We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Azcot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azcot Hotel
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Baku
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

In last few years I stayed several times at this hotel. The biggest advantage is its central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
2
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its location, just off Fountain Square. The hotel has 4 stars, but it is clearly overrated and not at all according to the hotel services although just for over 100 € a night is probably as good as it gets in Baku.

Reception staff was friendly and spoke some English to get by. Internet connection was relatively cheap, although through a 10 m cable lying across the room. Breakfast was not what I expected, since there were 5 other people sitting at the same table as I and everyone shares milk, juices, cereals, hot water (no self-service or fresh brewed coffee available).

Overall, one of the less expensive hotels in Baku in a very good location, not up to European 4-star hotel standards but still reasonably comfortable to stay in and lacking some basic services like room service or restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
334 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its location just off Fountain Square from where one can easily walk to all points of interest in the city. It is also half the price of many other similar hotels in this oil boom city. The room was a good size and pleasantly furnished; the bathroom was somewhat less modern. Yes, oddly the plug sockets were of the British variety! The breakfast was also 'British' - just the smell of the grease coming from the kitchen was enough to put me off so I never actually tried it.

I had a similar experience to other reviewers regarding payment. The price quoted by the internet site (Expedia) turned out not to include the 18% VAT. Staff offered to waive this 'extra' for cash payment. The wi-fi was 2 manats a day and worked fine. Airport pick-up worked well and was very friendly.

The walls between rooms seem to be of plasterboard and so one can hear the TV in the adjoining room as if it were on one's own - not much fun at 04h00! Hence, the low mark for sleep quality, even though the bed was itself big and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

You couldn't ask for a better base from whch to explore downtown Baku. The advice about payment is accurate - the price quoted is the "cash" price - I assume so they can keep it off the books and out of sight of the tax man. Its no problem to pay in cash - loads of ATMs about.

The plugs seem to have confused some peple - in fact it is a very considerate service, whereby there are 3 pin (British) adaptors in some sockets. If you don't need a 3 pin - just take out the adaptor and a 2 pin plug is there.

The internet cable connection in the room works OK and is cheap at a one off 7 Manat charge. I didn't try the wireless.

Breakfast is at communal tables and a bit basic, as is the rest of the place - no bar, no communal area.. There is a slightly post Soviet feel overall but it is pretty good value - for cash. My main gripe was an incredibly noisy bed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with a family of 4, on 28th of Jan. It was so pleasent stay, clean and nicely decorated rooms, great breakfast and plus in business center you have free internet access. We received very good customer service from all hotel staff. The locationg of the hotel is great, so central!!!! I would and my family definitely advice this hotel and we will be camming back. Best Wishes Leyla.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel-eyes888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed couple of times in this hotel after trying various places in Baku. Location is excellent, rooms are big and clean, never had any problems with electricty or internet and it's at approx 100usd a night one of the cheaper places in Baku. Don't expect much in terms of service although the staff is friendly and is helpful, but basically it's a B&B. Just one note, the credit card terminal never seems to work so cash is only method of payment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepela24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

The location of Azcot is the biggest plus of it. Very central next to Fountain Square, close to the seashore promenade and the old city. The rooms are ok and clean, service is also alright. A little bit too British in style for being in the Caucasus, but that is also something to cope with. The internet was quite slow and not very reliable. The greatest minus was the payment procedure: they wanted to add 18% extra on the bill for paying with credit card.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiemgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Du Port Hotel
Du Port Hotel
#62 of 113 in Baku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Austin Hotel Baku
Austin Hotel Baku
#29 of 113 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hale Kai
Hotel Hale Kai
#26 of 113 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sapphire Hotel Baku
Sapphire Hotel Baku
#41 of 113 in Baku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#15 of 113 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atropat Hotel
Atropat Hotel
#82 of 113 in Baku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azcot Hotel

Property: Azcot Hotel
Address: Husi Hajiyev St., 7/1, Baku AZE1001, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azcot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing