We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Half-Day Baku City Sightseeing Tour
12

Book in advance
from
$79.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Maiden Tower
from $79.00
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
from $83.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
Reviews (1,829)
Filter reviews
1,829 results
Traveler rating
950
581
246
40
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
950
581
246
40
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city narrow stairs caspian sea history century monument building height walls architecture azerbaijan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,829 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019

I did not go inside, but I did listen to all of the information and theories listed on the Old City walking tour audio. There a good bit of history and stories about this place.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

During our Sunday in Baku, we took a Bolt from our hotel, JW Marriott Absheron to Martyr's Alley for 2 manats. We walked from this area to the Old City. Once you are in the Old City, you will find the Maiden Tower.

Around the tower, you will find a lot of souvenir shops. We enjoyed walking in the Old City. The entire area was very clean and walkable.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

The Maiden tower is a monument from the 12th century with a cylindrical structure that rises to a height of about 20 meters and with a diameter at the base of 16.5 meters (wall thickness between 3 - 5 meters). The tower is covered by a cloud of mysteries and legends that are part of the national culture. Today "Maiden Tower" hosts a museum that presents the historical evolution of Baku.
The main mystery is: the construction and purpose of the tower itself.
Probably the best known legends are that of the girl with curly hair, who rescued the people of Baku from slavery; or the story of the girl who was forced to marry someone who didn't want to and did one last dance on the roof and jumped from the tower.
Attention: climbing the tower is quite difficult.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank sricu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 18, 2019 via mobile

Maiden Tower is in the Old Town area. We didn’t go inside the tower but walked and shopped around in Old Town. Nice souvenir shops and some snack/coffee shops in old town. A must visit for all tourists visiting Baku.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank farahnazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

Well worth paying to go inside. Information is well presented and interactive. Great view of the city and Caspian sea from the top.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank JaneLD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews