When we asked for Taxi, those cars hotel called for us tend to over charge. A trip maximum costs 400-500 taka, the private taxi drivers asked for 1000 taka.

Generally speaking, this hotel is clean and quiet. Rooms have LCD flat screen TV. On my first stay in 2011, the hotel had electricity cut off every half an hour, but now the electricity is not a problem. Free airport pick up is a plus.

Last but not the least, the rate is at higher end, and on top of the hotel rate, it is plus plus guests have to pay, so it easily adds up to a rate level like a standard 4 star hotels any where in the world would charge.

Will I stay again? Maybe, but I will keep searching for a better option in Dhaka city for my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropical Daisy
Tropical Daisy
#2 of 82 in Dhaka City
177 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#13 of 83 in Dhaka City
204 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Center Point
Hotel Center Point
#55 of 83 in Dhaka City
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dhaka
The Westin Dhaka
#2 of 83 in Dhaka City
1,318 reviews
3 mi away
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
#17 of 83 in Dhaka City
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swiss Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swiss Garden

Address: Road # 13, House # 89, Block - D | Banani, Dhaka City 1213, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dhaka City
Price Range: $86 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swiss Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Swiss Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swiss Garden Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing