We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New Property in Beautiful Baku”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is very new and has some of the greatest urban views and accommodating staff I have ever encountered. Having replaced the old Absheron Hotel across from the Boulevard on Baku's billion dollar mile, this hotel is quite lovely in a breathtaking location. Get the view towards Government House. With newness comes kinks. My lights blew and the sink did not work, but repairs were made immediately. The staff was very nice. I was part of a conference and my reservation was misplaced but I am not sure where the blame lies. In any event all was straightened out. The health club and pool are on top and really worth a visit. Stunning! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael10301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron BakuHotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for some inconveniences you faced during your stay.
It gives us a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our rooftop fitness & pool facilities.
We are also glad to know that quality of our services met your expectations and you have an intent to return to our property.
Please note that your feedback and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Abshern Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

What an amazing hotel. Excellent desighn! The staff is friendly, welcoming that you do not want to leave this hotel. We did stay on the 13 floor and had a super view of the city. Exelent terraces with beautiful view! This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Baku Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the view from our rooms and terraces.

Please note that your ratings and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a night in September. We were due to meet associates nearby so it was a good option. In terms of overall stay quality it was good but definately room for improvement. The stay was good except for the check-in/check-out experience. I wasn't happy with the original room, and asked to change which they obliged after a slight delay.

On check-in however I had prepaid so was suprised to be asked to pay a small extra charge in addition to local tax. I was told this was for internal accounting purposes, however the charge was on the bill at check-out. Although quickly resolved, it did delay me at 6am checking out as a result. No big deal though.


Good Points
+ Italian Restaurant - excellent service. Although not cheap and portions were not substantial, service was excellent. Waiter and waitress were very well trained and genuinely kind.

+ Swimming Pool - excellent pool area and there was a lovely man working at the pool area who was exceptionally kind and attentive.

+Bar - Nice bar and good service.

Bad Points
- Check in (see above). It may have been my imagination but the agent was very aloof/rude in terms of service. I felt as if I was bothering her with my request/questions.

- Lack of tea/coffee at 5am in the morning. My wife had an early morning meeting and they hoped to be able to at least get a coffee or tea - but nothing was available.

Overall Opinion
A better option than the Hilton - I would definately stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamrock104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_Godet, General Manager at JW Marriott Absheron Baku, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your stay at the JW Marriott Absheron Hotel in September, 2012.

We are very pleased to learn that you and your spouse were generally satisfied with your stay.
We are sorry for some misunderstanding and lack of service quality you faced during check in. We are constantly working on training of our associates and hopefully you will have a chance to experience a professional and careful attitude of hotel associates on your next stay with us,
It gives us a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed service and food at OroNero Bar Ristorante as well as at Razzmatazz Bar.
Please note that your ratings and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the JW Marriott Absheron Baku and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Baku.

Yours sincerely,

Guy Godet
General Manager
JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is quite lovely but as other reviewers have said, still has some room for improvement. We had a few problems including a problem with noise. Both problems were corrected but I didnt have the same feeling of superior service I had at the Marriott properties in Georgia and Armenia overall. There were some pockets of excellent service - a couple of front desk staff members (I dont remember their names unfortunately but one was from Nakhchievan), the concierge lounge staff, and the car service driver, all of whom were locals.

We took the arranged car service from the airport. It's nice but overpriced. On the return, the hotel arranged for a taxi and there was a miscommunication on the pricing. So make sure you confirm with driver and the hotel and both know this to save any kind of discussion later.

The sheki paklava in the lounge is amazing! They also made omelets for us daily. The lounge staff was awesome!

Unrelated to the hotel but if you codeshare on Azal with Air France, make sure you confirm your flight. We were not in their system. It worked out in the end but was kind of a pain for the staff at the airport.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SJ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is a beautiful building, from the stunning decor in the lobby to the modern Euro designed rooms. Sometimes the emphasis on design outweighed practicality, though: signage was discrete enough to be almost invisible, which made finding things a bit tougher than it has to be. And do you really need separate programmable lighting systems for the bath and the sleeping area? But those are minor things, and it was indeed one of the most physically attractive - and comfortable - hotels I have ever stayed in.

But physical attraction isn't everything. Where the Absheron falls short is service. Yes, the staff all very much want to be helpful, are all extremely polite and will no doubt be very good some day in the future. But now, they seem a bit . . . uncertain. Lots of smiles and somewhat panicked looks when asked a question -- example from my efforts to find dinner in the hotel other than in the two restaurants:
Me: "Can I get food in the bar?"
Bartender: "No" (smile, awkward pause) "But you can get a snack." (awkward pause)
Me: "Errm, OK, what kind of snacks do you have?"
Bartender: (producing menu) "Oh, just little pieces of meat. Not food."

Okay, then . . .!

The restaurants in particular need some work. I ended up in the pan-asian restaurant, again beautiful, but service was very very (very) slow despite an approximately one-to-one wait staff-to-diner ration. My salad and "Lahori kebab" (which was suspiciously Azerbaijani rather than Punjabi) took more than an hour to reach me. It was OK, I was on the terrace and the evening was beautiful. It will all get better with time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Three_0f_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed in the JW for 4 nights on business. Rooms are excellent, good beds and well designed bathrooms.
The iPod doc and working station in the room were a real home from home. Gym and pool were first class and the staff very helpfully.

Well done Baku, another big step forward...

Stayed: July 2012
3  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

this hotel was opened at the beginning of May. just one week before our visit. Brand new and luxurious hotel. Staff from all over the world "pampers" you like a best guest ever. sometimes they try it too hard. It seems that they afraid to do any mistake.
Restaurants and food in the hotel in general are very good. It costs more than somewhere in the city, but not really much more. Sauna, swimming pool and SPA zone are perfect. they are situated on the top of the hotel and offer a great view over the city and harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilya_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Baku
Hilton Baku
#6 of 116 in Baku
863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#5 of 116 in Baku
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pullman Baku
Pullman Baku
#4 of 116 in Baku
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Azerbaijan Baku Hotel
1.5 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Absheron Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Absheron Baku

Address: 674 Azadliq Square, Baku AZ-1010, Azerbaijan (Formerly JW Marriott Hotel Absheron Baku)
Phone Number:
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Baku
Price Range: $172 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Absheron Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Absheron Baku is ideally located among the city centre's futuristic skyline and historic buildings. This stylish, modern hotel in Baku, Azerbaijan offers exceptional comfort and amenities to business and leisure travelers alike with lavishly appointed rooms featuring views of the Caspian Sea, luxury bedding and the latest technology including flat screen TVs and WiFi. The hotel is set in the heart of the business, shopping and entertainment district with Azadliq Square, Baku Boulevard and high-end retailers, from Dior to Bentley, just steps away. You are invited to make a culinary journey in five dining venues. The spa and 24-hour fitness centre feature the hotel's crowning glory - a rooftop indoor pool overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Absheron Baku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing