We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Hotel Baku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Baku
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel offers hospitality at its best. Friendly and helpful staff, very well equipped and beautiful rooms and good beds in which you can really relax. The city is close and you got a Shuttle service if needed. Recommendable !

Room Tip: Every room is recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, General Manager at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Koray S,

May I say what an pleasure it was to have you with us. Many thanks for the kind words. We are truly happy to hear that you left happy.
Please know that we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

My sincere regards,

Turhan Poyraz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    73
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
34
14
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here in August.Good value for money.Nice beds and big rooms .we slept like a baby
The front desk and doormen are very helpfull.The gim is very modern with a nice big pool
The best is the shuttle that takes you every hour downtown about 5min away

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, General Manager at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear SmileyPretoria,

Thank you very much for having selected our Excelsior Hotel & Spa Baku for your stay and posted this review.

I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the hotel facilities were of your convenience.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel,

Kind Regards,
Turhan Poyraz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I do not have any worlds describe the service in this hotel. Nothing working. No doormen no concierge. Air conditioner not working rooms not clean hole & lobby never clean. Same food every day cold coffee for breakfast . No waitress .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odessa1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, General Manager at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Odessa1801,

My name is Turhan H. Poyraz and I am the General Manager of the hotel. I'd like to talk on record about what happened and would very much like to have your contact details so I can extend my apologies in person too.

That said, I take full responsibility for my team and thank you for hearing me out. There was multiple mistakes and carelessness by team members, who needless to say, have been taken necessary disciplinary actions for.

I only wish I was present during your departure myself. I know that my team extended their apologies and deleted your one day room charge and extended complementary airport transfer, but I truly understand that these did not make up for the rightful frustration.

I would like to personally apologize you if I can reach you via an email or a phone number and want to invite you again, complements of our management to have a complete different experience.

Looking forward to speaking to you soon.

Sincerely,

Turhan H. Poyraz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Spacious and very comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. I chose it mainly for the excellent sporting facilities : gym, squash, one of the biggest indoor swimming pools around (also an outside pool), tennis court. It is not as central as other hotels, but an hourly courtesy shuttle bus takes you to the promenade (5-10 minute drive) so it is no inconvenience at all. For those who know Baku, it is next to the "Heydar Aliyev Center", an architectural marvel. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I was there for a week on vacation and would definitely return when next in Baku.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verano_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, General Manager at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Verano_Barcelona,

Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving such a kind and wonderful comment. I am happy that you've enjoyed your stay,

We will be glad to welcome you again someday soon!

Best regards,

Turhan Poyraz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were travelling through Azerbaijan from Georgia on our way to Russia but had had enough of slumming it in hostels so treated ourselves to a one night stay at the excelsior. An excellent choice as despite our incredibly dishevelled appearance the staff were delightful, friendly & if they were perturbed by the look of us did not show it. Our room was upgraded to a deluxe free of charge giving us the bliss of a spa bath & a bigger room. Everything from the size & comfort of the bed to the facilities in the room were excellent. We made use of the pool & spa to get really relaxed, then used the free shuttle bus to the Bulvar, before climbing (& i do mean climbing!) into a massive & incredibly comfy bed, we left after a good breakfast the next morning ready to resume 'proper' travelling.
A great experience at a great hotel with staff to be incredibly proud of, thank you so much everyone at the Excelsior!

Room Tip: Not sure what side we were on but had a fab view of the unusual looking Heydar Aliyev Cultural Centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctkeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, Director of Sales at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear CtKeeley,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your memorable experience during your stay with us.

Nothing is more motivating to our staff than honest words of encouragement from wonderful guests such as you.

Hope to see you soon again at Excelsior!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fantastic staff, extremely comfortable beds, great food, gym has to be the best around, pool fantastic. The massage is a must try (they offer local and Thai).The hotel offers a courtesy bus into the City, it offers a great laundry service (washed, dried, pressed and returned within 3 hours if needed quickly). Breakfast very good (and to the room if required), restaurant / pool bar food also very good, albeit slightly pricey.
Reception staff speak fluent English, the other staff speak sufficient English.

Room Tip: Received a free upgrade to a Deluxe Heritage compliments of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S12101210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, Director of Sales at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and its facilities and for taking the time to share your memorable experience during your stay with us.

Nothing is more motivating to our staff than words of encouragement from wonderful guests such as you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

At times some hotel stays leave unforgettable memories. It was my first trip to Baku, and it literally blew me away. The quality of service, the breakfast menu, such a comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom - all in a standard room. Emil at the reception gave all details on tourist attractions, restaurants and the routes to them. I asked for an iron, but all were taken out by guests, and they said they would iron the shirt by the time I needed it for free. I went to spa, used the hair dryer available there and was shocked how quick it blow dried my hair. Given that it takes at least an hour for me to get ready for work each morning, I requested the staff to give me the details as to where I can get the same hair dryer (thinking of cutting my time by half each morning). I was unable to find it anywhere (most probably it is no more available in the market) and the manager was so kind to gift it to me!!!! The hotel management and staff are indeed proactive to ensure you have an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damla C, Director of Sales at Excelsior Hotel Baku, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your memorable experience during your stay with us.

Nothing is more motivating to our staff than honest words of encouragement from wonderful guests such as you.

Hope to see you again at our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Badamdar Baku
Hotel Badamdar Baku
#3 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Baku
Hilton Baku
#5 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Baku

Property: Excelsior Hotel Baku
Address: 2 Heydar Aliyev Avenue, Baku 1154, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Hotel Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Excelsior Hotel Baku” is a beautiful luxurious five-star landmark in Baku city which has been always preferred by world known Celebrities and Politicians. It combines tradition and innovation with modern luxury and a touch of antiquity. Only 5 minutes away from the downtown of Baku. Excelsior Hotel offers easy access to business, shopping and entertainment centers, while Heydar Aliyev International Airport and Baku Expo Center is only 20 minutes away. Excelsior Hotel accommodates; 61 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, decorated with a taste of luxury. All rooms ensure comfortable and relaxing stay for both business and leisure travelers during their visit to Baku. AURA which is Baku’s most luxurious and spacious wellness center features the latest high-tech gym with state of the art Technogym work out equipment’s, an in-door jogging track, tennis court, squash courts, Ping Pong/table tennis, Olympic size indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pools with a bar and restaurant, child pool and a family size Jacuzzi. Separate men and women changing rooms with electronic lockers that includes; a sauna, steam room, ordinary and shock showers and relaxation rooms. You may enjoy a variation of treatments and massages from our professional eastern and local masseuses in one of our 6 treatment rooms. Conveniently located near the heart of Baku, yet away from the bustling traffic noise, the Excelsior Hotel Baku is the ideal choice for private and social functions, conferences and business meetings. Excelsior’s four private meeting rooms provide a distinctively elegant setting for all types of events whether it’s for a high-level business meeting, a large conference, small seminar or a wedding reception. All rooms are fully equipped with the latest high-Tech audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Baku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing