We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for South Indian Vegetarian Food in Dhaka! Seriously!!”
Review of Sajna

Sajna
Ranked #25 of 564 Restaurants in Dhaka City
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sajna brand believes in quality, timeliness and consistency. In its twenty years history Sajna has served with quality and taste for the satisfaction of its valued clientele. Currently the Banani outlet can accommodate 200 people. It has a corporate room used for seminars, corporate meetings for 35 people. Sajna Group Management bears the legacy of Sajna and its other sister concerns over the years. This renowned player in the hospitality sector has the following resume: - Sajna Restaurant formerly at Gulshan and now in Banani, - Sajna Dhanmandi Branch, - Sajna Chittagong,- Oriental Pearl - authentic Chinese restaurant & hotel,- Summer Palace - hotel and apartments at Baridhara Diplomatic Enclave, - Global Foods,- Sajna has served to the dignitaries at the state level and from abroad,- Sajna has over 2.1 million servings to its credit so far,- It has a retreat facility in Bhaluka – Mymensing,- It had large scale fisheries projects in the Tangail area,- Sajna pioneered mobile van restaurants and take outs with a 10 van fleet, which wheeled in Dhaka and Chittagong city. This operation continued from for nine years. - For the last 10 years Sajna Industrial Catering (Sajna IC) has served oil rig officials and staff of ONGC, international and up market students and the faculty of American International School – AISD, Scholastica keeping in mind, the needs of health and hygiene. We not only maintained standard of service and delivery but also created a taste. - We now proudly serve Bangladesh Army and one of the top American multinational giants General Electric (GE).
Bangalore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place for South Indian Vegetarian Food in Dhaka! Seriously!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A casual search on Google for any South Indian Restaurants pointed Sajna. Intrigued by their menu, I said let me give it a try. Being a South Indian and ardent lover of South Indian food, I was inquisitive to taste and get a hang of it.

I was surprised at the near home like range of Dosas, Upma, Idlis and Vada. After having tasted Sajna food for the first time in May 2012, I made it a point to visit them at least 2-3 times during each of my stay at Dhaka. My last visit to Sajna was on October 08,2013 and October 10,2013.

Brightly lit, impeccably, clean and prompt in service. They have some seating which is closer to the see through kitchen where they prepare non-vegetarian items. When offered a seat, I had to request them to change my seat away from the sight and they did so gladly.

The Sambar portions are too small. So be prepared to ask as many times as you need and they will gladly get you.

But watch out, after having tasted Sajna food, you may be tempted to compare items at restaurants back in India. This I say in itself is a tribute to Sajna’s authenticity of South Indian food.

Prices are a tad on the higher side, but well, if you want South Indian and Vegetarian food in Dhaka, look no further than Sajna.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    88
    23
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I came here for lunch with some teammates,and enjoyed their delicious lunch buffet menu. Their naan was the best I've ever had. All the dishes were very good, and the sweet desserts gulab jamun which is mynfavorite were so good. All very clean and hygienic, beautifully presented about 10 hot dishes plusnrice and naan, four hot desserts plus fruit. I only wished I had more room to eat more of their food! Service and decor were also very nice, it was a pleasant meal and I felt like I was in a fancy Indian restaurant in the US.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely tasting Indian food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are after great tasting, authentic Indian food then come no further. We came for lunch buffet and then again for dinner, on both occasions the food was very tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Naximov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unworthy iftar buffet”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

yesterday i had iftar in sajna...it was unworthy comparing to the price. the menu was very scanty and we were unsatisfied

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
374 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Dosa Night”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were dying to have some good Dosas and selected Sajna which now have become master of making different kinds of Dosa. Our choice was correct. They were superb, delicious. Right crispness, fluffy, good mixture of masalas and the freshness. We also ordered some chicken kebab, prawn malaikari, mutton palok, jeera pani and some chicken jal Firoji. They are not bad.
On weekdays, not many people came, only six seven tables of people. So, it was a nice atmosphere. Number of waiters were more than customers last night when we dined there. Wanted to have a corner side to enjoy talking which they gladly arranged for us. Overall, it was a great food in a nice restaurant. By 11:30 at night, they started switching off the light in the corners where the guests already left. In one corner, the TV was showing a cricket match and as I said before that there were more waiters than the customers, they were all watching the game standing. This did not look very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sajna also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Sajna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing