We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood? Saltz it is!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltz

Saltz
Ranked #104 of 543 Restaurants in Dhaka City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seafood? Saltz it is!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place tops any other restaurant when it comes to seafood. I have tried most of their items and almost every occasions i came out as a happy customers. Adding to that they have kept the price reasonable over the years. I don't know how they do it but do it. Atmosphere is great. Decoration is a bit old but it goes with the restaurant. So if your thinking seafood, just hit saltz.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
157 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I like this seafood restaurant very much. The price is reasonable and delicious dishes are available that can be expected by any visitors.I visited several time with my office colleagues and ate salmon grill.it was simply awesome. Even I like their beef steak. They have open area on the 1st Floor and it's simply loved by all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AHM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great value, and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

A great restaurant to visit! This is truly one of the hidden gems in Dhaka, and serves great seafood. You also feel at ease eating here - important when eating seafood in a country like Bangladesh!

The menu is quite varied with a lot of choice. They also offer "Grilled Chicken surf-&-turf" - but who wants to eat that when visiting a seafood restaurant!
I started off with prawn toast, and had tiger prawns and sauteed veg served with some delicious honey-mustard sauce as my main. My partner had the jumbo prawns, but ironically there wasn't that much 'meat' on them. A few of our friends had the lobster dish, and that looked quite hearty.
Service was good, and it didn't take ages for our courses to arrive.

The only real let-down was dessert - I had ice-cream, and got a really small serving considering the price when compared to the other courses.

The overall bill worked out to about £14 per person - not bad for a 3 course seafood meal at one of the higher end restaurants in Dhaka. It's location further up Gulshan Avenue means that there is less traffic, and virtually no hassle from the beggars and 'hawkers'.
Will definitely bring friends and family here whenever they visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“±”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

went out with family & friends. Food Was decent enough. Calamari was a bit over cooked. B&H was having a programme downstairs, so the live performance was something extra. Note to Saltz: # 1 - seafoodsget easily overcooked, I should'nt have to tell you this . #2 - It would'nt hurt to put some candles or lamp on the tables outside . Its dark out there

Helpful?
Thank Mustajib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
327 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Place to Go for Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

There isn't many place in Dhaka where you get real seafood and Saltz is the place to go if you really Love seafood and willing to Pay for IT!! They have a wide variety and many of the food is served on weighing scale( 500gm, 800gm Lobsters) and very very expensive but if cash is not an issue then you must go for it to have a seafood experience, closest you can get in Dhaka.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltz also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Saltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing