We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Envoy Georgia & Armenia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Ranked #1 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We planned to base ourselves in Tblisi and make day trips. We found the Envoy Hostel by chance while wandering round the city. The hostel was full; however, they were able to book us on 3 trips including one to Yerevan, Armenia with the possibility of accommodation in their Armenian hostel.
This was confirmed later that evening as promised.
The hospitality and excellent customer service exceeded all our expectations: the Envoy team should be proud of themselves.
The trips, consisting of small groups, made interesting journeys into the Georgian and Armeniam regions. Excellent guides, knew their subject, had good interpersonal skills and the skills of our drivers were second to none (the military highway was especially challenging).

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeNeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came to Yerevan, for one day, from Tbilisi. After some complications with the storage baggae in Yerevan Train station, we decide to go to the hostel and ask them about the free walking tour and for a storage place. The reception was very friendly, and told us, that we have to pay 2000 AMD each one, for the 2 hour tour, but we also got a cup of coffee, use of the computer plus baggage storage.
The tour was very good, enough to see the most important things and learn several facts about Yerevan and Armenia.

The hostel was great, clean, big and everywhere was shiny and light. The prices are very good as a hostel (with breakfast) and for the tours. The reception always will be ready to help you, with any question you will have. :D

Room Tip: A small pearl in Yerevan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanasis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was in 2 minds about going to Armenia, especially at the end of March / start of April. I know no Armenian or Russian. I was drawn by a fascination with the history and culture of Armenia, especially Mount Ararat and the flood story, Armenian chess, and the band System of a Down.
I was certainly not disappointed! The people at the hostel in Yerevan, and the sister hostel in Tbilisi, are absolutely great, and made my trip very easy and enjoyable. The rooms were fine, and the positions of the hostels are great. People in general, to me, especially in Armenia, were great. I never experienced anything bad, and there was never a hard sell of any kind. The rivalry between Georgia and Armenia was very entertaining to me, and the people were very real and honest. Breakfast at both hostels will keep you going all morning (free and good).

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre. I stayed in single rooms, which cost more, and may not be possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed in quite a few hostels around the world but this one really was one of the best. From the minute I booked, the staff was kind and helpful. They quickly answered all of my email questions and arranged an easy airport pick up for me (no problem that I was delayed by lost luggage -- they waited patiently). Once at the hostel, they helped me to book tours and find music venues in the city and get directions. Hranoush is the 22-year-old tour guide -- she speaks in perfect English and knows absolutely everything about the history of culture of Armenia. During a tour she also tells jokes, folk lore, and read our fortunes from the bottom of our coffee cups. We loved her so much that we took her out to dinner one night. Arpine, Lina, and Daniel were also sweet and helpful at all times. You could eat off the bathroom floors they were so clean. Whenever we wanted to leave the city for a few days the staff helped us arrange transport and GREAT accommodations. So pleased with our experience here -- would do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick one with natural light if possible. Some don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had two day trips with Envoy: what a remarkable service. We have travelled in many countries, but I can honestly say that we have never experienced a better tour company.

Where to begin? The tour guide Arpine was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. She knew not only the details of the sights we visited, but had answers ready for any question we had about Armenia and had lots of interesting stories to tell.

The driver got us safely to our destinations- no small task given the challenging mountain roads. The initial email exchange was to the point. They turned up on time. They provided for highly fascinating lunches with local families- a unique experience. And the food was great too. In short, Arpine and Envoy Tours gave us a unique insight into Armenia and its people.

What a difference a great tour company can make! We definitely want to return to Armenia after this wonderful experience and needless to say, when we do, we will definitely contact Envoy tours and Arpine again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yes, UNFORGETTABLE like the Nat King Cole song.
ARMENIA !!!! I love love the country and its people..
The Envoy tours are more personal, catered to what you want, need or like to see ,they make you feel like a friend traveler rather than a foriegn tourist.
Our guide Arpine, she is extremely knowledgeable about Armenian History, sights,culture, society, cuisine and many more with a great sense of humour.
Each trip included a lunch in the home of Armenian family which was a special opportunity to interact with local people,, each experience and the food they prepared being different from the other. ...visiting and dining with local families-very interesting, i love that part..we were lucky and thankful that Arpine showed us how local Armenian families live. I even got the recipes for the delicious tastefull Armenian food, for example..Armenian green salad in lemon juice n olive oil - simple yet amazing taste, sauteed grilled eggplant with tomatoes, Armenian BBQ called Khoravat, and many more....
Good to note that we had a careful excellent driver. He is fantastico.
We even got an extra monastery visit which was not on the plan but since it's close by they decided to take us there eventhough that means they have to drive back to Yerevan later than scheduled ..
Thank you Arpine and our driver for everything.
I will not hesitate recommending Envoy Tours Yerevan..They also have Envoy tours Tbilisi btw ...
Hands down best tour i ever participated. Unquestionably the best ....
Our experience in Armenia is indeed unforgettable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived Yerevan on 26 Mar 2013, and have an enjoyable 3 days stay. Even though the staff gave us a wrong room without twin bed initially, he quickly salvage the situation but helping to store the luggages, and offering breakfast (which is not included since the breakfast should starts on 27 Mar). The wifi is available everywhere throughout the hostel, and there was not once I experience delay; I was even able to FaceTime with relatively good internet speed and clarity. The room on the top floor is clean and neat, and there were consistent flow of hot water from the shower. Unlike other places, we experienced occasional spurts of cold water from the shower. Overall, we have an enjoyable stay and the staffs were accommodating to our requests e.g. allowing our request to cancel our booking at last min, and try transferring one night stay to Envoy Tbilisi when we decide to travel to Tbilisi earlier than scheduled to our requests. They are always helpful and gave good recommendations on places to eat, and a good hostel to stay when they ran out of room.

On the tours, we signed up for 3 - Essential Armenia, Enlightened Armenia and Enlinking the Caucasus. On the 3 tours, we had an awesome time as the guide demonstrated good knowledge on the places we visited, and provide detailed background and history about each place. One thing that stood out relative to other hostels we stayed in is the excellent level of English spoken by these tour guides, and their good sense of humour, which makes the tour extra interesting and engaging.

I would recommend all first time visitors to Yerevan to stay in Envoy Hostel. You definitely wont regret it!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor rooms with private toilet and window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meg
Hotel Meg
#14 of 70 in Yerevan
162 reviews
0 mi away
SD Hotel
SD Hotel
#46 of 70 in Yerevan
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantar
Kantar
#2 of 185 in Yerevan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yerevan Hostel
Yerevan Hostel
#4 of 125 in Yerevan
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hostel Yerevan
Grand Hostel Yerevan
#13 of 185 in Yerevan
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Center Hostel
Center Hostel
#12 of 185 in Yerevan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envoy Hostel and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Hostel and Tours

Address: 54 Pushkin St. | Entrance Via Parpetsi St., Yerevan 0002, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range: $13 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, friendly, clean, value for money and fantastic atmosphere! Consistently rated as a top hostel by our guests. Located in the heart of Yerevan, Envoy Hostel is the only hostel within the City Circle. Walking distance to all major sights in Yerevan including: The Opera House, Cascade, Republic Square, many museums/ art galleries and endless cafes, bars and restaurants. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be able to help you with any of your travel needs making Envoy the perfect base to explore Armenia! If you don't want to do it on your own, you can join our unique tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Envoy Hostel and Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing