We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glistening new hotel in a burgeoning metropolis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Glistening new hotel in a burgeoning metropolis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in. It's a no-nonsense business hotel that just recently opened. It's in the center of downtown Baku, just right across from Government House and the boardwalk along the Caspian Sea. The lobby is impressive, with the staff having the right amount of unobtrusive hospitality, quickly checking me in to my room, which has all the bells and whistles of a top-notch business hotel. The room is fairly large, with high roofs, huge tub in a bathroom having a rainshower fixture, and rolling doors that open up to the bed. The best part is the huge glass windows that offer a lovely vista of the glistening downtown of Baku. Be sure to ask for a room facing south, so you can have a marvelous view of Government House and the amazing Flame Towers in the distance. The view is especially spectacular at night, when the whole place is lit up, and the Flame Towers provide an impressive light show.
The room has everything you'd want to have, like an iPod dock, office supplies, and an ironing board. They have a pod-type cappuccino machine, but the pods don't come free, as well as wi-fi connection, which is expensive at around 20 euros a day, but is lightning fast.

They have a good breakfast spread, but hopefully they should provide more variety for those who stay more than 3 days. But I loved that they provide freshly-squeezed orange juice and cappuccino. The waiters are friendly, and can speak passable English.

Yes, the place is indeed convenient for walking. Just go down to the restaurant area on the 2nd floor, exit from the south to the Government House. There's an escalator that brings you to a tunnel that crosses over to the waterfront. Just 5 minutes walk to the Park Bulvar shopping center and its basement supermarket. Few more minutes walking on the boardwalk brings you to several fountains, new buildings, and beyond the Hilton, the old walled city, which is especially picturesque at night. The shopping streets are also nearby.

Overall, a highly-recommended hotel, for it's location, facilities and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Government house, and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear TheShrike_inManila,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay. It gives us a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our room and its view as well as hotel facilities overall.

Thank you for pointing out the issue with coffee pods as in fact they are offered to our guests for free. Unfortunately confusion occured due to the reason that outdated minibar menu was placed in your room where coffee is still listed for fee. Please accept my sincere apology in this regard and I do hope that you will have a chance to enjoy your coffee on your next stay with us.

Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku
Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    76
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
50
18
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend in Baku. We stayed at the Absheron and were pleased that we did. We had a sea view room, and could see the entire city skyline as well as Baku's waterfront. The hotel is conveniently located for walking (and Baku is a walking city for sure!) The restaurants were good (we only tried the Italian). Room service was fairly reasonably priced (esp since Baku is a fairly expensive city to dine in). The beds were very comfortable! In all, a terrific trip. All this in spite of it being City Race weekend so the city was incredibly crowded and busy and the hotel was located right in the middle of the race track.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay.
Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again. There are a few areas where they could improve but no deal-breakers for me. The staff were all very friendly, and must mention by name Rashid, one of the door staff, who went out of his way to answer my questions about the area, restaurants, etc. I picked here to stay in over the Hilton because of recommendations from my in-country colleagues; one plus up is that Wi-Fi is included in the price.

When I checked in and was escorted to my room, I noticed immediately that the room was NOT non-smoking as had been reserved. The staff person (Rashid, actually) quickly made a call down to the front desk and remedied the issue; we went up one floor where I was provided a much fresher smelling abode. The view wasn't anything of note since I was at this point far enough to the side of the hotel that I couldn't even sneak a peak at the sea. I mostly looked out over construction.

The fitness room, on the other hand, comes with a fantastic view. The equipment is in good shape and there is plenty of it. Bring your own equipment, though - the equipment is designed for iPods (which I don't have, sadly, in this case) but otherwise there was no space for magazines, and the TV/radio on the machines was not working. It's a bit of a puzzle getting up there, though, as the elevator only goes to the floor below, unless there was a method I missed.

The breakfast buffet included many options but left something to be desired in terms of quality. The best, no question, was the made-to-order omelet. As another reviewer noted, the baked goods especially were covered with little flies. Thinking back, I was really, can't-leave-the-room sick one day - I'd blamed it on the pizza and salad I ordered in, but perhaps the culprit was really that donut I knew I shouldn't have eaten...

On that note, I was permitted to order in pizza ... though then again, I didn't ask. I just made the call myself, and the delivery person brought the pizza to the reception desk at the restaurant. Calls to local landlines are free, but I think calls to mobiles will be charged.

The room itself was very nice, very comfortable bedding. Tastefully appointed with a great layout. Enjoyed the overhead shower option. Occasionally got a whiff of sewage in the area where the toilet is but it generally subsided and didn't really bother me. Room service was prompt, and night service usually came with a little treat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tmichellea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest ,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay. It gives us a pleasure to learn that you throughly enjoyed our fitness facilities with breathtaking city & sea overview and your intend to come back.
Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku
Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a Hotel stay that I will not forget, and I hope that my company Aker Solutions can come to a agreement to use this Hotel in the future.
The stay is recommendebel and have epoken of this Hotel to all my collages. From first floor to the swimming pool at the top is just outstanding. The view of the Baku city from the balcony was fantastic from seeing the Crystal Hall to the Flame Towers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terjen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay.

Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A fantastic hotel, from the moment that we arrived until the moment we departed (well past official check-out time) the staff and management of this hotel were perfect!

We arrived, as i think most visitors to Baku will, at about 2am and found three staff ready willing to assist me & my colleagues to check-in. They had our info, made copies of our documents and credit cards and had us in our rooms in no time. Even better, we had been upgraded to complimentary access & use of the executive lounge, which is great when you're traveling with a group for work, just to have a place to meet and chat, okay and share a drink, too!

Since we were here for work, we only had 3 hours one day to make use of all the facilities: I elected to hit the gym, pool and spa! The gym has a view that's not to be missed (REALLY even if you don't work-out - stroll through, grab a bottle of water & a piece of fruit and go out to see the 360 degree view of the Caspian sea & city of Baku), with a wonderful outdoor area to enjoy it from. The equipment and staff were excellent, providing everything you could imagine. The pool wasn't available as they had just added some chemicals so I was cautioned to wait, but fortunately the spa was able to accommodate me for a last minute 1 hour massage that was strong and relaxing - just what the Doctor ordered!

Ohh, and I almost forgot to mention breakfast - wow! It doesn't get any better than this... everything you could imagine and great coffee too!

This hotel was just perfect! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: executive level with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay highlighting your breakfast and executive lounge experience. It also gives us a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our fitness facilities with fantastic city and sea view which it offers as well as spa treatment you had at the Absheron Spa.

Please note that your ratings and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is very new and has some of the greatest urban views and accommodating staff I have ever encountered. Having replaced the old Absheron Hotel across from the Boulevard on Baku's billion dollar mile, this hotel is quite lovely in a breathtaking location. Get the view towards Government House. With newness comes kinks. My lights blew and the sink did not work, but repairs were made immediately. The staff was very nice. I was part of a conference and my reservation was misplaced but I am not sure where the blame lies. In any event all was straightened out. The health club and pool are on top and really worth a visit. Stunning! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael10301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron BakuHotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for some inconveniences you faced during your stay.
It gives us a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our rooftop fitness & pool facilities.
We are also glad to know that quality of our services met your expectations and you have an intent to return to our property.
Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Abshern Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

What an amazing hotel. Excellent desighn! The staff is friendly, welcoming that you do not want to leave this hotel. We did stay on the 13 floor and had a super view of the city. Exelent terraces with beautiful view! This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the view from our rooms and terraces.

Please note that your ratings and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Baku
Hilton Baku
#5 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Badamdar Baku
Hotel Badamdar Baku
#3 of 114 in Baku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Azerbaijan Baku Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Absheron Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Property: JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Address: Azadliq Square 674, Baku AZ-1010, Azerbaijan (Formerly JW Marriott Hotel Absheron Baku)
Phone Number:
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Absheron Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Absheron Baku is ideally located among the city centre's futuristic skyline and historic buildings. This stylish, modern hotel offers exceptional comfort and amenities to business and leisure travelers alike with lavishly appointed rooms featuring views of the Caspian Sea, luxury bedding and the latest technology including flat screen TVs and WiFi. The hotel is set in the heart of the business, shopping and entertainment district with Azadliq Square, Baku Boulevard and high-end retailers, from Dior to Bentley, just steps away. You are invited to make a culinary journey in five dining venues. The spa and 24-hour fitness centre feature the hotel's crowning glory - a rooftop indoor pool overlooking the sea. Our 1208 square meter, pillarless ballroom, perfect for weddings, is graced by high ceilings and panoramic views, while all 13 of our meeting rooms are flooded with natural light. We invite you to discover Baku and experience our quiet luxury, personalized service and distinctive decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Absheron Baku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing