We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Congress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly place”
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I stayed at the Best Western for two nights in October, on business. I would definitely agree with one of the previous reviewers who described the place as jolly. Its desk and restaurant staff were very friendly. It has a great location, just a five minute walk from the main square. I found the concierge/desk staff very nice and knowledgable for the few requests I had. Some of the information you get a check-in is a bit unclear, though not to the detriment of the place. For instance, I got free internet access in your room with an ethernet cable the hotel provided, but I didn't know that from the check-in info and had to ask for it. Setting up an early morning taxi to the ride to the airport through the front desk was no problem. The room was clean and comfortable. I'd definitely go back and recommend the hotel.

Very nice breakfast spread and staff. I heard from colleagues that the Italian restaurant (where breakfast is served) was good, but (for reasons detailed below) did not get to check out the food other than at breakfast.

One previous reviewer didn't like the fitness room. I found it adequate, in terms of having perhaps 6 or so aerobic machines that worked fine; but it's weight machines were very limited.

There were two glitches that keep me from rating the place as excellent. First, they had some ridiculous bureaucratic rule about my needing to request coffee packets for the room during the day rather than the evening. They were going to charge me something like $5 for packets delivered from the bar because I asked for them after housekeeping had locked up for the day. Rather silly and bizarre, and it took some effort on my part to make sure I wasn't charged.

Also, I called for room service nearly an hour before the hotel information sheet said that room service ended, only to be informed that the restaurant was closed (again, an hour earlier than stated in the hotel info) and that there was therefore no room service to be delivered. Pretty annoying.

As I said, however, on balance I did like the hotel a lot and would go back.

  • Liked — Very friendly staff and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Odd glitches re lack of room service and charging for coffee packets
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCongressHotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Congress Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2016
Dear Southside,

Thank you for taking time and leaving the review. We really appreciate your opinion and happy to hear that the location of our hotel helped you much during your stay. Our team is always doing its best in order to make your stay more comfortable. We are always working on improving our facilities and services. Hope you will see the difference during your next stay. Will be glad to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Karapet Galfayan

Reception Staff
Best Western Congress Hotel Yerevan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    213
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
40
63
60
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

The Congress is a good joyce even with the problems it has.

Good: the location is great, the pool nice, the price right, and the rooms adequate.

Bad: However, there are some problems: 1. The front desk didn't know the airports phone number. 2. The fitness room equipment is old and not all working. 3. TV with limited channels. 4. Air condition didn't work 5. No hair conditioner in bathroom 6. No airport transfer 7. Bisness Center 10 times as expensive as local internet clubs 8. Only one elevator: going to room takes time

Overall, I recommend this hotel, but don't rely on the staff, some of the key information they don't know !!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LukiLukeGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCongressHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Best Western Congress Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear lucasuvsc,

Thank You very much for taking time and leaving the review. We value your opinion about our hotel which is really very important for us. Want to kindly inform you that we are always updating our facilities and amenities, and today we have fitness room with new equipments , TV with the variety of channels, free Wifi in the hotel area, Air conditioning system in all the hotel area, Two elevators and Airport Pick-Up and Transfer service. Our team is always ready to do their best in order to manage your stay in a most comfortable way.Thank You and Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Karapet Galfayan
Marketing Coordinator
Best Western Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My daily toil took me to Yerevan and the Congress was by far the best priced upper-end hotel that we could find in central Yerevan. At 80 odd Euros a night (including tax and your morning munch) the price was pretty decent and the hotel even better. Over the past 3 years I have stayed at the Congress 4 or 5 times and, to date, I have never had any reason to find fault with the place: the location is great, the rooms immaculately clean and spacious, and the staff as jolly as they come. When we all win the lottery we can all go stop in the Marriott the next time we are in town, but until then, the Congress will do me fine! A very good hotel for the price.

  • Liked — Light, airy rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matti-Pringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCongressHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Best Western Congress Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2016
Dear Matti-Pringle,

Thank You for taking time and leaving the review. We value Your opinion about our hotel which is really very important for us. We are glad that you liked our facilities, tidiness, comfort and that the location of our hotel helped you much during your stays. Our team is always ready to manage your stay in a most comfortable way. It's a pleasure for us to have a guest like You and Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Karapet Galfayan
Marketing Coordinator
Best Western Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Very central, a few minutes from Republic Square. Not as noisy as some hotels in central yerevan. Backs on to a park. A very nice swimming pool, with lots of sun loungers in the garden. When we were there the service was 5 star, very friendly and helpful. High caliber staff. It was italian managed. The restaurant is authentically italian (not US or UK italian), the food is good, but relatively expensive, as were the drinks in the hotel bar. Thus eating out is a better option. The breakfast on the other hand is better than many 5 star hotels. Everything you would want, with eggs and omlettes cooked to your liking near your table. Our room was spotless.Usually serviced when we were having breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in central Yerevan.

  • Liked — Service. Great pool. Good breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noltein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCongressHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Congress Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2016
Hello Dear noltein,

Thank you very much for taking time and leaving the review. We value your opinion about our hotel which is really very important for us. It's a pleasure for us to know that you liked our facilites, tidiness, comfort and also the location which is next to the Republic square. We are glad that you liked our American buffet breakfast and also our "Raffaello" restaurant where you can try not only Italian but also Armenian cuisine. Our team is always doing their best to manage your stay in a most comfortable way. Thank you once more and hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Karapet Galfayan

Reception Staff
Best Western Congress Hotel Yerevan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

The highlight of this property is the swimming pool - the pool area is quite lovely. Also they have wireless internet in the lobby. Stayed at this Congress Hotel for about 10 days for about $100 per night. Property was clean and well maintained. Good location - located just a short walk (a few blocks) from Republic Square. The only negatives (very minor) were the food and drinks they offer in the hotel were way way overpriced. For a hotel of this quality the staff was a little young and gossipy, but this is a cultural difference in Armenia and in the service industry especially - it's not like the USA. The staff at the desk knows some English. There were visitors from all over the world. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank webtraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCongressHotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Congress Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2016
Dear webtraveler007,

Your opinion is very important for us. There've been a lot of changes at our hotel which you can see during your next visit. Our Restaurant and Bar menu is being supplemented regularly.

Hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Grigor Dovlatyan
Reception Staff

Best Western Congress Hotel Yerevan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.3 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.4 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#7 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Yerevan
Grand Hotel Yerevan
#6 of 67 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Congress Hotel

Property: Best Western Congress Hotel
Address: 1 Italy Street, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yerevan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yerevan
#7 Family Hotel in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Congress Hotel is a stunning hotel earning grateful reviews for its service, style and sensational location in the heart of Yerevan, city's most exciting district.Italian style, clean modern lines and cutting edge technology are combined effortlessly with traditional Armenian values of hospitality.The comfort, contemporary design of the hotel, from its business style lobby to its impressive Italian Terrace with open air swimming pool, reflects a seamless blend of friendly hospitality and relaxing atmosphere. It has 5 meeting Rooms, 2 Bars and Italian "Raffaello" Restaurant in it. It is one of the most famous business hotels located in the heart of Yerevan city business, shopping and cultural district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yerevan
Yerevan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing