We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation 30.5-4.6 2013”
Review of Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympia Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Krnov, Czech Republic
1 review
“Accomodation 30.5-4.6 2013”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was staying in this hotel for some nights. I was surprised with clean rooms, good services, english speaking woman in the reception. The bathrooms were cleaned and moderne. From the balcony there is very good view to the city. Near the hotel is supermarket where we could change our money and buy water and cognac. I was very satisfied. The one negative things was, that the hotel is in the perifery of the city. The metro station was 20 minutes far from hotel on foot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 19martin80-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
14
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esfahan, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed in Olympia hotel late of May.The hotel has a great view and very kind staffs. It has a friendly and quiet environment. Over all every thing was good and we had a pleasant vacation in there.I would recommend this hotel to my friends who want to have a calm stay.
We had wonderful time in Armenia.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fered T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice to be in but if you have nothing do in down town.
As rated as a 3 star hotel its completely matched by whatever you are supposed to be faced in but let’s review it as follows ;
1. Very cozy place since located in an almost outskirt of the city center.
2. Nice view by late spring and summer time if you chose canyon side rooms.
3. No traffic jam , No sound by vehicles.
4. Very easy access to one of the best chain stores in Yerevan namely as SAS means just 100 steps walking to.
5. Being enough far by down town if you have nothing do there.
6. Easy access to Baghramyan main street by 6 minutes walking.
7. Very basic standards in room as
7.1. Low Wi-Fi quality.
7.2. Poor amenities as safety box , intl. TV channels , security and…etc.
7.3. Poor restaurant facilities.
7.4. Very initial breakfast service as serving some very limited items by waiter, manually!!
7.5. Very good access to parking lots if you are gonna to driving your own car while staying there.
7.6. Very friendly staffs although almost none of them knows English excluding front desk staff.
7.7. Nothing to be offered as lobby!!!
7.8. Nothing to be offered interior as basic luxury functions!!!

8. So long story short , try to be in if ,
8.1. You are minding your budget as it’s a very good price value alternative.
8.2. Have nothing to do in down town though your leisure times.
8.3. If you gonna too have a quiet room in a better construed as Inn rather than hotel.
8.4. If you are not expecting gym , safety box , Wi-Fi , standard food serving , swimming pool , shopping arcade , inside cafeteria and lobby.

Enjoy your budget minded Inn ( Not Hotel )

Room Tip: Try to reside on canyon view namely as south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lavizeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badalyan, General Manager at Olympia Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Tehran Lavizeh,
We appreciate you sharing your impressions about your stay in Olympia .
Your opinion is very important for us, as we try to do all our best to make your stay comfortable in Olympia.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the eco-friendly atmosphere of the hotel area and the picturesque view during your stay. Besides I want to say that we have implemented improvements in hotel services like wi-fi internet connectivity and breakfast. In 2013 we have held renovation works in the hotel and for now we are expanding the range of services offered to our guests. So we hope to welcome you in our hotel for your future visits to Yerevan, when you can evaluate our improvements and enjoy your stay.

With kind regards ,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the outside, the hotel appears clean and modern. The room itself was modest, with old furniture. The view to the valley is OK. A convenient hotel in a sunny location. Friendly staff.
If I would write a letter to the Hotel Owner, here is what I would say, "From my experience in the hotel business, I have found that the most important meal served in a hotel is breakfast. The hotel guest judges the food served in a hotel by the quality of the breakfast. Your hotel serves an unsatisfactory, miserly breakfast, so I looked for other restaurants in the neighborhood for lunch and dinner. If I return to Yerevan, I will probably look for another hotel."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Polatschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel is located on the outskirts, so a taxi drive to the center is needed. Incredible view from the balcony. Good room, normal bathroom. Restaurant has a lot of interesting stuff on the menu, like "Mother in Law's tongue" and the food is good, but calculate at least an extra hour for the meal - kitchen is definetely not a fast food category. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denislev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I am very pleased with my stay in hotel Olympia. I found the staff was very kind and they put everything in place to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Goal of my trip was to explore Yerevan and Armenia. The staff helped me around to find all places of interest in Yerevan and provided me with background information. The hotel management helped me around to get my Armenian discovery trip organized. Important remark is that both the staff and the management speak fluently English (which is a plus for a visitor who is not speaking Armenian and Russian).
The hotel offered very large rooms with an amazing view on the Ararat Mountain. The hotel restaurant is open during the entire day and offers a wide variety of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Armenia is a charming country, with long, often tragic, history, amazing artistic talents, great cuisine and - the best thing about this country – warm and friendly people. The standard of living in Armenia went down drastically after the economic relationships and support from Russia went down after the end of the Soviet Union. The country is gradually recovering, but the scars are still very visible. Tourism is growing slowly, and the country is really trying to improve the infrastructure, including hotels, roads etc. The huge Armenian Diaspora and various charity organisations are helping actively too.

Armenians are very good with foreign languages, so more and more people speak English, and most of the population speaks Russian, with a lot of signs written at least in 2 languages – Armenian and Russian, plus often in English.

Now to the hotel. Olympia is mid-sized new-ish hotel, located in the north-western part of town, close to the Genocide memorial. The taxi ride to the city center is about 10 min, cost around 3 dollars. Alternatively, there is an underground station about 10-15 min walk from the hotel. The underground is so cheap, it’s practically free.

The hotel has 2 wings, the old and the new ones, the old one has renovated rooms too. All the rooms are spacious, all have a view to the gorge, from most of them one can see Ararat. The furniture is simple, but fairly comfortable. Some rooms have air-conditioning units, mine couldn’t be plugged in though. Bathroom was of a decent size, only with a shower in standard rooms, superior have a bath as well. One drawback is that there’s no hairdryer, one can borrow it from the reception though. There is no mini bar, but there is a fridge in the room. Each room has a large balcony.

Cleanliness is average, noise – very quiet in the old wing, fairly noisy in the new, even though the hotel was nearly empty – the long corridor acts as well, so all the door bangs are amplified.

Breakfast is great – it is a home-made healthy Armenian food: cheese, egg dishes (different every day), cottage cheese, jams etc.

Service is very personal, not standard and professional like in a large hotel chain. Safety is not an issue at all.

One little tip: if you pay cash for your stay, you won’t be charged VAT and will save 20%.

There are a few restaurants close to the hotel, various price levels and cuisines, there’s a pharmacy and a few small grocery shops very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zuerich_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
1.3 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#10 of 70 in Yerevan
194 reviews
3.2 mi away
SD Hotel
SD Hotel
#49 of 70 in Yerevan
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Areg Hotel
Areg Hotel
#20 of 70 in Yerevan
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mia Casa Hotel
Mia Casa Hotel
#16 of 70 in Yerevan
28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cross Resort Hotel
Cross Resort Hotel
#19 of 70 in Yerevan
43 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sochi Palace Hotel
Sochi Palace Hotel
#27 of 70 in Yerevan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Property: Olympia Hotel
Address: Barbyusi str. 64, Yerevan 0028, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia probably the best quality/price ratio among the hotels in Armenia!!! Considered to be one of the first private hotels in Yerevan, for more than 10 years Hotel Olympia has been a cozy and refined meeting place in the central part of Yerevan, suitable for tourists as well as businessmen. We offer the most flexible discount system in Armenia. Make your travel to Armenia unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing