We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great view, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost: If you like lamb chops... go. The owner would only say that he gets really good lamb chops, then just salt/pepper and manqal (grill). They were awesome. I also really liked the Azeri version of dolma (rice-stuffed grape leaves) that the Turks serve cold, but the Azeris serve warm and include ground beef... very nice. The restaurant sits atop the hotel, which is a stones throw (and a good photo op) from Maiden Tower. There is a small outdoor patio, but the whole dining area is wrapped with glass, so the views are spectacular. Very clean. Pretty good service. Any Azeri cafe puts out a plate of smoked string cheese that are the best replacement to beer nuts I've ever had. Great restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1k_by_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    36
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
45
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baku
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A couple of years ago we lived in Baku. I would always put my business visitors up in the Sultan Inn for the simple reason that it gave them a truly Azeri experience to stay in a boutique hotel in the middle of the old city. And the Sultan Inn never disappointed; even my VIPs, who normally would stay in the 5* chain hotels, raved about the Sultan Inn. So, on our first trip back to visit Baku for a week, we decided to forgo the pleasure of a newly built 5* chain hotel and stay at the Sultan Inn.

Our group had three rooms, and likewise we loved it, albeit with a few reservations.

The old city is beautiful, so the Inn’s location is as good as it gets in Baku. The staff was incredibly charming and friendly; the bed was extremely comfortable; and all our three rooms were huge (with sitting area), practically palatial, interestingly decorated in a neo-Russian gangster style (a style in vogue with the wealthy Azeri), very quiet (except for the atmospheric morning call to prayer), well air-conditioned, and ours had a beautiful view of Maiden Tower. Yes, as noted below, the windows had heavy curtains, but the curtains deftly kept out the blazing summer sun.

Downsides:

Breakfast: it was subpar. We expected a higher quality, but since it is free, I guess we can’t complain too much?

Feather pillows: they have to be ordered ahead of time, something we did not know, due to a limited supply. So, it was a week of rather uncomfortable foam pillows.

Would I keep on putting my visitors here? Absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stepstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed there three nights during my business trip. The hotel is definitely not a five star. At least how we are used to it in Europe. No swimming pool, no gym (they say it's a boutique hotel). The bed sheets were not changed during all my stay (three nights), and the quality of bedding is awful. My room was kinda won-out. Windows were partly covered by heavy curtains and i had to switch on the light during daytime. Breakfast was lower than ordinary (by the way - i had a lunch in their restaurant. the soup they brought seemed to be made from instant soup pack). As to location - it's great for those, who want to step out right to the old city street. But it is not comfortable for a business traveler as going out of old city by taxi can take time. Good to access city center by foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vytautas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Sultan Inn is an 11 room,top notch boutique hotel. It has one of the best restaurants in Baku with sn expansive view of the Caspian Sea. The rooms sre spacious and well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. One warning, the hotel is in a historic building with lots of stairs and no elevator. Don't worry though the staff help with everything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

As boutique hotels go, this place is fantastic. I cannot recommend it enough.

The décor is rich and opulent, yet extremely well thought out and tasteful. Chic is the best descriptor.

The rooms are great, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms modern and stylish. The complementary fruit bowl and welcome juices is a nice little touch.

The roof top restaurant is excellent, serving a wide range of high quality local and locally inspired dishes. The local pomegranate wine is interesting and worth a try.

There's also, a roof top terrace bar, which wasn't yet open for the summer season when we visited, but which is reputed to be great according to friends who live in Baku.

The location in the heart of the old city, next to the Maiden Tower is perfect.

Downsides - the breakfast was poor for a hotel of this standard and the excursions that the hotel offered were very over-priced.

In summary, very good, if the breakfasts were better I'd have given Sultan Inn 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms, so don't leave it until the last minute to book, especially if you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed there before. And their recommendation was right. Rooms are well designed, the hotel is ideally placed in the old town and the restaurant offers some quality dinning. Fully recommend it to anyone interested in visiting Baku.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWAdventurer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a weekend trip to Baku in November. The main reason I chose this hotel is because of the location - it's right in the middle of the Old city, next to the Maiden tower, within walking distance to most places of interest in Baku. However, it turned out that the location was not the only perfect thing about the Sultan Inn. In fact, everything about the hotel is perfect - rooms, staff, the view from the roof-top restaurant. We had a room on the ground floor, with no view, but the room was great - large and beautiful, with an extremely comfortable bed. Memebers of the staff were happy to answer any questions and to make great suggestions on where to eat, what to see, etc. All in all, a great hotel and I'll deffinetly stay there again on my next visit to Baku.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katri0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#14 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Azerbaijan Baku Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: Boyuk Gala St., 20 | Icheri Sheher, Baku AZ1095, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Baku
#14 Business Hotel in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of Baku's Old Town (Iceri Seher) right next to Baku's most popular and historic site, the Maiden Tower (Giz Galasi). We offer our guests eleven luxurious non-smoking guest rooms with individual air conditioning, fireplace, satellite TV, high speed wireless Internet access, Mini-bar, and in-room electronic safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing