We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Baku!!!!”
Review of Azcot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azcot Hotel
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with a family of 4, on 28th of Jan. It was so pleasent stay, clean and nicely decorated rooms, great breakfast and plus in business center you have free internet access. We received very good customer service from all hotel staff. The locationg of the hotel is great, so central!!!! I would and my family definitely advice this hotel and we will be camming back. Best Wishes Leyla.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel-eyes888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed couple of times in this hotel after trying various places in Baku. Location is excellent, rooms are big and clean, never had any problems with electricty or internet and it's at approx 100usd a night one of the cheaper places in Baku. Don't expect much in terms of service although the staff is friendly and is helpful, but basically it's a B&B. Just one note, the credit card terminal never seems to work so cash is only method of payment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepela24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The location of Azcot is the biggest plus of it. Very central next to Fountain Square, close to the seashore promenade and the old city. The rooms are ok and clean, service is also alright. A little bit too British in style for being in the Caucasus, but that is also something to cope with. The internet was quite slow and not very reliable. The greatest minus was the payment procedure: they wanted to add 18% extra on the bill for paying with credit card.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiemgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

this is a gem, a real gem. a decent hotel in a run down building in the center of bustling baku. the rooms are basic at best, but clean, and functional. the furnishings are cheap, but they work.

the hotel is on fountain square, which allows you to discover the downtown of baku.

some advice:
1. stay there if you have business in the downtown area. you do not have to deal with the traffic and the hyatt get boring.

2. the outlets are UK - so for all the europeans and yanks ... bring your plug converters.

3. the hotel is safe. there is no safe in the hotel, but 24 hour security. and we are talking about classic post soviet security of four guys sitting by the entrance making sure that guests get in and out, and anyone else stays outside. inadvertently , i left my passports and some cash on the desk for one of the days while i was working and they were there in the evening as well.....

4. the rooms are cleaned daily and the laundry is daily .... including the weekends. so, it beats the hyatt.

5. the breakfast is odd - the best english breakfast i ever had outside of london. after a few days, they started offering the local breakfast alternative, which i liked more than the azeri interpretation of the english breakfast.

6. it is only a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. do it daily.

when i go back to baku in a couple of months, that;s where i will stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o73o2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel was fine and the breakfast was quite good, however, be very careful of your bill when checking out. The receptionist charged my dollar amount as Manets, thus tacking on an additional 20%. I noticed the "AZN" instead of 'USD" after she ran the card. She issued a credit, but four weeks later it hasn't appeared on my account. I'm taking it up with my credit card company. It may have been an honest mistake, but who knows.
In addition, the hotel automatically tacks on an additional 18% for using a credit card. What robbery! This was not made clear to me when booking (through Expedia) and was only raised when I was checking out and told them I wasn't paying in cash. What a disappointing experience for what was otherwise a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

An odd hotel indeed. The first striking thing is the typical British oddball individuality; in this case, it would seem someone decided to have a hotel cater to British oil workers, with British 3-pin square electrical sockets everywhere. So the first thing you do upon arrival is poke around in the sockets with a pencil to plug in your laptop, because who would expect UK plugs in an ex Soviet republic? Internet is OK for email but don't expect to entertain yourself with YouTube....

The next surprise is breakfast - no russian kasha or blinis here folks, no, you get a photocopy perfect English fry up, with diagonally sliced toast, eggs, tomatos, mushrooms, and pork sausage mysteriously sourced from Kenya, all carefully organised on the plate, with a catsup bottle thoughtfully provided, just like in a down market British motorway café, designed to make itinerant British oil workers feel at home.

The hotel is up a flight of stairs, very convenient when dragging luggage. Furnishings are a combination of Ikea and cheap electronics.

Now that I have vented my unflattering venom, on to the positive. Hotel staff was friendly, hotel was clean and reasonably priced, centrally located near a plaza with easy access to restaurants, bazaars selling crystal Russian tea-glasses, souvenir shops selling Persian miniatures and fine carpets at attractive prices, and grocery shops selling 250 grams of beluga caviar for USD 30. So skip the McDonalds, and go local - load up on a half-bottle of Vodka, black bread, butter, fresh cream, and a jar of caviar, and have yourself a picnic in the room. When you get bored of caviar, the local kebabs are also tasty.

The hotel is near Baku's waterfront where you can take a boat ride on the Caspian and strike up conversations with Russian ladies on holiday, or go to the old town which is a UNESCO world heritage site, and get lost in the wandering streets and old architecture.

Azcot lets you do it all on foot, and escape from the hermetically sealed western cocoon of the Hyatt. It's an odd hotel but If I return to Baku, I'll be quite happy to stay at the Azcot again.

  • Stayed: October 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank planetaryconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

The Azcot Hotel located in the center of Baku the hotel is with in easy walking distance of shops, museums, restaurants, and the old city. It features 30 quite nice rooms with internet connectivity, a mini bar, TV if desired and an English breakfast.



This hotel is a favorite with travelers from all over the world who are coming to conduct business or site see in Azerbaijan. So you need to book early as it can fill up fast. For lunch an dinner there are a variety of near by choices of restaurants and Kebab (doner) shops or you can go to one of the local mini-marts and buy what ever you want.

One quick if you rely on internet for day to day business and or skype you maybe a little frustrated as the line speeds can be slow. But for checking e-mail it is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GeorgeDeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.3 mi away
Austin Hotel Baku
Austin Hotel Baku
#28 of 116 in Baku
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Du Port Hotel
Du Port Hotel
#74 of 116 in Baku
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Icheri Sheher Hotel
Icheri Sheher Hotel
#27 of 116 in Baku
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hale Kai
Hotel Hale Kai
#32 of 116 in Baku
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#15 of 116 in Baku
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azcot Hotel

Address: Husi Hajiyev St., 7/1, Baku AZE1001, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azcot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing