We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to feel at home”
Review of JR's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JR's House
Ranked #5 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable place to feel at home”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed for 2 days at JR's and really enjoyed it:
* It's bright, cosy and clean
* I had lot's of space to work and relax
* I met interesting people from different countries
* I enjoyed having breakfast with Joseph (the hospitable, funny and very friendly owner) and his staff from Armenia and Poland.

It's also a good place for groups.
When I come back to Yerevan I'll definitely stay here again.

Shnorhakalutyun!

Room Tip: Lovers Park is close and a nice place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
10
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, T'bilisi, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was very pleased to stay in this Hostel for these 4 days I stayed in Yerevan. The place is very comfortable, not noisy with a very nice yard. Rooms are very nice, at the day time brightened with the sunrays. Almost all the rooms have their own bathrooms, which are very comfortable to use. Kitchen and living are are very cosy and at the moment find out that you feel there as you were at home. As for staff - they are really very very nice, they are always ready to help you, a smile on their faces always cheers you up! So there's no chance to dislike JR's House, it actually becomes your home for the time of your trip :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are very good if you are 2 or 3 people, there are very nice rooms vith their own bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaBugaets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I couldn't have found a better place than JR's when I first came to Yerevan. Staff are so friendly and helpful, and the house is spotless, comfortable, nicely decorated and in a secure location (a short bus ride or a safe and easy 15 minute walk from the very centre of town). There are big, bright double rooms that are perfect for couples or individual travelers who want some extra privacy - you even have your own balcony. It's also a great place for groups to stay since there are really good kitchen facilities and a large dining and living area where it's easy to organise seminars or other activities. Other amenities: good internet connection, really nice garden, hot water 24/7, the breakfast is delicious, and staff will arrange airport pickup if you need it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptuj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great value for the price, clean and handy in city centre of Yerevan. Single travellers, couples or groups will find a good room with all facilities you need. It is peacefull, lovely breakfasts and domestic bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678R0bertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Never have I encountered a hostel like JR's on my travels, I can definitely recommed it to all who will stay in Yerevan. The staff were really friendly and helpful and would make you feel at home. Every morning the owner will make you a nice breakfast. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. The hostel is a little out of the city centre but it is still very walkable. The common room, kitchen and outside area are great for meeting new and interesting people and to host a party! After my 12 day stay I have nothing but praise for this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Altogether I stayed around 10 days in this hostel and enjoyed my stay a lot. The great and very tasty breakfast is already a perfect start into the day and among the best ones I had in hostels so far. Josef, Nareh, Tatevik and the other staff are so nice and friendly and create a warm atmosphere in this really nice, cosy hostel with a comfortable living and dining room. The terrace in front of the hostel is nice a nice place to spend time outside. Who likes to prepare some food will have a huge, modern, fully equiped kitchen. The dorms have seperated, comfortable single beds. Everything is quite in a good condition and clean. Only as details the light in the showers could be a bit brighter and more clothes hooks there would be useful. The hostel is located a little outside the city center, but the center is easily reachable by foot. I definetly would stay again in JR's House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Special_SKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spent about 10 days in the hostel, staff is nice as well as the owner. There are definitely things to improve, but if you just embrace, that you are in Asia and not in the western Europe, JR´s hostel offers a good quality and good experience of Armenia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewstherin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.8 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Areg Hotel
Areg Hotel
#19 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yerevan Hostel
Yerevan Hostel
#3 of 105 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kantar
Kantar
#2 of 145 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#1 of 145 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Center Hostel
Center Hostel
#11 of 145 in Yerevan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JR's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JR's House

Property: JR's House
Address: 4/1 James Bryce Street | Behind Polyclinic No 8, Baghramyan Avenue, Yerevan 0019, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JR's House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ground floor is a spacious living room and adjacent open kitchen. Satellite TV, WiFi is available, dish washer, washing machine, and all cooking utensils.Four twin bedrooms are on 2nd floor. Two rooms have own shower/toilet. The other two rooms share one bathroom.3Rd floor is the hostel area with two 8 bed dorm rooms. Each room has its own lockable wardrobes.Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your JR's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing