We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltz

Saltz
Ranked #110 of 552 Restaurants in Dhaka City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A bit of a hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here recently during my recent business trip to Dhaka.

I went during lunch time and it is a bungalow style building with ample parking space at the front (a bit of a rarity in Dhaka city). There is seating available downstairs and on the first floor. There is option to sit indoors or in an alfresco dining area. Based on the deco I would imagine the place would look nicer in the evening with the aid of lighting.

For drinks there is a selection of fresh juice and other soft drinks. I tried the pineapple was good and truly refreshing that I ended up having a second helping.

For appetiser we sampled a mix seafood platter which came with grilled prawn, fish, potatoes with cheese and grilled vegetables. Overall this dish was quite good but not really outstanding. For the main course we tried the chicken spaghetti which was just an average fare and a slightly oily.

The service was quite good with all the waiters being helpful and meeting all our needs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Value for money and good if you like seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Me and a couple of friends went there for dinner. I ordered the payela i.e spanish sea food biryani. It was very good and my friend ordered the Indian Salmon which she rated pretty high. Another one had a sea bass which also had good ratings. However, someone ordered the pasta with seafood which was very very disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imt1az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Place is not bad, offering sea food, very simple but tasty. Don't order soup there as it looks like to be done from powder

Helpful?
Thank RiceManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in Gulshan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very sorprised after the overall impression of the street. Couldn't ever imagine a good fish place in Dhaka in the middle of Gulshan Av! tried BBK red snaper and was very good, small portion thou but compensated with nice rice and awesome grilled vegies. Thums up!
Paid in total 1.700 each with starters.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javi666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best seafood place in town...although a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had visited many a times, and surprisingly the consistent food quality maintained by the restaurant amazes me. The Indian salmon steak, grouper, sea bass, lobsters.....are all deliciously prepared and served.

Although a bit pricey, Saltz is the best seafood place in town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tajwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltz also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Saltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing