We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DownTown Hostel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Yerevan
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nova Hotel(Yerevan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aviatrans(Yerevan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
31
17
11
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
17
11
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- Close to Opera and a few restaurants. Quiet enough and not much going on. Was easy to find but had google maps open which correctly showed it. 
- Signage quite good. 
- Ceiling and lights finished off well. 

The Bad:
- Receptionist on there when we arrived was useless. Didn't know anything about getting around or seeing things. The next night I noticed a different person and she seemed to care a lot more about customer service. 
- Bit of a work in progress still. Our room had a big piece of chipboard in it and some equipment in the cupboards. 

The Ugly:
- Smells from the neighborhood. There's a geriatric guy that tinkers around in his shed all day and first night we stayed he decided to burn shredded tires for the metal reinforcements to recycle. Guess where the smoke for this what seemed to be perennial fire. Right into rooms. Told the receptionist and she just laughed and said I know. Then the next night the council decides to stir up some rubbish and so had a different fragrance that lingered all night. Even the next morning it was still around. So had to shut windows and got really stuffy. It's summer as well and temperatures in the 30s weren't considered for these buildings. Look around the neighborhood and you'll see plenty of ac units. There's a reason why...
- Beds. Springbox mattress and old. My back hurts just thinking about it. Also if you're taller than about 5'9" you may have issues fitting - they're big wooden frames. 

We had to stay an extra night in Yerevan and couldn't escape quickly enough. We had paid upfront and would have been happy to take money elsewhere. 

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at downtown hostel. After our biking trip we enjoyed the jet shower and the free washing machine! They had a place for our bikes and the lovely staff really helped us to find another place to stay as they were fully booked the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelientje e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The girls that work at Down Town are lovely, and made my stay a complete pleasure. I was really impressed that whenever I had an enquiry they were there to sort it out with a smile. The hostel is a really good reflection of what the people are like in Armenia: happy, helpful, and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hostel offers terrible accomodation. One of the bedroom in the back offers a simulacre of bed in which it's really impossible to sleep (i am not picky) with very low ceiling. This particular room is a real joke, boiling, full of mosquitoes and dirty. The temperature in the rooms was crazy warm. All the doors had glass on itand as the light is on all night you can't get real dark in some rooms. The nights were very noisy and no one was doing anything to prevent people from drinking, playing guitar and singing at 2 am in front of the windows. The receptionnists were nice but the hostel is understaffed with only one receptionnist to welcome people and prepare breakfast at the same time. The breakfast was a joke. On the first morning we had a small croissant and a small outdated pastry (we saw the date on the package). On the secobd one we had two slices of cumcumber, tomato and a boiled egg. You have to wash your plates in the only two bathrooms as there is no kitchen (even not a single sink), with soap as dishes cleaner product is not furnished. So as the bathroom is always full people leave there dirty dishes around (wich of course brings flyies)
The only good points were : the receptionnists were nice, the bathroom was ok and the cleaning machines working. There are plenty of other possible accomodations in Yerevan, my strong advices would be to stay away from this one.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Down town hostel is located ideally to explore the city of Yerevan. The rooms are nice and clean, facilities nicely equipped.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. They have made our stay in Yerevan and also in the rest of the country a great experience. Not only were they always there to give tips for sites and restaurants in town but were there also to recommend B&Bs in the country. Always available over the phone when the language barrier hit (nobody in our travel group spoke Armenian or Russian).
Great spot

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deufrabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews