We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, overall”
Review of Europe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europe Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good hotel, overall”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean: rooms are comfortable and with all the necessary furnitures. Bed is very good to sleep in. I would recommend rooms on the higher floors which are remarkably better.

Personnel is overall generous and kind, smiling and willing to help: I refer to reception girls.

There's a special attention to the European clients, just like the hotel name announces: although this is mostly toward French guests, for instance, at breakfast.

In my opinion, water in mini-bar (1-2 bottles a day) should be free as it's the first sign of refreshment and welcoming for guests, particularly in a city where water is said to be non-drinkable. A 4 star hotel should guarantee this, I think, especially when some personnel often stares at you expecting tips just like in such hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTripPeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
48
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just returned from a two week stay at the Europe Hotel. Every aspect of the hotel exceeded my expectations. The entire staff should be commended on their high level of professionalism and their efforts to make guests feel comfortable and to enjoy their time in Yerevan. The receptionists were professional, courteous, and very helpful. The multi-lingual staff spoke excellent English. The housekeepers, breakfast room staff, and doormen were always cheerful, friendly, and helpful.
Important details: My room was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable and everything worked well. The décor is not luxurious, but practical. I especially enjoyed the free highly functional WiFi in my room on the 3rd floor. The air conditioning was great after a day in the heat of the city. Gracious housekeepers.
Breakfast: Delicious coffee, fresh fruit, a variety of hot and cold choices, yogurt, meats, cheeses, and choices of delicious fresh bread including lavash. Friendly staff.
Public Area: A comfortable cheerful lobby with ample furniture to accommodate guests and visitors. There was a small bar and casual food service was available in the lobby or for room service.
Location: The hotel is located in the middle of a quiet street, half way between the Vernissage outdoor market and Republic Square. It was possible to walk to major sights and taxis were abundant.
When I return to Yerevan, I plan to stay at the Europe Hotel again. For me it was a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallivantingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As other have mentioned, hotel costs in Yerevan are out of proportion to everything else...taxis are chape, restaurants and bars are cheap, but you pay European prices for hotels. However, this was a reasonable price for a good standard with a nice spacious room and, being a small city everything is an easy walk. I was a bit disappointed that this was yet another hotel that tries to push their "special airport transfer service" on you that costs more than 3 x what a regular taxi costs...how special can it be compared to having a personal taxi service?? But fortunately they gave in when I insisted a taxi would be fine. And the best moment was as I was stood outside waiting for my taxi, and the maid came out with my Apple Mac mouse which I had left on the desk in my room. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilRBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good locations and all you need from a standard hotel. Most sights in walking distance. There is a marker close by an some nice local restaurants. If you seek nightlife there is a bar with live music on the other side of the Street (called Bourbon St)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikkelholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a perfectly good 3 star city centre hotel. The location is excellent - a short walk from Republic Square with its awesome evening fountain display. An even shorter walk to the Yerevan City Supermarket, containing a great alcohol section with one of the widest ranging selections of Vodka I've seen. Back to the hotel. The rooms are small but very clean, comfortable and well appointed. If you want a really great view, forget it, there are none (see my photos). But, obviously, this is not the fault of the hotel! On a clear day, you can see Mt Ararat in the distance. The bar is adequate for a "quick one", but there is limited choice (e.g. no draught beer) and not much atmosphere. The breakfasts were excellent, with hot/cold choices and much of the very fine food was locally produced. Many of the staff spoke good English and were always pleasant, helpful and welcoming. It's all you need, really!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Overview

A good hotel if you are a tourist but not if your business depends on a reliable internet connection.

Merits

I agree with most of what the other commentators have said: it is in a good central location on a quiet street – although there were drunks outside my window past 2am one night - with many restaurants and shops in close proximity.

The staff are friendly and the room fine. I disagree with the comments that the rooms are too small and are “tired”. I have stayed in many far smaller and tattier rooms. My room and the dining room were both non-smoking rooms.

I agree that a kettle would be a useful addition.

The buffet breakfast was very good.


Demerits

The rumble of underground trains – these were apparent both in my first floor room and in the dining room – but not enough to cause any problems unless you are a light sleeper.

However, the WiFi internet only works some of the time – and will not even attach small files consistently - which can be annoying if you have something to send by a tight deadline. If you are in Yerevan for leisure this would not be a serious problem but if there on business, as I was, and needing good quality, reliable internet connection 24/7, this is probably not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Front you are on a quiet road with the odd drunk; back you look over yards but can see Mount Ararat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good location in the center of Yerevan in a quite rooad, personnel very polite (they speak also french) and clean. However, the room furniture is poor and without personnality, the breakfast nothing special (they charge espresso as an extra) and needs renovation works

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg_lia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropeHotel A, General Manager at Europe Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for choosing Europe Hotel and we appreciate your sincere opinion about our property and services. Europe Hotel has an external french-style architecture and an interior full of paintings and refurbished furniture, a minimalist but very functional room furniture and most of all a personalized service what makes Europe Hotel a boutique hotel. However we agree that more should be done to satisfy our guests, thus we thank you for your comment.
As for the breakfast, our daily prepared buffet ,with a wide variety of hot/cold and sweet/salty dishes and products, has become so famous in town that we even serve to guests staying at other hotels. As for the espresso(like any other item that is excluded from the buffet) is charged as extra.
We hope we will accomodate you once again during your next trip to Yerevan and we would me more than glad to serve you the best of the Armenian hospitality.
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.1 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Yerevan
Hyatt Place Yerevan
#8 of 70 in Yerevan
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Yerevan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aviatrans
Aviatrans
#35 of 70 in Yerevan
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
0.3 mi away
Ibis Yerevan Center
Ibis Yerevan Center
#14 of 70 in Yerevan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel

Property: Europe Hotel
Address: Anrapyetutsyan str. 38, Yerevan 0010, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing