We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room. Awful Breakfast”
Review of Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Room. Awful Breakfast”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the outside, the hotel appears clean and modern. The room itself was modest, with old furniture. The view to the valley is OK. A convenient hotel in a sunny location. Friendly staff.
If I would write a letter to the Hotel Owner, here is what I would say, "From my experience in the hotel business, I have found that the most important meal served in a hotel is breakfast. The hotel guest judges the food served in a hotel by the quality of the breakfast. Your hotel serves an unsatisfactory, miserly breakfast, so I looked for other restaurants in the neighborhood for lunch and dinner. If I return to Yerevan, I will probably look for another hotel."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Polatschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
15
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel is located on the outskirts, so a taxi drive to the center is needed. Incredible view from the balcony. Good room, normal bathroom. Restaurant has a lot of interesting stuff on the menu, like "Mother in Law's tongue" and the food is good, but calculate at least an extra hour for the meal - kitchen is definetely not a fast food category. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denislev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I am very pleased with my stay in hotel Olympia. I found the staff was very kind and they put everything in place to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Goal of my trip was to explore Yerevan and Armenia. The staff helped me around to find all places of interest in Yerevan and provided me with background information. The hotel management helped me around to get my Armenian discovery trip organized. Important remark is that both the staff and the management speak fluently English (which is a plus for a visitor who is not speaking Armenian and Russian).
The hotel offered very large rooms with an amazing view on the Ararat Mountain. The hotel restaurant is open during the entire day and offers a wide variety of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Armenia is a charming country, with long, often tragic, history, amazing artistic talents, great cuisine and - the best thing about this country – warm and friendly people. The standard of living in Armenia went down drastically after the economic relationships and support from Russia went down after the end of the Soviet Union. The country is gradually recovering, but the scars are still very visible. Tourism is growing slowly, and the country is really trying to improve the infrastructure, including hotels, roads etc. The huge Armenian Diaspora and various charity organisations are helping actively too.

Armenians are very good with foreign languages, so more and more people speak English, and most of the population speaks Russian, with a lot of signs written at least in 2 languages – Armenian and Russian, plus often in English.

Now to the hotel. Olympia is mid-sized new-ish hotel, located in the north-western part of town, close to the Genocide memorial. The taxi ride to the city center is about 10 min, cost around 3 dollars. Alternatively, there is an underground station about 10-15 min walk from the hotel. The underground is so cheap, it’s practically free.

The hotel has 2 wings, the old and the new ones, the old one has renovated rooms too. All the rooms are spacious, all have a view to the gorge, from most of them one can see Ararat. The furniture is simple, but fairly comfortable. Some rooms have air-conditioning units, mine couldn’t be plugged in though. Bathroom was of a decent size, only with a shower in standard rooms, superior have a bath as well. One drawback is that there’s no hairdryer, one can borrow it from the reception though. There is no mini bar, but there is a fridge in the room. Each room has a large balcony.

Cleanliness is average, noise – very quiet in the old wing, fairly noisy in the new, even though the hotel was nearly empty – the long corridor acts as well, so all the door bangs are amplified.

Breakfast is great – it is a home-made healthy Armenian food: cheese, egg dishes (different every day), cottage cheese, jams etc.

Service is very personal, not standard and professional like in a large hotel chain. Safety is not an issue at all.

One little tip: if you pay cash for your stay, you won’t be charged VAT and will save 20%.

There are a few restaurants close to the hotel, various price levels and cuisines, there’s a pharmacy and a few small grocery shops very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zuerich_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stay was OK.. Value for money.. room was neat and clean.. however hotel is in conjusted area. Its in Agra local market, Dareshi number 1. All in all stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Nevi2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
3.2 mi away
SD Hotel
SD Hotel
#51 of 70 in Yerevan
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#10 of 70 in Yerevan
199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mia Casa Hotel
Mia Casa Hotel
#16 of 70 in Yerevan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Areg Hotel
Areg Hotel
#21 of 70 in Yerevan
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ossanna Hotel
Ossanna Hotel
#37 of 70 in Yerevan
9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Yerevan Center
Ibis Yerevan Center
#14 of 70 in Yerevan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Property: Olympia Hotel
Address: Barbyusi str. 64, Yerevan 0028, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia probably the best quality/price ratio among the hotels in Armenia!!! Considered to be one of the first private hotels in Yerevan, for more than 10 years Hotel Olympia has been a cozy and refined meeting place in the central part of Yerevan, suitable for tourists as well as businessmen. We offer the most flexible discount system in Armenia. Make your travel to Armenia unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing