We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Pullman Baku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Baku
Ranked #3 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Kempinski Badamdar in Baku is staffed with professional friendly people that are happy to help. I was greeted by smiles at all times. The rooms are elegant and comfortable and very clean. The fitness centre is top notch as are the spa facilities. I even enjoyed lounging by the pool. The breakfast is very good with nothing missing. The only drawback to the Kempinski is the location. It's in Badamdar and it's not walking distance to anything so you must take a cab at all times to and from your points of interests. Although I would gladly stay at the Kempinski again, I might look for a hotel located a bit closer to city centre because I do enjoy walking. If walking is not for you and taxis are you game, then by all means consider the Kempinski. One thing I do recommend seeing while in Baku is the Baku Museum of Modern Art. It's fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Baku M, General Manager at Pullman Baku, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Stefanonyc, Dear Guest,
thank you for your very complimentary comments about our team members and our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Of course the location can have some draw backs, depending on your business activities. On the other hand think of all that space and elbow room you have in this location! In any case I appreciate your frank comments and hope that you will find your way back eventually.
Cordial regards


Pierre U. Stacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    90
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
70
38
20
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Kempinski Hotel Badamdar in Baku, Azerbaijan, is an elegant hotel. Removed from the bustle of downtown, the Kempinski is situated on a hill and is an upscale resort by any means. First, the room: we were is room 618, which was very large by any standard. The bed was comfortable and I wanted to take the pillows and comforters home in a suitcase! There were hardwood floors and an area rug underneath the bed. The architecture of the room was unique and featured mood lighting and sculpted walls. The bathroom had marble floors. The tub looks skinny but when I used it, I was enveloped in water and I am not a small woman. The room has a long desk, flat screen t.v. and a couch/coffee table as well. A small child could sleep on the couch but someone more than a few feet tall would be uncomfortable.
The spa was also quite elegant. You dress into your robe in a changing room next to the check in desk and then go into another area of the spa. If you have to wait, or you want to rest after your treatment, you are led to a gorgeous room with reclining chairs and double futon like chairs. These chairs all surround a large fish tank with exotic fish. It was a wonderful room in which to meditate.
The lobby is lovely as well. The ceiling and chandelier combine Azerbaijani new and old world elegance. The lobby bar has many drinks to offer. One thing you will need to know (and if you ever go to Azerbaijan you probably already know this) is that smoking is acceptable and in fact common in most locations, other than taxis and elevators. Our room, however, never smelled like smoke nor did the hallways. The rest of the hotel has so many things to offer, some of which are not yet open. There will be a 3 floor mall (perhaps 5 or 6 stores are open now). There is an open bowling alley and an ice skating rink is accessible as well. We didn’t bowl or skate, but it was very popular with a younger crowd.
My favorite part of the hotel, however, was the attentive staff. I can’t help to think that the reviewer who said there was problem with the maid staff was, in fact, insane as it might be the cleanest hotel in which I have ever stayed, with turn down service and frequent lobby tidying. I even checked places in the roof (such as the under the desk) and did not find dust. The maids and the bell service are friendly and obviously aim to please as do the front desk staff folks. I even had an interaction with Pierre, the general manager, and the interaction was friendly and accommodating. This is definitely a 5 star hotel/spa and I recommend it to anyone who wants a hotel in Baku that wants elegance first rate serviced at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallorynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Baku M, General Manager at Pullman Baku, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Dr Moss

the team and I appreciate the praise you had for our hotel and team members. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable visit and hope that you had an equally good time in experiencing Baku and our country.
We all look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Cordial regards

Pierre U. Stacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evanton
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went to work in Baku for a month so when we heard that we were staying in a 5 star hotel it made the whole thing sound a lot better.
Right first impressions - The hotel looks really good , some rooms are large and spacious with a balcony and are clean , then there are other ones that are small and near the kitchen and lifts so you can hear noise all night .There is a mini bar which i did use a couple of times then i didnt bother because of the high cost but when i checked my bill after a couple of weeks i found that they had added 75 manats onto it which i never used so be careful to check your hotel bill regularly . One of my collegues left money in his room which went missing and when he reported it they just smiled so we took it that they must have thought it was a tip !!!.
Another one of my collegues was getting room service a few times which came to just over 40 manats but instead of charging him for the extra over the 40 manats they were putting the full amount on his bill so when he checked it , it was well over 300 manats and when he questioned it , it was only 160 or there abouts so again be careful of your bill.
The restaurant was never 5 star , we had the choice of the buffet or order from the menu , the buffet was very poor having one main dish like leg of lamb or pork which was left in a big serving dish and was not replaced regularly so by the time we got back at nite there would be scraps left , not 5 star , so we started ordering from the menu this turned out to be a hit or a miss e.g ordering beef tenderloin medium to well done and getting something that resembled a piece of meat in a butchers window bleeding all over your plate same for the burgers , the only safe bet was the penne pasta (pretty hard to mess that up though eh ).
The bar prices were extorsionate , their excuse for that was well it is a 5 star hotel , yeh right .

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Watch yourself in this place, all the staff are on the pinch. Checked my room bill one night and it was 160 and the next night it was 340. The restaurant and bar hit you for extra charges on the sly and reception bill you for things you haven't taken or used. Money went missing from some of my colleagues rooms and watch out for refilled unsealed bottles of water charged at about 4minat (£3.00). Ridiculously overpriced, head to fountain square for nicer meals and drinks at quarter of the price.

Won't be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew85Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent here three days twice. Rooms are really very big and very nice, and bathroom is quite clean. Wifii is fast, breakfast is good, gym and spa are good ( a part from the terrible smell in the steam bath that would definitely need a deep clean up!). The staff is just ok. The smell of smoke especially in the lobby where people can even smoke cigar is very annoying. Generally speaking I can recommended it, also because rates are ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in a very spacious room for almost one week, the room was cleaned daily, service and peronnel polite and helpful, the stay was ok , a non smoking room with no cigarette smoke trace. but: balconies dirty, the television remote mainly not working, aitconditioning working as a fan only, no heat duting nights, except for one. The laundry service was not working. There was a towel drying rack in the toilet, not working either.
but mainly the stay was satisfying .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reissunainen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the time you walk into the foyer you become aware of the overpowering stench of cigarette smoke. This stench pervades the whole hotel on every floor. The managements idea of a smoke free room is one which has been recently been vacated by a heavy smoker & the windows left open whilst the maid (supposedly) cleans the room. Pillows, duvets, & all soft furnishings absolutly stink of tobbacco. The "smoke free" room I was in had the smoke detector taped over so smoking could take place. The laundry service is a joke, you have more chance of winning the lotto than getting anything back. Take your chance at breakfast, it will either be a bad or not so bad experience depending on your choice. Cereals are ok & consistantly boring, cooked breakfast will be available if you can get the cook (not chef) to stop picking her nose & take your order. Staff boredom really sets in at dinner, they make it very clear that they would rather be somewhere else. A feather duster tied to the tail of a rat would clean more efficiently than the lumps who stroll around the hotel pushing & pulling various types of mops. From experience I would like to reccomend the Crescent Beach Hotel or the Crown Hotel (both closer to the town centre) as the type of where you will get a real Azerbaijani welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms stink of cigarettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski Baku M, General Manager at Pullman Baku, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Steve C,
i was dismayed to read of your grievances during your stay with us. I will follow up diligently on the matters of laundry and of course your non-smoking room. This is obviously not acceptable. As to smoking in the lobby - it is true that in Azerbaijan smoking in public places is socially very much accepted and there are a lot of smokers in the country.We do our best to pump fresh air into the lobby of leave the doors to the terrace open to air the lobby if it is needed at times. I cannot say too much on your food comments; our guests, long-stayers and regulars as well as itinerant, give me lots of positive comments on the food and also compliment the service. Nevertheless the team and I will pass your comments on and incorporate them into our daily training on attitude and professionalism.
I don't want to comment on your rather unflattering description of cooks and housekeeping ladies except saying that they are all trying their best and insulting comments such as these I will of course not share with them.
Kind regards,

Pierre U. Stacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 114 in Baku
673 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Baku
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Baku
Hilton Baku
#5 of 114 in Baku
781 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bilgah Beach Hotel
Bilgah Beach Hotel
#10 of 114 in Baku
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Baku

Property: Pullman Baku
Address: Mikayil Mushfig St. 1C | Badamdar, Baku 1006, Azerbaijan (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Badamdar Baku)
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 114 Hotels in Baku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Baku 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Baku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing