We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poorly-managed hotel”
Review of Boyuk Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boyuk Gala Hotel
Ranked #89 of 121 Hotels in Baku
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staff couldn't care less in this hotel and they completely stuffed up when we booked a car to go to Gobustan. They wanted to charge us X, then proceeded to double it (saying they didn't know any better) and then we negotiated and agreed on a price and an itinerary only they didn't inform the driver and the driver ended up not taking us to one of the places agreed upon (neither did he inform us). Then they made all sorts of excuses. It really spoilt our day and the driver had seriously bad attitude too. The bathroom smells and you can't turn off the air-con unless you unplugged it at the wall. They didn't even bother to clean or empty the rubbish until we asked them to. Location is good but it wasn't such a pleasant stay for us. Breakfast is very ordinary and was served late every single day we stayed there i.e. supposed to be from 8am but doesn't happen till around 8.30am sometimes. They consistently run out of things like fresh bread and coffee. This place is seriously badly-managed, rather, non-managed! Stay away is all I can say!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneysiderCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel is located in the old city but poorly maintained.

We got this hotel through our tour operator who presented it as a decent 3* property.
As not on a business trip, with not more than a couple of hours of wake time in the hotel, I didn’t scrutinize this option minutely. It turned out to be a mistake.

We three friends checked-in in room 101 but moved to a smaller room 102 because of stinking washroom in 101. Room 102 was not stinking but over there bath cabin lacked the door.

Staff is friendly but they cannot make up for the structural faults. The minimum one can demand of from a hotel, regardless of class and stars, is clean washrooms. And the one not taking care of even this basic most feature is not worth – to be straightforward.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanTourist201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was passing through Baku and had to spend a night somewhere and despite always opting for budget accommodations, I've decided that this would not be very practical for Baku (location & comfort) so I looked through aggregators and found this nice hotel.

The hotel is well-located in the old town, close to BP Training Center, the address on the map on booking.com and various others sites is off, so don't just print out the plan and go by it (it's not right next to Noah's Ark Hotel, it's about a five minute walk away from it. Even locals had trouble finding it, so make sure to call in advance and know where it is.

I visited in winter, which is not a tourist season, so I hardly saw any guests, but the place was well-maintained with friendly hotel manager. The breakfast was great, wifi signal strong all through the hotel and rooms are large with clean bathrooms. It's a great budget hotel, sure the reception could be a bit less gloomy and the carpets a bit newer, but overall this hotel is a great value in Baku and I would happily book again.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: тот номер у которого не будет течь вся сантехника в момент его заселения и проживания .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apalichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: manzara güzel,merkezi konum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gülay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: С верхних этажей открывается прекрасный вид на город.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Татьяна Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank Дмитрий Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.2 mi away
Icheri Sheher Hotel
Icheri Sheher Hotel
#27 of 121 in Baku
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shah Palace Hotel
Shah Palace Hotel
#14 of 121 in Baku
139 reviews
0 mi away
Alstadt Hotel
Alstadt Hotel
#33 of 129 in Baku
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Guest House Inn & Hostel
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Baku Flame Towers
0 mi away
Old Baku Hotel
Old Baku Hotel
#53 of 129 in Baku
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyuk Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyuk Gala Hotel

Address: Mirza Mansur Street 68 | Icherisheher, Baku 1000, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 121 Hotels in Baku
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyuk Gala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boyuk Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing