We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burn in fire”
Review of Yanar Dag

Yanar Dag
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.29*
and up
Mystic Ateshgah and Yanar Dag Tour
Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burn in fire”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visiting Yanar Dag one can understand why people were creating and beleiving in Zoroastriansm. It is amazing as the side of the hill burns (trough the natural feed of the gas). Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    89
    88
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hill on fire :)”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is one of the must-to-do's if you have spare time while visiting Baku. It takes about 20-30 mins to get there driving (much depends on traffic of course). On the way there you'll get to see some shabby looking homes and used up oil wells, which make an interesting scenery. Don't expect anything fancy once you make it to your destination. You'll be served tea with homemade jams and feel the heat coming from the flame tongues. It's a cool place for visiting in the evening so that the fire looks more appealing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tordera, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mountain in fire... burn the facility, please!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thought is not as impressive as I expected, this place is a must if you visit Azerbaijan.
It´s not far from Baku, and you can go either by taxi, bus, car...
My complaints should start about the facilities surrounding the place which doesn't let visitors to have a nice view/ experience of the place and look crappy, specially 'cos one of the places recommended in every turistic guide.
I missed a good interpretation center, parking lot (even thought i didn't went by car), bus stop, souvenir kiosk, places to sit and spend more than the 10 minuts there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank el_guirigay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must visit as Azerbaijan is land of the fire!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Yanar dag is a 45 minute taxi ride from Baku. The entry fee is 2 manat. It is a 25 feet long strip of land on fire. Natural gases burning continuously. Given Azerbaijan means "Guardians of the fire", one must visit the site. Looks spectacular! The

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aditya_Talwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good but too small”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I thought it would be a mountain covered with fire. Actually it is a small hill with tongues of flame coming up from the hill's bottom. A Soviet-style toilette, no on-site facilities. A small
kitchenette is there offering tea and home-made jams. Our trip to and from the hill was three times longer then our time spent at Yanar Dag.
I can recommend to visit it at night to catch the inspiring sight.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sertova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanar Dag also viewed

Baku, Absheron Region
Baku, Absheron Region
 

Been to Yanar Dag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing