We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arthurs Aghveran Resort
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Have stayed at Athurs dozens of times in the last 5-6 years, and it is one of my favorite retreats in Armenia. It is getting quite some mixed reviews, so decided to contribute some perspective from someone with some travel and hotel experience, more than 30 countries, 4 continents.

Location: Arthurs is not in Yerevan but approx. 50 km away, in a foresty mountain area. Guess someone should get the geography straight so as not to confuse travelers who do not know. And it is a gorgeous location, an excellent base for hiking both for seasoned sportsmen and beginners, a very pleasant retreat for a long weekend. It is apparently not suitable for business travelers and may not be convenient as a base to explore the country and benefit from Yerevan nightlife.

Profile: Arthurs is a pretty resort in a pretty area, where you come to relax, enjoy delicious mountain air, do some hiking if you are up to it and have the right shoes and attire, catch up on reading or much wanted sleep. It offers fishing in a nearby pond, riding tours, and has a good playground for children. Beyond that, not much entertainment is advertised hence not to be expected.

Property and rooms: The area is well maintained and very clean. Chalet-type bungaloes, very spacious rooms, great balconies with pretty views. The bungaloes are located on a rather steep hill, with paved paths and stairs connecting them to each other and the main building where the restaurant, bar, reception and indoor pool are located. So be prepared to walk up and down a lot, which is great if you are up to it and may be a problem for people with mobility issues. The rooms are very clean, full of light and air, appointed up to a standard, the beds are comfy, and heating (much needed at an altitude of more than 2000 metres above sea level; it does get chilly, even in summer). Never used their aircon because it is never that hot there and what's the point of going to the mountains and not benefitting from the mountain air? The bathrooms are spacious and clean, reasonably well appointed with very pleasant sandstone tiling, walk-in shower, basic toiletries.

The outdoor pool is not too fancy but nice and clean. The indoor pool is big and very good and becomes a complete treat in winter, when it is nice and very warm inside and there are mountains of snow behind panoramic windows.

The restaurant could indeed benefit from some more character and service, but has never been a complete disappointment for food or service. The breakfast is always generous, with a good choice of dairy and delicious homemade jams, yummy pancakes and the rest, and is a perfect delight when served on the terrace.

The service has always been very accomodating, albeit somewhat slow at times, and always delivers when you ask with a smile.

To sum up, a very good place if you have chosen wisely, in terms of what exactly you want from your hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristineK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well.. We booked at this hotel 5 days, but we run out when still had one more day... Here is pluses- FRESH MOUNTAIN AIR, beautifull forest and green zone area, the place of the hotel, and that rooms are big.
Minuses: the first and big minus is a stuff... There were just 3 waiters for all ppl arround, it could take about 40 mins while they will come, give you a menu and then about an hour while food u choose will be ready, also they can forget something or just do not have... For me that ws opportunity to have sone fresh air coz im on 8th of pregnancy, but even this didnt make them move faster,,, tables weren't clean at a time, you should ask bout that few times,
We had guests one day and decide to have a dinner and while they bring all that we spent about 1.5 hour just by sitting near the table witing and talking.... Thats incredible and must be atended by manager for sure.
The activity at territory is poor.. I sow rewies about how intresting is there, its intresting for first 3 days may be, coz to much ppl and just 2 billiard tables and all wonna play, but some ppl forgetin about time, pools.. They are in a poor situation, and need some reconstruction for sure, fishing... Fishing is intresting but also need an attention for things that fisherman need, sure it is little bit expencive activity. U re catching fishes, they must pay for them by kg price, but its ok coz u having a satisfaction...
Very very poor wi-fi, its good only at the restourant area.. Other places is too poor to check ur e-mail.
Breakfast also poor: if u have some expirience to compare with so you will find breakfast terrible.. There is just a rice sometimes, edds boilled or like omletes with sosiges or tomatos. No whole fruiits just a slices of some... TERRIBLE COFFE... I dont know from where they are taking that nescafe but once u try u will never drink it anymore, good for those who want stop drink nescafe forever... And for sure high prices,,, for restourant food specially...
I really wish one day Armenia will have a touristic zone that will be simmillar with price and quality.. Even if that high prices so that OUGHT TO BE HIGH in everything... Quality clearness and so on...
Next time will never go to this place... Better try other... May be one day will find a good rest... If no.. So will continue traveling all over the world as did it before...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Last year I stayed at Arthurs hotel… I expected more , than it was… I was very disappointed…..
SPA room was closed…. There was a little lake, where should have been fish, but there was nothing like fish……
As for the breakfast, It consisted of eggs and sausages, and because I don’t eat sausages, I nearly didn’t eat anything there……
The pool wasn’t clean enough, and we had to pay additionally for slippers and bathrobes….
I won’t go there once more….. It was my worst holiday in Aghveran

Room Tip: my room was so dirty, that i couldn't walk without slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aghunik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The place itself is marvelous. We had great 5 days in Arthurs.
The rooms are specious and stylish; simple, wooden style, as it should be in a place located among forests. Outside pool was great. In fact, there's lots to do in a territory, you can never get bored. They have billiard, table tennis, closed and open pools, gym.

Do not miss to do some fishing. The fish-rod rent costs 500 AMD (abt. 1 EUR). You pay for the fish however. (7000 AMD/1 kg for the type of fish we caught). But the fun is, you can give it to the restaurant to prepare a great meal for you out of it.
The food in general was very tasty. Everything made of fresh, village greens. Nothing extraordinary, but the green place and the fresh food go very well together.
Room cost includes breakfast only. The rest of the day you can order in the restaurant, which has open terrace space. You eat and enjoy the nature. Prices are very much similar to the middle-class restaurant's in Yerevan. However, here, you pay for quality too.

Do not expect too much from the service, though. Term "customer service" is very relative in whole Armenia, so, be tolerant to the waiters or reseption desk staff, who might not serve you with the high-standard quality you are used to in your country. It's fair to mention, thought, that the hotel staff is very-very CARING to the customers, so you will feel yourself home for sure. People there are simple, but very positive.

We loved everything about this place. Nothing negative or bothering. Only positive and beautiful memories.

I am attaching photos for with pleasure!

P.S yes, almost forgot; if you get a room on 3,4,5 th level, be ready to overcome a big number of stairs up a hill:))

Room Tip: if you get a room on 3,4,5 th level, be ready to overcome a big number of stairs up a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiaH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very nice place... Nice architecture, chale style….. big and clean rooms… beautiful nature…Dining or drinking coffee in balconies will prolong you life))) such a nice view. I love rooms, swimming pool and the atmosphere… Hidden in Armenian mountains you are finding a peace of Eden. The reception and the whole staff (except restaurant) are very communicable and nice. The thing is not really good enough for this place is the restaurant. Terrible service, rude waiters, no service in the restaurant… Hopefully they will improve this year. Anyway, it is my favorite place in Armenia that worth to pay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

In overall I totally agree with all negative reviews and cannot understand the ones with "great" or "good" definitions. Stayed here several times for just a night as it is unique place in Armenia.
Unfortunately it is not a hotel as there is no service and attitude to the guest as we used to get in hotels.
It is just a place to stay.
Last time stayed in February 2012, was very snowy and cold but in rooms was very hot. Water in the pool was cold and not pleasant, and U have to pay additionally for slippers and bathrobe.
This guest house consists of several buildings and main building in which restaurant small bar, conference halls are situated. U have to walk a lot and go up and down for breakfast or lunch or a cup of coffee and can't use a car as it has to be parked in parking. Very bad room service with high prices.
Advantage of this property is it's locations, though it's situated far from main road and the narrow and braked road takes 30 minutes, so U can get there not earlier than 1 hour.
Another one is that there is no other place in Armenia like a Swiss village and so nice.
Never tried to speak English with stuff, but taking into consideration as they look , I do not think they speak:)
Avoid this property if U expect real hotel rest!
P.S. very noisy at nights, noise of conditioners and chillers, very small and thin blankets, thick pillows.

Room Tip: The biggest rooms and with the best view are in the 5th building, but the coldest as well. 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank armtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

It is really Sad to have a management that is not soo professional for this kind of of big hotel. The staff don't smile and they look miserable one of them is an old looking restaurant manager that I will never forget, he has a white short sleeve shirt we were afraid the way he looked at us from far the hall. Mr brother brought his torsh with him for the caves tripped and we used it in the room and could see all the cok webs in the heating system. We didn't not do much as we were afraid not have unfortunates. What do they need in a professional from averseas to train the manager and the team for 3 months so the hotel comes back to 60% good shape.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yerevan
23 mi away
Areve Residence Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Aghveran Ararat Resort Hotel
23.1 mi away
Hotel Regineh
Hotel Regineh
#41 of 70 in Yerevan
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aghveran Hotel
Aghveran Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arzakan
55 reviews
23.6 mi away
14th Floor Hotel
14th Floor Hotel
#26 of 70 in Yerevan
67 reviews
23.8 mi away
Messier 53 Hotel Yerevan
Messier 53 Hotel Yerevan
#21 of 70 in Yerevan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthurs Aghveran Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Aghveran Resort

Address: Aghveran Recreation Area, Yerevan 0001, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yerevan
#18 Luxury Hotel in Yerevan
Price Range: $48 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthurs Aghveran Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arthurs Aghveran Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthurs Aghveran Hotel Yerevan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing