We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better”
Review of Hotel Meg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meg
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My family stayed at Hotel Meg for a family reunion for 7 days the first week of August. We reserved two suites and one regular room. All the rooms were clean, comfortable, and large. The staff were friendly and very helpful from promptly serving breakfast whenever requested to handling our laundry. The free wi-fi is quite reliable and the air conditioning works very well (thank heavens because it was HOT). The subway and tile flooring others have mentioned were a nonissue. The longer I was in Yerevan, the more I appreciated the location which is fantastic - close to the Cascade and Opera House.

We also had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Mr. Ajand, who did a wonderful job of setting up a family dinner for us at his restaurant La Cucina. He has a great sense of humor and really goes out of his way to make you feel welcome.

We found it very helpful to have the staff write down addresses (including Hotel Meg’s) in Armenian. That really helped the taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshahkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

We loved Hotel Meg. The staff was helpful and cheerful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was excellent. We were only a few minutes walk from the Cascade and Opera House which was perfect for evening strolling. This hotel is tucked away on a side street so it ensured us a quiet evening and good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hotel Meg became my favorite place to stay in Yerevan for my multiple visits since last year.
Recently I booked a room for 7 nights but due to room unavailability I was confirmed only for 5 nights, and was obliged to change the hotel for the rest of my stay in Yerevan. Later on I extended my stay for another night and returned to Hotel Meg. At check out I had the pleasant surprise to be informed that my one night stay was free of charge!.
The management and staff of Hotel Meg are outstandingly kind and service oriented, and know very well to reward their loyal customers.
If you are looking for very large, very clean rooms and very friendly service, do not look further, Hotel Meg is the best choice in Yerevan.
Thank you Hotel Meg.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krikor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed 6 nights here, after 5 nights in the Marriott. What a contrast! From being "just a customer," to being "part of the happy Meg Family". This boutique hotel is not easy to find, even though it is just steps away from major cultural sites (west of the Matenadaran; east of the impressive Cafesjian Center for the Arts & north of the Museum of Russian Art), but once there, we could relax in its intimacy, and the great service provided by the incredibly friendly staff. Thank you, Lusine, and Rusan, and the breakfast (delicious) ladies! One can walk to the Kochar and Saryan art museums, the Khachaturian museum (where we listened to a great concert), and the opera (where we attended a super folk music evening). There are many good places to eat nearby (e.g. Café Charles), but Mr. Aris Ajand (born in Iran, lived in California), the amiable owner-manager of Hotel Meg also owns La Cucina, and that is where we had the best meals and the heartiest welcome in Yerevan. Yes, you can feel the rumble of the subway beneath the building, but it did not bother us.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size. We had one at the back, with separate living & bedrooms, and found it ve...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for several weeks in Nov - Dec. 2010 to fulfill an international adoption. We had been to Yerevan a handful of times before but had generally stayed at the Marriott. Given the length of our stay this time, we sought accomodations with more amenities that would make us feel more at home and provide better value for the dollar. Given the great reviews at Trip Advisor we sought out Hotel Meg. We were not disappointed as owner-operator Aris clearly understands and delivers on western expectations for home-style comforts, modern features, and guest service.

The rooms are spacious and very clean with comfortable beds, clean, well-appointed baths, and a kitchenette that's just enough for snacking or eating-in. Our room was suite-style with a separate bedroom area that was very convenient for my wife and I and the baby. Internet service was very dependable and rooms were also equipped with DVD players which was a nice change of pace from CNN/BBC. My only criticism of the room is that the travertine floors could use a few throw/area rugs to absorb some sound. The location of the hotel is about as good as it gets in Yerevan, as it's off the major street but a short walk to many restaurants, the opera house, the Cascades, and even Republic Square.

I really can't say enough about the staff - they made us feel right at home from the very beginning. They were helpful in accomodating any request and treated us like family. The breakfasts were great and the smiles and Armenian language lessons they were served with each day were even better! From translations to arranging tours, to washing clothes, they handled it all with ease and grace. Best of all, they were so wonderful when our baby was able to stay with us - providing a comfortable little crib for her and even a little walker. They made a wonderful time in our lives even more special and memorable. There is no question where we will be staying anytime we travel to Yerevan.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The location of this hotel is great. This is the biggest plus of this place.A short walk can take you to the major sightseeing destinations like the Opera House, the Manuscript Museum, the Cascade, etc. The room was large, modern, comfortable, and well furnished. It was air conditioned. There is television and free wifi in the room. The bathroom was clean and modern too. The pricing was extremely reasonable. The staffs were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was good. I stayed here for three days and highly recommend this place to anyone. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The location is almost perfect. It lacks views, but has privacy, it is next to the Cascades, a few minutes walk from the Opera house, gardens, restaurants and what feels like non-stop action. It is set back and cabs may have trouble finding it. Keep the phone number with you. The rooms are surprisingly large and well appointed. The hotel is new, well maintained and very clean. All the rooms have a kitchen area. The included breakfast is served in the rooms upon request. There were few choices for breakfast, but it was always fresh and well prepared, with delicious verity of breads. The service was superior. At the front desk Rouzan, Lucine and Ara, all spoke excellent English and were always available and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
0.9 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 70 in Yerevan
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
0.6 mi away
My Hotel Yerevan
My Hotel Yerevan
#13 of 70 in Yerevan
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 70 in Yerevan
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Yerevan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meg

Address: Sarmen 1 | City Center, Yerevan 0009, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yerevan
#6 Business Hotel in Yerevan
Price Range: $42 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the capital, Hotel Meg is within minutes’ walk from the famous Matenadaran, the Cascade and the Opera.This small hotel of only seven spacious one and two-room suites has been designed based on the simple concept of doing everything possible to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meg Hotel Yerevan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing