We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the modest price”
Review of White House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White House Hotel
Ranked #28 of 82 Dhaka City B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have visited Dhaka 10 times since 2003 (I'm an American living in Los Angeles) and have stayed at the White House Hotel numerous times. The rooms are not plush but clean and perfectly adequate. Everything worked and the food in the restaurant is very good. I was able to use my laptop in my room. The staff was very courteous. I will return there.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank MasonYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

its funny enough, but this hotel was being built right in front of my grandparent's house. i was very young when the hotel was built. i visited this hotel after 19 years and stayed for couple of nights. the room was very small actually and the current goes out as expected in Dhaka. but the generator kicks in though. they have ceiling fans. the carpet on the floor was dirty. the bathroom was nice. there was a lot of noises coming outside the bathroom window, i asked the front desk and they told me they were chef cooking for a up coming wedding, i felt uncomfortable taking shower while guys talking outside. the location of the hotel is good its in the heart of shantinagar dhaka. ita about 1 1/2hr from the airport by taxi if you stuck on traffic. if no traffic, it will take you 30 minutes. the price is good for the hotel and staff were friendly. i wouldn't mind staying there again, as its right in front of my family home.

Room Tip: try to rent a room on the top floors instead of the lobby floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoeb_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I had problems finding a good mid-range hotel in Dhaka, but for my last night there I settled on the White House.

It's very nice. The staff were nice, and the small room I got was great. Good AC, fantastic shower and wi-fi in the hall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EinarOrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed here for three nights this January. Overall very happy with the hotel. We had just switched from Hotel Ornate (due to them being fully booked) and found the White House Hotel to be much more comfortable. We paid $35/night for a deluxe double w/ bathroom, breakfast and internet (through cable) included. Everything in the room worked great – tv, AC and internet gave us no problem. We also felt that the bathroom was quite good considering the level of hotel – with it's own shower stall and really hot water at any time of day. The room itself was quite large, carpet was a little stained, but otherwise was very comfortable. Our room had a corner view with two very large windows overlooking a busy street below so there were definite noise issues, but we enjoyed the view from above. Breakfast was fine, a buffet of Bangladeshi curries and naan plus toast. Staff were a little abrupt however we didn't feel it impacted our stay very much. A fresh bottle of water and English-language newspaper was delivered to us every morning. We found the location quite convenient for exploring into Old Dhaka however this area doesn't have the same restaurant facilities as Gulshan/Banini districts. That said, we very much enjoyed the food at the hotel's restaurant, as well as being reasonable and having an extensive menu. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to Dhaka.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
Thank yucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ニャンダム
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#13 of 83 in Dhaka City
204 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Center Point
Hotel Center Point
#55 of 83 in Dhaka City
11 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Daisy
Tropical Daisy
#2 of 82 in Dhaka City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Westin Dhaka
The Westin Dhaka
#2 of 83 in Dhaka City
1,317 reviews
0 mi away
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka
#17 of 83 in Dhaka City
59 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel

Address: 155 Shanti Nager, Dhaka City 1217, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dhaka City
Price Range: $43 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Hotel Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing