We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stylish hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I loved this hotel and have nothing at all to complain. In fact, when leaving Yerevan I booked the other hotels of the Tufenkian chain as well.I love the mixture of modern elegance and Armenian tradition.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank sylviaFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear sylviaFlorence,

Thank you for the review.
We very much appreciate your opinion and do our best to meet and exceed your expectations.

Hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

My first impression was very good, Lobby area was beautiful,the service was perfect, room were clean, beautiful, the bar was fully equipped..., breakfast was healthy, Location was perfect, near to Vernisaj market, very near to Republic Square, IP TV, and much more...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Armen A,
Thank for your review.
It is our pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay.

We truly value your opinion and hope to see you again at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Tufenkian based on its superb reviews. But it turns out the rave reviews were slightly overexaggerated. Yes, it is a decent hotel with EXCELLENT breakfast. However, I was traveling alone, which meant I spent more time at the hotel and expected more. Here are the drawbacks:

1. No mini bar.
2. The staff disappointed me. Whenever I asked them to help me arrange a tour, they looked at me like I was slightly insane. I asked them to help me arrange a tour to Lake Sevan, which I assumed meant I would join a group of tourists on a tour bus, led by a professional tour guide. Instead, I was stuffed into an unmarked car with a lone driver who didn't speak a word of English and only broken Russian. He wasn't a tour guide by any stretch of the imagination. I think he was one of the hotel staff's cousin who just needed an extra $100. It was so awkward (I am a young, female solo traveler, and the driver was a young local, so I didn't feel entirely safe). I cut the tour off halfway through and asked him to take me back to the hotel. Major fail.
3. The WiFi wasn't reliable.

That said, the hotel bar was open 24/7 and always offered good Armenian coffee. I had a nice, spacious bathroom (although the faucets were squeaky) and air conditioning. Plus, the hotel is right in the center of town, just a stone's throw from Republic Square and across the street from a colorful outdoor market with lots of souvenirs.

All in all, though, the Tufenkian just didnt "wow" me like I expected it to. The Marriot is leaps and bounds nicer, but that's at the price of $300 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear ebagot,

Thank you very much for your review. We value guest comments and your opinion is vital for us. The issue you mentioned came to us as a surprise, since our Front Desk employees, are very well aware of whom to contact in case of tour request, since we do not provide tour services, but we work with qualified partners. We would like to inform you that we made an investigation, and would like to apologize for inconvenience. It was a misunderstanding, and we want to assure you that it will never happen again. Comfort and safety of our guests is of highest priority for us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and hope to host you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've stayed at other Tufenkian's before, and this is the best of the bunch. A block off the main square on a side street. Newly refurbished. Double glazed quiet windows, perfect air-conditioning, in room refrigerator, elevator, courtesy coffee and tea in the room, two bottles of water each day, in room safe. Our room had 4 bar WiFi even though the password said "in lobby only". The king bed is the best feature and the most comfortable bed we've had in 4 weeks' travel in the Caucasus. Breakfast was superb--with made-to-order cappuccino and eggs your way. Fruit, juices, and the usual meats. Staff is pleasant and speaks excellent English. The kitchen even loaned me a big clay vase for the freesias I bought on the street for my wife! Don't miss this hotel. We stayed 9 nights here

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor with a view of the new Yerevan church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear garlec,
Thank you for the review.

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Historic Yerevan Hotel.

We hope to see you again in our hotels next time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Loved our three night stay at the centrally located, Tufenkian Historic Hotel. Beautiful refurbished building, walking distance to Republic Square. Very clean, great toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities in the room, safe, refrigerator, slippers, robes, and all the amenities expected of a 4 star property. Beautiful, natural fiber, wall hanging behind the bed and also as bedspreads. Very adequate buffet breakfast. Helpful staff.
There is an open air market just in front of the hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear trvlbufElmhurst,
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Customer experience is very important for us.

We would love to see you again in Historic Yerevan Hotel next time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This relatively new hotel is among the very best in Yerevan. It is totally built and furnished with materials from Armenia. The staff is very helpful and cordial (fluent in English). Centrally located. Modern, clean. Great beds. Reasonable price. Goso internet wirless connection. Functioanl business center. Excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth-Hachikian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Kenneth-Hachikian,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Customer feedback is always very important for us and we strive to deliver exceptional experience for every guest.

We hope to see you again in Historic Yerevan Hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here for a long weekend. The service was friendly, helpful and professional. We loved the design of the rooms and the hotel. The first night they had a tango evening in the restaurant but we were able to eat on a mezzanine floor and watch the dancing below.
There is a great weekend street market right outside the hotel which gave a feeling of Yerevan and the hotel was central for walking around town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear moscowgirl55,
Thank you for your review.
It is our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Historic Yerevan Hotel.

We truly value customer feedback and hope to see you again in Historic Yerevan Hotel very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.4 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 70 in Yerevan
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#4 of 70 in Yerevan
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 70 in Yerevan
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#6 of 70 in Yerevan
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Yerevan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel

Address: Anrapyetutsyan str. 48, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Phone Number:
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range: $63 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel is a boutique hotel in the heart of Yerevan city. It has a perfect location, near the Republic Square and Vernissaj, close to the main attractions of the city.Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel offers 82 exquisite rooms with hand crafted decor and finest amenities; bar and lounge areas, conference center, outdoor swimming pool, as well as features a traditional Kharpert Restaurant, which offers age-old Western and eastern Armenian cuisine. The warm and inviting atmosphere of Kharpert restaurant will make your evening special after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing