We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best house museums” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parajanov Museum

Parajanov Museum
Ranked #6 of 203 things to do in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best house museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great house museum by a great Armenian artist. He was crazy, he was creative, he's got a great collection of his artwork in his beautiful home.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacobBost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    47
    8
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take a taxi to get to this secluded museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Parajanov museum is his home set near a beautiful ravine. Much of his art is present and you can buy his exquisite subtitle moves there. Attendants are not always fluent in English but try very hard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I didn't know much about Parajanov before going into this musem, but it was a real treat. What an amazing, creative, artistic man! Unbelievable what he created from nothing. One room is set up like a room in his house. For about a dollar more I was allowed to take video and pictures. Highly recommended to anyone interested in art or history!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Some years ago I had to fly to London from Tbilisi via Yerevan and had to spend a day there. The city itself is nothing much. I had a feeling that I was back in the Soviet era. But Parajanov museum is stunning: crazy, colorful, creative - like his films. If you love art than this is something not to be missed.
When I look back, I feel grateful to that flight inconvenience that brought me to Yerevan.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is such a cool place. The story of Sergie Parajanov and his delightful and diverse works should not be missed. He was such a talented man from film maker to painter to sculptor using old things and broken china it is a fascinating collection. He was jailed a number of times in the name of free speech and his first wife murdered by her brother fro marrying Parajanov as he wasn't Muslim. A little hard to find but the locals seem to know what you are looking for and happy to printout the way

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parajanov Museum also viewed

 

Been to Parajanov Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing