We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to come back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Glide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Glide
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Skane County, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A place to come back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hostel is situated in a quiet area near the subway which frequently goes in to the center, its also possible to take a pleasant walk. The family are very friendly and easygoing and made it a pleasure to stay there!
The house is spacious and bright and so are the rooms, the shower and bathroom worked well. Breakfast was also very good. I definitely hope I have possibility to come back to Yerevan and to Glide!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelGlide, Manager at Hostel Glide, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank You sooo much for Your review! It's very nice to realize that we could make Your holiday in our country pleasant, and we are happy that You like Armenia and if once again You decide to travel in this area, be sure You can rely on us! :)
Regards from all the staff of the Hostel Glide :) Especially from Brinkley :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Its our first time to stay in a hostel. I stayed in this hostel for 12 days together with my friends. I really enjoyed my stay this hostel... i can say its better than a 5 star hotel because the family who owns this place creates a better and welcoming atmosphere for all of its guess. It makes you feel a home away from your real home. I would like to say a million thanks to Anna, Armen and Mama... not to forget bruce lee (my alias for the dog) the golden retriever dog (i hope thats the correct dog breed). Highly recommended place to stay in Yerevan. Near to the metro station (Barekamutyun) few minutes walk. Anna is very articulate when comes to local places, food etc. I like the home made breakfast... very healthy stuff that they serve. Its an open table for all the guess, which gives you the chance to talk and communicate to one another while having breakfast :) Would definitely go back, given the chance and share the good experience with my friends!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Normally we do not stay in hostels like the Glide, but we decided to try based on the terriffic reviews on these pages, and we were not disappointed. The hostel is very well situated, close to the rapid (!) metro-system of Yerevan, a couple of stops from the centre..- A bit difficult to find, our taxi-driver gave up. But with the directons from their web-page it was easy.

The hostel is in a private house, and you will be treated like a long-time friend. The daughter, Anna, speaks very well English and has a lot of interesting information/thoughts about Armenia and the world beyond.

The Glide is a very cheap place to stay, and you will get a lot from your money. Breakfast is good, and you get to meet other travellers (of all ages and nationalities). The rooms are very basic and clean.

This is not a five-star hotel, but because of the hospitality and generosity of the family, the basic facilities and the location (when you have found it), the Glide deserves five stars in my world.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pelourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
407 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Super friendly and pleasant hosts, who all speak excellent English. Well, except perhaps the grandmother.

The hostel is clean, well priced and reasonably well located, close to one of the metro stops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I got a single room at Hostel Glide. It was a large room with ensuite bathroom. The hostel is very nice, spacious, and quiet at night. But the best thing is the family that runs it - they are unbelievably friendly and helpful, and they speak perfect English. I learned a lot about Armenia just by talking to them. And they were always offering me coffee, tea, bean salad, etc.

The location is quite good, close to a metro station, so it doesn't take long at all to get to the centre of Yerevan (only 3 metro stops away from Republic Square).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schleswig, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

ı can say that your second home in Yerevan.
The famly is very hospitable.
They are ready for to assist you everytime.
You can find various kind of accomadation
from dorm to ensuite room.
Hostel is newly build and clean.
Breakfasts are cooking daily by charming daughter of the family.
Walking distance to subway and around 3 stops to downtown.
Nice place to spend for a couple of days and they can give
you travel advices also renting bike or supplying a paragliding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Engelhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

New hostel run by a family who lives in the house. I have never received such a personal service in a hostel before and insight into local culture - a great experience of Caucasus hospitality.

The Hostel is in a nice neighbourhood which is only two stops away from Yerevan centre with metro or 1 EUR taxi ride (600 dram) or 30 min walk.

The room and bathroom was very clean and everything working. Wifi internet and an outstanding Armenian breakfast included in price (freshly made bred, yogurt, omelette etc).

I also rented a bike from them to go cycling around the city and they took me on a day trip outside of the city.

Very keen on helping to arrange taxis, confirm bus schedule etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinogbjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.8 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#6 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SD Hotel
SD Hotel
#50 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#2 of 65 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yerevan Hostel
Yerevan Hostel
#3 of 103 in Yerevan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Glide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Glide

Property: Hostel Glide
Address: Galents St., 16, Yerevan 0033, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Glide 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Glide is a private house located in a secured and quiet area in Yerevan, 2km away from the downtown and next to the metro station Barekamutyun. People who like extreme sports we'll be very pleased. As it is seen from our hostel's name "Glide Hostel", our staff is deeply attached to one of the most amazing extreme sports of the world - paragliding. Armen, one of our staff member is the leading paraglider of Armenia, it means that he travels much over the whole land of Armenia and Artsakh (NKR) and knows every piece of our biblical land. He can help You to make Your travelling in Armenia unforgettable. Tandem paragliding flights are a great way to enjoy the full paragliding aerial experience, without having first to learn how to launch and control the paraglider yourself. Your expert paraglider pilot will take care of the launch, flight and landing for you! And as You plan to stay in our hostel Glide, You will get a 10% discount for the flight! The flight costs 43000 AMD(about 80 euros) includinf transportation and video. Snow and Skiing Tour In Armenia Do You want to enjoy snow in Armenia, try Your skills in skiing or snowboarding, see our pearl - lake Sevan, feed the seagulls, try fish from the lake and just enjoy the scenery? If yes, so this tour is for You. First we will visit Tsakhkadzor, our main ski resort, where You can enjoy real snow, try to ski, take a ride on the ropeway and enjoy the picturesque scenery from the top of the mountains. After all we will drive to lake Sevan, pearl of Armenia, high mountainous lake, where You can visit Sevanavank-the main monastery at the peninsula, try barbecued fish or crayfish kebab in the restaurants near the lake, why not, feed the seagulls flying above the lake There is no doubt that, a day spent on a ski resort with us is definitely one of the best ways to enjoy the magic of the snow season. If You book Your accommodation with Hostel Glide You can get another 10% discount for the tour. The tour with our driver to lake Sevan, Tsakhkadzor and back to Yerevan costs 30.000 AMD. Additional expenses: • Ski/Snowboard clothing-5000AMD/7000AMD (per day) • Snowboard equipment (snowboard and boots) - 7000AMD (per day) • Ski equipment (skis, boots, and polls) - 5000AMD (per day) • Snowboard instructor-15000AMD (per hour) • Ski instructor- 10000AMD (per hour) • One time use ski pass – 2000 AMD • Day Card (10 entries) -10000AMD • One Day Card (30 entries)-12000AMD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Glide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing