We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel Baku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel Baku
Ranked #94 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My first time to Baku and I stayed here, very fast WiFi and a nice room. Although I stayed here a few years ago now, I can remember each detail.

Decent breakfast spread and there was a lovely restaurant 30m down the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh_frater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    7
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carpi, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

the Hotel is quite nice for business travel, not so far from the city center. Rooms are spacious and the furniture is old fashioned but in mint conditions. At the Reception i have found really helpfull personnel who helped me with taxi drivers negotiating lower fares. Breakfast is well serviced and with wide choice. The restaurant/ bar in the lobby is really big and the food is good. Reasonable prices for the restaurant with local/international cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumpy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have been coming to Baku over the past six years, staying over long period of times, living in hotels and rented apartments. Was invited to an event recently that included accommodation at the Ambassador hotel. My hotel rating is summed up to: It's OK even if not as high class as it tries to look.

Baku is quite an expensive city with steadily widening gap between those who have money and those who don't. An average Azeri would never be able to afford to stay in any of the better hotels in Baku and because those are for foreigners and/or Azerbaijan oil elite, the prices for decent-standard hotel accommodation in central Baku are absolutely crazy. Completely out of proportion. Ambassador with its ca. 150-200 AZN (ca. the same in EUR) per night is on the lower range. And that's the only comparative advantage it has to other accommodation available in town. Otherwise certainly not a 5-star, with decent rooms and an ok restaurant, ca. 15 min driving distance from the city centre. If the traffic is light, which it is in fact very rarely. I myself prefer smaller, more centrally located hotels - check out the Old City Inn, for exampe - and will not return to Ambassador, unless I have to. Still, nothing to fear there. It's just mediocre, is all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapsopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I come Baku every month with my collegues, it was first time that I stayed in Ambassador, very good location, comfortable bed, very delicious meals and smart staff.. New welness center is entered just 50 meters away from hotel, I surely recommend to everybody,!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konstantinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

There are plenty of good hotels in Baku. This hotel claims to be a 5 stars hotel and the room pricing is in relation with the number of stars. We get 3 rooms without windows, unbelievable for a 5 stars hotel!
At checkout time we had been asked 18% on top of the official public price as we refused to pay in cash! It is definitively not a business hotel. The location is not convenient.
Conclusion: Stay away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baku hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2006

A 5 star hotel that has rooms with no windows - I don't think so!

It's not convenient for anything, being about 5kms out of town. No cafes, restaurants or decent shops anywhere nearby.

TV only worth watching in English as long as you like BBC World and CNN - not much else!

Breakfast is laughable and really expensive.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Inconvenient for just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in town
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Billy-Bollockchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.3 mi away
New Baku Hotel
New Baku Hotel
#31 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palace Hotel Baku
Palace Hotel Baku
#33 of 114 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Europe
Grand Hotel Europe
#25 of 114 in Baku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divan Express Baku
Divan Express Baku
#17 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.0 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Baku
Excelsior Hotel Baku
#11 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Baku

Property: Ambassador Hotel Baku
Address: 934, Samad Vurgun Str, Baku AZ 1078, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambassador Hotel Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 58

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing