We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before; still no service.”
Review of Golden Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Coast Hotel
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a return visit, not by choice. Company uses this hotel so I had to endure the endlessly poor service. The room was quite good and comfortable. The maid service was excellent, the rest of the staff was abysamal. I used the room service because there was no restaurant open, just the bar which was always empty and the food took an age to come.The room service was reasonable and the food was OK and better than I remembered having before, so something has improved. Breakfast buffet was also better.

It is just the total indifference of the staff (apart from the cleaning staff), which really grates. I dread the thought of returning there. As a hotel it is potentially good, with a good location. I am amazed they make money with their staff, perhaps thats all they expect in Azerbaijan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for an event in the same hotel. The rooms are ok but the staff does not provide any service. Doorman watched me getting my luggage in, when I asked the reception to get me a taxi the lady told me that their driver was away and she did not know where I could get a taxi except "in the street" (cold heavy wind outside), there was nobody in the icy breakfast room both mornings and the breakfast looked not fresh. The restaurant was closed in the evening, the gentlemen at the bar proposed to eat there but it was too cold there.
After the event the staff told us to leave the room as they considered the event to be finished and had dressed a table with food. I had the impression that they wanted to get us out from there to eat the remainders of the dinner that was paid by our partner organisation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The rooms were better than expected. I went to the restaurant at 10pm a they said that it wa closed but the kitchen was open. I ordered the Lila and they told me it would be 25 minutes. It took over an hour. I watched the cook laughing it up behind the bar ( no where near the kitchen) for 30 min. And I'm expected to pay 12 manat for this?!? This wouldn't fly in the US.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alajuans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel location is good, close to the main road, view from room is too good specially during night, good view of flame tower and the Caspian sea. Hotel Staff is friendly too. But very limited food choice in restaurant. Overall a decent place to stay in.

Room Tip: Chose room ending with 5 onwards to get good internet speed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivekMahich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

They will not turn the AC on until June 1st. Baku get's hot and sweaty way before this. The decision to turn it on should be based on the weather not the date. Of course you always have the option of opening the window and letting the noise of the traffic sooth you to sleep. Could be a nice hotel but they need to throw of the old attitudes and put the paying guests first

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Despite bad evaluation of this hotel, I had good experience during my stay last weekend !
It may really not be 5 star hotel, but it is a good choice for the money! It has very nice location,
it is clean and well maintained and the staff is friendly.
Can' t judge the food, since I was dinning out, except breakfast, which is average.
Anyway, my stay was OK and would go back!

Room Tip: Seaview has excellent view on Baku and Caspian Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I found myself in "The Golden Coast Hotel 5*" for 35 days on a recent business trip. No Air-Con for 17 days, breakfast - inedible, bar prices increased days after arrival, electricity failed daily, lack of urgency when problems flagged....Not worthy of any more time on my behalf

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Expo Hotel
Premier Expo Hotel
#50 of 116 in Baku
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baku
Staybridge Suites Baku
#20 of 116 in Baku
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Landmark Hotel Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Modern Hotel
Modern Hotel
#34 of 116 in Baku
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Europe
Grand Hotel Europe
#22 of 116 in Baku
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Hotel

Address: M Useynov Street 14, Baku AZ1003, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Price Range: $81 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Coast Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing