We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No choice...”
Review of Giz Galasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Giz Galasi Hotel
Ranked #46 of 114 Baku B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was in Baku for business and was staying at the Radisson Blu but it was full the last two nights due to the Euro Vision competition so I had to try to find something else... The only hotel available that didn't seem like a dive was the Giz Galasi.

Several things to know about Baku - it is expensive and the traffic is HORRIBLE. So try to stay where you can walk to what you want to see. That being said. This hotel is in the middle of the old city and really close to many of the major attractions. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Caspian Sea. You can't swim there but there is a new pedestrian walk along the sea.

This hotel looks nice from the outside and the small lobby is nice. I had room 8 on the 4th floor. For the price I paid, I would have expected more but this is Baku and it is expensive for hotels! So here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

Large two room suite
Balcony with a fairly nice view
Renovated bathroom
Driver the hotel arranged took me to the airport, parked the car, carried my bags through the security all the way up to the counter and waited until I got my ticket. He wouldn't take a tip! I was persistent..
Location of hotel in old city and near Caspian sea.

Cons:

Dirty, old carpet
Old funiture in room
Room too light at night
Helicopters going over were extremely loud - noise is a problem
Small shower
No hairdryer in the room - get it at the front desk
Breakfast buffet is spartan - nothing really fresh. Processed meat and cheese..

If you want to try to save some money and don't mind the inconviences fine. If you are used to staying in Sheratons, Hiltons, Radissions, Marriotts, then you will be sorely dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the top floor and can be very noisy...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Giz Galasi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Baku offers a typical post-Soviet mix of expensive luxury hotel chains and no-name local B&Bs. Planning our trip we faced a very limited choice, due to high season of early May. Out of the options available and reasonably priced we picked Giz Galasi (means Maiden Tower, after one of the city’s top attractions) Hotel. An important caveat is that we had the only ‘suite’, consisting of two rooms. More importantly, the room had a huge balcony with a spectacular 180 degree panorama of the sea and the sea-side part of the city. No other room of the hotel had such a privilege.
We liked the hotel’s location. It is within Old City limits, but not very deep inside. So, you can enjoy wandering through the charming narrow streets, but also get to the seaside in minutes. Cars can not get to the hotel door, you need to walk maybe 20 meters and climb a few steps. Overall, I believe that staying close or inside the Old City is preferred for a first visit. All international hotels are farther away.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. I understand, that English is not an issue. Breakfast was simple, but hefty (including cereals, boiled eggs and sausages, some cheese and vegetables). There was only instant coffee, though.
Now, the sad part. Hotel room was extremely tasteless and quite tired. It clearly gives a Soviet-era impression. Very basic furniture, broken-barely-fixed shower cabin, crooked curtain tracks… It was not too bad, but definitely not up to the room price. No cleaning could compensate for that.
The trade-off between the ‘goods’ (particularly, the view and location) and overall discomfort leaves me really struggling with the overall grade for this hotel. Definitely, it is hardly worth the price.

Room Tip: If you stay there, go for the suite
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irakli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebahattin İ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Самый первый номер(1) с кухней и ванной. В остальных душевые кабины
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1,961,248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ни портить себе отдых и впечатления от прекрасного Баку!!!
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopatkinaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Geen advies. Het hotel moet eens goed op de schop genomen worden
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mieke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.1 mi away
Icheri Sheher Hotel
Icheri Sheher Hotel
#29 of 114 in Baku
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Inn Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Horizon Hotel
The Horizon Hotel
#55 of 114 in Baku
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Rooms Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Baku Old City Hostel
Baku Old City Hostel
#33 of 95 in Baku
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jireh Hotel
Jireh Hotel
#10 of 114 in Baku
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giz Galasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giz Galasi Hotel

Address: Mirza Mansur St. 34 | Old City, Baku 1000, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Baku
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giz Galasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Giz Galasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing