We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed there before. And their recommendation was right. Rooms are well designed, the hotel is ideally placed in the old town and the restaurant offers some quality dinning. Fully recommend it to anyone interested in visiting Baku.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWAdventurer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
47
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a weekend trip to Baku in November. The main reason I chose this hotel is because of the location - it's right in the middle of the Old city, next to the Maiden tower, within walking distance to most places of interest in Baku. However, it turned out that the location was not the only perfect thing about the Sultan Inn. In fact, everything about the hotel is perfect - rooms, staff, the view from the roof-top restaurant. We had a room on the ground floor, with no view, but the room was great - large and beautiful, with an extremely comfortable bed. Memebers of the staff were happy to answer any questions and to make great suggestions on where to eat, what to see, etc. All in all, a great hotel and I'll deffinetly stay there again on my next visit to Baku.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katri0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is the only place in Baku out of a dozen hotels I’ve stayed in where you will ever hear the call to prayer from a nearby mosque. Slap in the old city, it manages to balance authenticity with all mod cons. Rooms are generous and immaculately orientalist in their fit out. Fabulous roof top restaurant and bar overlooking the old city and the sea, serving simple fresh tasty local food. Lots of steps though. No lift.

This and the other main boutique hotel Museum in the old city are the places you’d want to stay if you’re in Baku as a culturally inquisitive tourist.

But beware: with the best will in the world the entire old city of Baku is in the throes of a massive, overdue, but wildly overdone restoration programme which is in danger of leaving the whole place look like it’s been re-imagined by well meaning Soviet officialdom, or by, and I defy anyone to tell me the difference, Disney.

The curse of black gold.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 5marh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in Ocotber, 2012. Friendly, courteous staff and spacious rooms although the air-conditioning could have been a bit better. The roof-top restaurant was the ideal place for breakfast and also dinner with a view of the old city of Baku, many of the newer buildings and the Caspian Sea. It isn't possible to drive right to the hotel but parking was just 2 minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here on my impromptu short break and i was extremely happy with the hotel. It is a truly boutique hotel right in the middle of the city, located in the old city itself. The walk to the corniche boulevard was 5 minutes only, Karavansarai restaurant was just around the corner, breakfast terrace had excellent views and those who are interested in brands shopping would not be disappointed with location as well.
Service was very attentive but not annoying, I have received very good advise on where to go, what to see, where to eat, where to go for the drink, etc every time I've asked. Breakfast was nice, healthy, home-made and just enough without going overboard. My room was very spacious, had sea view, fire-place, TV, very comfortable bed and my towels were changed daily. I received a welcome drink and fruits platter at the time of my check-in which was extremely quick, as was my check-out. Very quiet hotel despite being fully booked and no problems with water/electricity.
Alas, for dinner one might find their prices a bit expensive, but hotel guests receive 10% discount on F&B. Once during the visit you can go for it especially with the views on the terrace.
Also, please be prepared that this is a historic building site so no elevators and one needs to climb stairs when going to the room or o have breakfast/lunch/dinner.
I've booked through booking.com and my rate was very good, especially considering that I was there during the Formula 1 races and all other chain hotels were overpriced. Will definitely recommend this place (actually, already had!) and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenKa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed three wonderful nights here at the Sultan Inn just recently. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Old Baku. The hotel design is a lovely mix of upscale classic & modern throughout. Our room (#10) was luxurious & spacious & received a wonderful welcome of fresh fruits & juices which were perfect after a long train journey from Georgia to Azerbaijan. Althay, the manager throughout our stay, was most helpful in suggesting activities for us, & helping us with our luggage no matter what time of day/night (we had an early flight leaving Baku so he gave us a 3am wake-up call & came up to get our bags when it was time for us to leave). His service standards were impeccable & should be commended. The gentleman who was working at the beautiful rooftop bar in the afternoon was also very proud to speak of his country & the great things it has to offer. You cannot beat the view of the 3rd floor Terrace Garden (where the daily breakfast is held - the cappuccino is a must have!) or the 2nd floor rooftop Q-Café-Bar (with exquisite views of the old city). Everything about this hotel made it very evident why it had a 5-star rating. I highly suggest it to anyone who wants a perfect location/upscale comfort/stellar service when visiting Baku!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anouska14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very expensive Hotel for Baku, with bed service and bed personnel, not advise

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 112 in Baku
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Azerbaijan Baku Hotel
2.6 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#15 of 112 in Baku
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: Boyuk Gala St., 20 | Icheri Sheher, Baku AZ1095, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Baku
#14 Business Hotel in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the heart of Baku's Old Town (Iceri Seher) right next to Baku's most popular and historic site, the Maiden Tower (Giz Galasi). We offer our guests eleven luxurious non-smoking guest rooms with individual air conditioning, fireplace, satellite TV, high speed wireless Internet access, Mini-bar, and in-room electronic safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing