We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of a western coffe”
Review of The Green Bean

The Green Bean
Ranked #10 of 619 Restaurants in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yerevan's first 100% Non-Smoking Coffee Shop!! The Green Bean coffee shop, offers a new, innovative concept, an eco and customer friendly atmosphere where coffee connoisseurs enjoy the world-class coffee experience and excellent service. We want to bring the concept of “take away” with the comfort of traditional need for great service!
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A taste of a western coffe”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop, have a coffe and connect to the free wifi. Nice bakeries and baggels, as well as western music. Prices are european. Bagel: 1400-2400 Dram. If you need a taste of a american or european coffe, good place to stop by

Helpful?
1 Thank Smallfishbigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    92
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, homey and in an excellent location”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is one of those places you can go everyday. Quite, with a good menu and, most importantly, with a very relaxing and homey atmosphere. The Grean Bean is located in one of the best locations in Yerevan - few steps from the main attractions but in a quite and beautiful Cascade Park. I go there almost every second day with my baby girl because the place has a very family- and child- friendly staff and I appreciate that.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aghvesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of best places in Yerevan”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The Green Bean is one of the best places in Yerevan, where you can spend wonderful time, eat healthy and tasty food, get the most friendly and customer-oriented service, enjoy the atmosphere and, because of some Eco elements, feel that you'r doing some minor thing to save the nature and make the world better:)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hasmik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good go-to place for vegetarians & eco-conscious individuals”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have been to both locations of the Green Bean, so this review covers both of them.

Big pluses:

- Menus are available in English and Armenian, and vegan and vegetarian items are clearly labeled. (Don't worry, there are plenty of non-vegetarian options, too! My husband likes the roast beef sandwich.)

- High chair available and baby changing station in the restroom.

- Completely non-smoking environment!

- The Green Bean makes more effort than any other cafe in Yerevan to operate in a manner that promotes environmental awareness and sustainability.

- Free Wi-Fi, no password required.

- Excellent selection of fresh smoothies, shakes, cakes, and pastries for people with a sweet tooth -- like me! But also plenty of healthier options (for example, terrific broccoli soup) ...so you get the best of both worlds!

- Clean, modern interior design with items for sale on display (coffees, juices, handicrafts by local artisans).

- Friendly waitstaff.

-Very reasonable prices.

A few drawbacks:

- The baguettes used for their sandwich bread can be rather tough to bite through! (I found this to be true during separate visits to both locations.) I actually found myself wondering if it was possible to get whiplash from eating a sandwich. Maybe they could offer other bread options for sandwiches, like wraps, pitas, paninis, etc.

- The lemonade is REALLY sour. They bring it to you with a simple syrup so you can sweeten it to your liking, but even after adding all of this, it's not easy to drink. (But on the plus side, I suppose that means it's made fresh with REAL lemons, unlike in the US where lemonade is mostly sugar with artificial lemon flavoring!)

- The kids menu should have options with more vegetables. Macaroni and cheese is not a great vegetarian option, in my opinion. My son prefers to order the hummus with pita bread and celery sticks from the "snacks" section of the menu.

The pros certainly outweigh the cons. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArabesqueOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Potential not yet realized”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I'm a vegetarian, so of course it would seem that I would love this restaurant. I like it. However, the menu is a bit old-style (something that I would have seen a decade or more ago) and doesn't change often enough. I should underline that you can get good to excellent vegetarian food at many restaurants in Yerevan.
My only complaint, outside of the average good offerings, is that there's a forced, unrelaxed feel to the place. So many restaurants in Yerevan attempt to be avant-garde (or simply trendy) that what might have been a relaxed vibe is lost. Even so, I would recommend this, though lukewarmly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Staehlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Bean also viewed

 
Yerevan, Armenia
 

Been to The Green Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing