We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #12 of 117 Baku B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Istayed in this hotel from 27 may 2013 to 1 June 2013........ my sincere thanks to Gunel karimova who has arranged all the things which i required for a business mean..... A best hotel to stay for business class..... View from the restaurants are great, just on the shore of Caspian Sea. Food quality is good. And yes, this hotel have indian chef who can prepare indian food too............

Room Tip: ask for a sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nileshrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is situated right on the main street to the Airport, along the sea. It is a 10 minute walk from the seaside boulevard. The hotel is quite new, interesting architecture resembling some luxury villa. The room was not very spacious, but with new amenities. The breakfast is quite limited what is odd as the restaurant is very good, you can have your meal on outside terrace, just by street. The restaurant prices are ok having in mind this expensive city.
The only thing that I was not satisfied was service - at first very polite and nice, but when we were checking out everything looked different. First we were asked to pay cash in US dollars,but the change we got in local manats - that's not good. Then we asked if it will be possible to have coffee in the morning, as we were checking out at like 5 am - they siad "ok, no problem", but on the check out in the morning (another staff person at front desk) did not know anything about our request. Also, I was not using minibar, but was asked rudely few timesif I am sure I was not using it...
Generally hotel - ok, but staff is far far away from european standards.

Room Tip: Pay little more and get seaside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Nice little boutique hotel and good value for money. Stayed there in March with a colleague on a business trip to Baku. Clean and modern rooms, extremely helpful and polite staff.
Beautiful resturant area overlooking the promenade. Nice breakfast in a conservatory, again overlooking the water. 5 minute taxi ride to centre of Baku (which hotel staff are more than happy to arrange). Pay a little extra for the sea view rooms which are a bit quieter and obvioulsy have the view. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Coner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I think it’s absolutely adorable that they chose to call this hotel the “Riviera.” Yes, it is perched on the coast of the Caspian Sea. But when you look out the windows, the Riviera you are presented with is a wasteland of industrial debris and oil tankers. Yes, if you crane your neck to look left, there are a few fancy private yachts and the Baku Boulevard a bit further than that, but generally, this is NOT a pretty area. And not very central either, although taxis to the center are quick, and buses stop very near the hotel.

Nevertheless, I had a great stay at the Riviera. The hotel is very new, and feels new. Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful, although perhaps due to inexperience can be very slow about getting things done (when I paid my bill, there was some irritating confusion about how to use their computer system). My room (which cost $144 – expensive, but not bad in this absurdly overpriced city) was spotless and reasonably sized, with a comfortable king-sized bed, long desk, mini-bar, and flat screen TV (complete with BBC and CNN!). There were some massive gold curtains hanging over the windows – the one truly tacky element that helped me to remember what part of the world I was in. But since the rest of the room was fairly bland and understated, it didn’t look so bad. The bathroom was tiny but very nice. No tub, just a shower, but with the best shower head I’ve ever encountered in the former Soviet Union. The toiletries were a little odd – a mismatched display with scads of q-tips and cotton swabs, but no lotion or conditioner, and the soap wasn’t very nice. But these are tiny quibbles – the room overall was tremendously comfortable, quiet, and clean, a perfect place for me to work, rest, and rejuvenate before heading back out into the hot Azeri sun.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marywhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Excellent hotel. We were in Baku for leisure (which is rare there) and this hotel was great. It's a $4-6 taxi ride from the city centre, with excellent staff. Room was brand news, tiny, but the same size as other rooms in Baku. Restaurant has a great view over the bay and oil fields.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shinjielric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер классом повыше ,чем бизнес.На втором этаже можно выйти балкон,на третьем нет
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Елена Ж
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Aysel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baku hotels
0.0 mi away
QafqaZ Baku City Hotel & Residences
0.0 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Baku
Excelsior Hotel Baku
#12 of 116 in Baku
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Baku
Fairmont Baku
#4 of 116 in Baku
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boulevard Hotel Baku Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Azerbaijan Baku Hotel
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Absheron Baku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Qurban Abbasov Street No:1, Baku, Azerbaijan
Location: Azerbaijan > Absheron Region > Baku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Baku
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riviera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing