We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Envoy the Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
land of Oz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Envoy the Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Like its counterpart in Tbilisi, Envoy is everything a hostel should be. Stupendously clean, spacious and welcoming. We also did the essential Armenia tour which was fantastic and excellent value for money. Would recommend to anyone considering a visit to Yerevan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimchikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    47
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
49
141
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Judging by the other positive reviews, I fear most of my disappointment might stem from staying in their newer location in Tbilisi, first. But, value and location aside, I found the Yerevan location to be just average.

When I arrived in the morning, I expected a similar greeting to what I received in Tbilisi. I knew I wouldn't be able to check in, but I wished the staff checking me in would have been a little more welcoming. I was permitted to store my luggage, but aside from that, nobody really went out of their way to make me feel welcome. When I did check in, later in the afternoon, the bathrooms had not yet been cleaned. In addition to dirty toilets, I was pretty grossed out to see a used sanitary napkin in one of the showers.

Breakfast was very disappointing. Again, spoiled by Tbilisi, I expected similar. But instead, I had to wait for about a half hour after the advertised starting time one day, and the food was not fresh. Bread was stale and portions of cheese and butter were about 1/3 the size of Tbilisi hostel.

Ask to see the rooms first. The first night I was in 4-bed room, but it was awkward because you had to walk through an 8 person room and down a few steps to access it. It was damp and smelly, and the other guest sharing it was staying for several weeks (I think that might have been contributing to the smell) and therefore had huge amounts of luggage. He also liked to walk around naked. On top of that, there seemed to be an apartment above that room, and the TV/household noises at night were unbelievably loud.

The remaining nights I stayed in the 8-person room. Despite being a little cheaper it was infinitely cleaner and more comfortable.

Although I'd booked a tour several days in advance, it was cancelled, due to lack of interest, though I did talk to other guests who said they had inquired about it as well. Staff did refer me to Hyur tours, which was a pretty decent value, but definitely didn't have the personal touch that I would have received from Envoy. In addition, I had booked the Friday tour to go back to Tbilisi, also several weeks in advance, but this was also cancelled due to lack of interest. Staff didn't offer me any other alternatives. Though again, I did learn from other guests that they had also wanted to take that tour, and upon finding out it had been cancelled, staff assisted them with hiring a private taxi for the trip and tour. This service was not offered to me, even when I asked about it, and I ended up going by marshrutka and missing out on the sites in Northern Armenia I had hoped to see.

All in all, it's a good value for the location, and about half the staff are friendly and helpful. But, unlike the polished perfection of their Tbilisi location, Yerevan Tbilisi is solidly average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

As a first time visitor to Yerevan, I was very happy to receive a warm welcome when I arrived. The hostel is situated centrally and there are shops, supermarkets and bars all within easy walking distance. I was surprised how everything stays open very late or even 24 hours, so you can change money or go to a restaurant or shop whenever you like. I found the hostel to be extremely clean and well organised and the showers are great, with constant hot water. The breakfasts are good and are served downstairs in the large common room and sitting area. I stayed there in November and was pleased that there were others around out of season too. The Envoy staff will provide any information and advice about travelling around and are happy to arrange a taxi for you.
A real plus about the Envoy, is that it is smoke free. And this is not the case in restaurants and cafes around Yerevan. Unfortunately, I was unwell for some days, but all the Envoy staff went out of their way to look after me and went shopping, prepared me food, drinks, organised a visit by paramedics and cared for me as if I were at home. They even checked me during the night. I cannot thank them enough. They were all absolutely fantastic. If I ever return to Yerevan, I will definately stay at the Envoy and would thoroughly recommend it to other travellers. Also the Envoy in Tbilisi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

While staying in Yerevan we have taken two tours in August of 2012. The first one was Inspiring Armenia which was really nice experience but a bit tedious long drive, although the driver was something speeding like crazy. We have almost had an accident when a young Molokan boy suddenly ran in front of the van, but the driver had really good reflexes. In my opinion the half an hour Dilijan stop should have easily be skipped or they could have made a short pause somewhere else where we could have gotten the refreshment. The Essential Armenia tour was not tedious and really fun. Finally, the girl that took us around on the Enchanted Yerevan - by Night free walking tour was nice and knowledgable.

However, the highlight of the both one-day excursions were the lunches with the Armenian families at their own house or garden where you can taste really delicious home cooking you otherwise probably wouldn't. Also the guide which we had on the both trips was very knowledgable and fun to listen to, knew the answers to the all the questions we have asked and in general very nice. Also we've gotten pick-up and drop-off to our hostel we were staying in on both ocassions with no problem at all. All in all they were very efficient and I would certainly recommend their tours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezkomentara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in this hostel twice in October and would probably stay there again if I'm going back to Yerevan.

The hostel is well located, on a calm street in the center of Yerevan. The center is rather compact, so It's easy to walk everywhere from the hostel.

The first time I stayed there, it was in a nice private room. This room was upstairs and had a nice balcony. The balcony was nice, but it would be even nicer with a chair and a little table. I think all the private rooms are upstairs and i think there are four rooms on this floor. These rooms share one shower and one toilet. There facilies were always clean and I did never have to wait to take a shower or go to the toilet. The only problem with the shower was that the drain was partly blocked, so it became like a small swimming pool after some minutes of showering.

I had booked my room for single use, but it was actually a room with a bunk bed. The room was small and basic, but clean and bright. There's free wifi which was fast when it worked, but sometimes it broke down.

Breakfast is included when you stay in this hostel. The breakfast was nice and filling. You have the choice of coffee or tea, I did not try the tea, but the coffee was cheap instant coffee. It would be so much nicer to get a cup of real coffee.

The staff in the reception is very helpful and nice. Some of them also work on the tours that they organice. The tours are great value, it's probably the best way to see sights outside of the capital. The guides are very nice, they speak very good english (better than I do) and they know everything about their country.

When I came back to Yerevan for my second stay, I was a little bit upset when I found out that there wasn't a room for me even if I had a reservation. They offered me to stay for free in a dorm and they did even give me a discount for some of the nights during my first stay (which was already paid for, so I got some money back!). I think it's a big mistake for a hotel or a hostel to not honor reservations, but at least it was very good that they gave me a compensation.

To stay in the dorm was not as nice as staying in a private room (I think I'm too old for dorms now...). The dorm was downstairs and did only have a very small window. I also got the impression that the dorms, showers and toilets downstairs were not as clean as the private rooms upstairs. It was also much noisier to stay in the dorm. Not only because some of the guys in the dorm were snoring very loudly, but also because there were people talking outside the dorm and there was a lot of noise from the bathrooms.

Room Tip: If you book a private room, try to get the one with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydensvein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We used the Envoy Hostel for three great day trips!

The Communist tour was very fun and the monasteries around Yerevan were fantastic!

We also like the Factory Restaurant underneath the Envoy!

Armenia was interesting, cheap and very cool!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very helpful staff, good value for tours. The tour desk was very good. Unfortunately is the breakfast poor. Situaded in the very heart of Yerevan. The 4 beds rum har too small. Try to take a rum at the street level.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakemehomeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.4 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
1.4 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#5 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#4 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envoy Hostel and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Hostel and Tours

Property: Envoy Hostel and Tours
Address: Pushkin 54 - Entrance from Parpetsi Street, Yerevan 0002, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, friendly, clean, value for money and fantastic atmosphere! Consistently rated as a top hostel by our guests. Located in the heart of Yerevan, Envoy Hostel is the only hostel within the City Circle. Walking distance to all major sights in Yerevan including: The Opera House, Cascade, Republic Square, many museums/ art galleries and endless cafes, bars and restaurants. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be able to help you with any of your travel needs making Envoy the perfect base to explore Armenia! If you don't want to do it on your own, you can join our unique tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Envoy Hostel and Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing