We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect caucasian cousine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afrikyanneri Pandok - CLOSED

Afrikyanneri Pandok
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Eastern European, Armenian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The receptionist at our hotel reccommended this place. We were looking for a typical Armenian restaurant. The Afrikyanneri Pandok met our expectations. This is a cellar restaurant just of Sacharov Square. We had excellent Armenian food for a very decent price and there was live music to accompany it. The only reason I would not give it 5 stars is that the service was very slow.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect caucasian cousine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Perfect cousine, nice live folk music, cheerfull and good staff, perfect service.
Nice interior.
I highly recomend you to visit it at least once. You definitelly wouldnt regret this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Igorek456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, with tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ate here tonight, fairly late (arrived at 9.30 pm or so). Restaurant was fairly empty and they were happy to accommodate me as a solo diner.

No one seemed to speak any English, but I eat pretty much anything so I didn't mind too much. The menu had English translations, but things are named rather than described (e.g. "evening salad" or "So and so's favourite lamb dish".

Food was very tasty, although a little bit of a random combination as a result of the language issues.

I had 'evening salad', which was a pork in mayonaise cold dish (as a starter, probably enough for 3 people along with the breads!), which they brought out with some roasted peppers and aubergine swimming in oil (I think I ordered grilled vegetables of some sort).

Main for me was 'King BBQ', which turned out to be some rather tasty barbecue pork ribs, which made me very happy. This was served with a really tasty sauce (kind of sweet, sour) a giant baked potato and was a good hearty portion.

No live music tonight, but on occasion they seemed to turn up the music (Shakira) rather loud.

Eventhough they didn't speak English, the staff were very pleasant and friendly. Bill came up to just over AMD8,000, which reasonable for the amount of food and quality.

Overall I enjoyed it and would happily go back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't experience Armenian culture better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We went two times there cause we really loved it. Music is great, people are so friendly and they really try to make you feel being served well made food and with the dances and music you would always like to come back there!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shervin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Company Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

WE had dinner and party in private room. Service and Food was very good. Dancing was great and employees enjoyed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Soup8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical Armenian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want to get the true spirit of Armenian cuisine, that's the right place to dine.
I would pay special attention to the menu - adorable names of dishes which make one smile.
The only thing I don't like personally is the lack of windows - most of the halls in taverns of both location lack windows and are dark...
While the dishes are very tasty if you order through the menu, business lunches still need improvement - sometimes there is long line in front of the desk, and there is no big diversity of choice.
The biggest advantage is that they serve typical Armenian food which is really attractive not only for guests of Armenian but also for natives (sometimes one may discover very interesting food which can't be tasted anywhere else).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lika_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrikyanneri Pandok also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing