We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Food is Bad in Armenia!”
Review of Old Beijing

Old Beijing
Ranked #183 of 648 Restaurants in Yerevan
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: "Old Beijing: CHINESE CUISINE" is one of the best Chinese restaurants in Yerevan. Since 2009, from the very moment of its establishment our restaurant has become one of the loveliest places for many people. We suggest more than two hundred various dishes of Chinese Cuisine wide selection of beverages, refreshments and exotic cocktails. The comfortable halls of the "Old Beijing: CHINESE CUISINE" decorated in Chinese style and best choice of music create a friendly environment for family events, dinners, business lunches or celebrations. Highly qualified staff of the "Old Beijing: CHINESE CUISINE" is always ready to provide you necessary support and assistance. Welcome to the Old Beijing.
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Asian Food is Bad in Armenia!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It makes sense if you think about it...there is a serious shortage of Asian food in Armenia. The options that exist are among the worst Asian food choices that I've ever had. We ordered a vegetable noodle dish and received ramen noodles with soy sauce and local vegetables like cooked tomatoes and cucumbers. Not authentic!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it !!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Love it very much...very tasty..I have tried chinese foods in different countries but this one I like most of all.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinaKYerevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“MORE THAN 10 YEARS OF EXCELLENT QUALITY”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I haven't been there for a two years, but the girls from our department decided to taste the Chinese Kitchen. As the only male in our PR & Comm. department I was "obligated" to bring them there and recommend a couple of delicious dishes. There is no need to tell you a tail... Just a facts:

1. Very high approaching to the client. Valuing and attentiveness. Delivered the menu, suggested the dishes that meet your preferences, detailed description on every asked dis (ingredients, products' origin, cooking style etc.).
2. The ashtrays changed after each smoked cigarette (Here, in Armenia we are happy that can smoke everywhere freely (sure everywhere they have isolated "Non Smoke" areas).
3. They promised bring the meal during 15-20 minutes and delivered it in time with fool description of each dishes.
4. Yummy !!!
5. Clean !!!
6. Attentive waitress that stayed near but you never see them until you need them !!!

Very Good Quality for all things that form the best place!

I didn't click "EXCELLENT" just because of interior design both at first and underground floors. But, may be it also excellent, just my imagination is a little bit other.

Special thanks to chefs Lyoo and Woo (hope it is right spelling of their names). They are doing great job.

I recommend all my friends and all the people who like Chinese food to visit Old Beijin in Yerevan, Armenia.

This review is written ONLY for "OLD BEIJING" Restaurant on Toumanyan Street. Do not identify it with the simply "BEIJING" restaurant located right after the above mentioned.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HIGHORDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yerevan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet and Sour what?”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The food is terrible. The cook must be from anywhere else but China. The decor was lovely and we had high expectations - we were very sadly disappointed when the food arrived. The first time it was virtually impossible to chew and swallow Chinese food. Not worth the time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blemville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dull!”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the kind of Chinese restaurant you used to find in parts of N. America and W. Europe thirty years ago, and Russia ten years ago: lots of egg dishes, with a smattering of non-sensical hard to place cuisine made to look "chinese." Atmosphere was a bit tacky with intrusive pop music.
This is one of those Yerevan restaurants where the serving staff has to learn to serve food: that means food served warm, and at the same time - what is it with bringing some dishes out twenty minutes after other ones?, and finally, knowledgeable staff, that means waiters/waitresses who do no recommend food based on its price (of course the most expensive first) but rather on the states tastes of the cuisine. Food was overpriced, by the way.
If you're dying for good Chinese food, then I suggest you learn how to cook. If you're on Tumanyan this is the Chinese restaurant "on the right." It's said to be the better one. Maybe I'll try one of the other's in town, maybe no.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staehlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Beijing also viewed

 
Yerevan, Armenia
 
Yerevan, Armenia
 

Been to Old Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing