We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Ranked #1 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spend two nights in Yerevan in the Envoy hostel. The first thing you will notice when entering the door are the big smiles of the super helpful staff. Lucine, Ranosh and all the other staff are super friendly and will make you feel right at home. The location of the hostel is great, everything is perfectly clean. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast simple but plenty. It does not getter much better than that. Try to avoid basement rooms without windows since the air gets a little bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Envoy Hostel and Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

first of all the positive>
the tours! i did the 3 E tours, all three of them. they were excellent, with fantastic lunch included at family homes, and both Maria, Marine, and Arpine the guides were EXCELLENT. this is one of the few times in my life i have had tours not including carpet factories, souvenire factories and hidden commission places. the hostel is centrally located, which is fantastic. BUT it definetly has room for improvement and after having stayed for a week at the wonderful envoy in tbilisi this was disappointing. i got a private room with bathroom out of the hostel and it was a bit dingy. i arrived at 12 30 and had to wait until 2 pm for the room to be ready. i really do not understand this. they knew i was coming for months, and the check out is at 11 and frankly, to place clean sheets takes a minute, especially cause they dont do the bed. in one week the room was never really cleaned. they only emptied the trash bins and i had a piece of paper in the bathroom shower and it was not removed for days. i had a bit of a problem with small roaches coming out of the drain. i adressed the problem to reception one morning, and expected it to be sprayed during the day. when i came back at 8 pm i asked if the problem was solved and i was told that the cleaning lady didnt see anything (she was probably there for 30 seconds) so i had to wait for the next day to get it sprayed! i got upset and then somebody actually fixed the problem. the WIFI does NOT work in the private room. breakfast time is supposted to be at 8 in the morning, but 3 days out of 7 it was not served until 8 30 cause the lady was late!. 3 days out of 7 the night receptionist was asleep downstairs in the common area until almost 8 in the morning! no, envoy hostel! pull yourself together! especially about the cleaning of the room, after all i payed a full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
envoyarmtraveler, Owner at Envoy Hostel and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Fabiofort

We thank you for your kind words regarding our Tours and Envoy Tbilisi. Our aim is to provide an authentic experience during our tours, so one can enjoy not only the sights but also gain insight to the culture and way of life. This approach stems from our own love and experiences from travel. The same applies for our hostels. Our desire is to delight and ensure each guest has a pleasant stay in a place they feel at home and take away wonderful memories. We are indeed deeply apologetic that you had an experience at Envoy Yerevan contrary to this. Every guest is important to us and we do strive to deliver the best in customer service. However it appears that in this occasion we have not been able to achieve the standard we always strive for. The feedback you have given us has been invaluable and constructive as we have immediately assessed each issue and have agreed with the team in addressing each to eliminate chances of recurrence. We are indeed blessed with a fantastic crew, who do genuinely care for the well being of our guests, but still sometimes, things just don't go the way we would like them to :(

We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in future and be able to deliver the standard of customer care we normally strive to achieve.

Sincerely

Envoy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Helpful and staff, clean dorms and comfortable common areas, this hostel is cheap, safe and perfectly located in the center of the city. You can feel at home and perfectly safe in its colorful areas. And also you can meet a lot of interesting people from all over the world, and explore Yerevan vibrant life easily. Tired? You have internet, sofas and a kitchen downstairs, so if you want to relax you don't even have to look further for it. I had three nights and it was really great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriano_noli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable beds, quiet rooms, clean showers - what's not to like? I stayed there on maybe 20 occasions in 2010-2012 and never had a bad experience. Well, once some guy snored really loudly.

Room Tip: Best room: upstairs behind the office. Fewer beds, daylight, quiet. But there's really not much...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I went to Yerevan by envoy hostel tours from Tbilisi at first. tour started on time at freedom square and an Armenian girl as tour guid that I cannot remember her name although I asked several time was very kind and visited some churches on the way to Yerevan and delicious Barbicue (Khorovats) for lunch, totally great! During my stay at Envoy hostel Yerevan there were friendly & kindly staff to help you. Those days was Lusine helped me a lot patiently. Rooms with air condition, services, breakfast & baths are very clean. Moreover You are very near to the heart of Yerevan and very close to the freedom square & republic square just by walking

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farshad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Envoy has really commited people who organise tours in a very professional, friendly and flexible way. We had two tours with them and one with another company in Armenia. Envoy's are more personal, they make you feel like a traveler rather than a sheep tourist.
Maneh is a great guide
David and Sergio (Madrid)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sergip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Not a bad hostel just not as great as other people have mentioned on here. We arrived around 11am and the common area downstairs was dirty and untidy from breakfast, there were flies and crap lying around. We couldn't checkin so left our baggage in the left baggage room. We booked a 4 bed dorm but tried to get a private double but they had none available. We wanted to buy all four beds in the room which we not booked at that time, but they wouldn't let us. The room was downstairs next to the kitchen, no windows and quite nosiy. You can hear everything from the hallway and kitchen. But room was clean, had big luggage lockers, bed and pillow were very comfortable. Bathroom on this level was very clean and the shower was hot with lots of pressure. The next night we moved to a twin private. This was on the top floor, facing the road with a window and balcony. Very clean and spacious enough. Beds and pillows were not as nice (very hard). But we got a towel. However the bathroom on this level was not so nice. The shower was not as clean and it didn't drain properly so you stood in water. The wifi was touch and go and only worked in some areas. Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Could not fault them. The tours were also great and enjoyable. The day tour was in a nice airconditioned van with plenty of leg room and the guide very knowledgeable.
Breakfast was just bread, butter, cheese, a peach and tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the bottom floor, noisy and no windows.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
envoyarmtraveler, Public Relations Manager at Envoy Hostel and Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi nicjames,

Thank you for your review.

We do try to be as flexible as possible to accommodate everyone's needs but this is not always possible, especially in peak season. Being booked out the night before and your early arrival meant that the cleaning process, although well underway had not been completed at 11am (check in is normally at 2pm). On your first night stay with us we were already almost booked out again reducing our ability to offer alternative options to your prior booking of 2 beds in a shared room - had we had more availiability we would have happily obliged.

We do appreciate you pointing out the issues with WiFi and the bathroom, both have now been logged and are currently being followed up.

We are also glad you enjoyed our tours and we trust that you take away pleasant memories from our region :)

Kind Regards' Envoy Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.4 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 70 in Yerevan
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 70 in Yerevan
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#3 of 70 in Yerevan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 70 in Yerevan
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#4 of 70 in Yerevan
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envoy Hostel and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Hostel and Tours

Address: 54 Pushkin St. | Entrance Via Parpetsi St., Yerevan 0002, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range: $14 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, friendly, clean, value for money and fantastic atmosphere! Consistently rated as a top hostel by our guests. Located in the heart of Yerevan, Envoy Hostel is the only hostel within the City Circle. Walking distance to all major sights in Yerevan including: The Opera House, Cascade, Republic Square, many museums/ art galleries and endless cafes, bars and restaurants. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be able to help you with any of your travel needs making Envoy the perfect base to explore Armenia! If you don't want to do it on your own, you can join our unique tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Envoy Hostel and Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing