We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will keep licking your fingers (well if you use your hands)”
Review of Bamboo Shoot

Bamboo Shoot
Ranked #50 of 566 Restaurants in Dhaka City
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You will keep licking your fingers (well if you use your hands)”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

One of best of the hundreds of Restaurants in Gulshan, Dhaka...environment is nice for Family gathering and parties. Appetizers, Soups, Main dishes everything was equally good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tareeq-Dhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    50
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good chinese”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place attracts a large number of korean and chinese visitors so that is a good sign. The service is a little to speedy for my liking and you can have your meal in under an hour. So better just for eating than for a full evening out. But its very good overall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food for Bangladesh standard only”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I looked up this restaurant by trip advisor , and I thought of trying it after looking at the reviews and all.I visited this place with some friends , and we were all Malaysian who was craving for Chinese food after being in Dhaka for few months...when we went there we ordered fried rice , chicken with cashews and sweet n sour chicken along with some kuew tow.when we got our food we were like ok this looks good and tempting but after a bite it was totally devastating as the taste is not up to the par.first of all you don't call your dish kuew tow ( if you aren't using kuew tow) the noodles is completely wrong u are using thin a little broad noodles...we r from Malaysia we know what is kuew tow as it's Malaysia Chinese hawker delicacy and it was bloody filledwih beans sprout...disaster! The next was the sweet n sour chicken it was far more sweeter than the normal way! It isn't a desert we almost puke coz of the amount of sweetner use on this dish...but the chilie chicken Was good no complaints but still feel they do need a more seasoning by adding some dried chilie and broadly chopped onions and some plum sauce for a better taste( I am not cook but helll yea I know the seasoning as this how Chinese cooks )..but we do enjoy one thing having some wine n beer while having our food..this brought us back memory to our country and yea for this reason we had a great time !but as for chinese food goes across globally this is below average as in the sense of seasoning n taste but for Bangladesh standard this place is good and far more better and yea one noticeable thing they did serve jasmine rice compare to other places like the atrium and others who claims that they serve Chinese food which is manipulated to Bengali version n serving no fragrant rice or even jasmine ..lol

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best authentic Chinese Restaurant in Dhaka.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Food always good, service and ambiance good. Had a great leaving Party here staff exceptional top marks to William & the crew.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

another good chinese restaurant in dhaka. the food is nice and the pertions are quite substantial. there's something for all tastes and paletes. for the regular chinese visitors to the locals who have a different idea as far as chinese food is concerned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adit485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Shoot also viewed

Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
Dhaka City, Dhaka Division
 

Been to Bamboo Shoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing