We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Cookbook Cafe

Cookbook Cafe
Ranked #20 of 776 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Description: Welcome to the main dining venue of our InterContinental Nha Trang, located on the first floor adjacent to the hotel lobby. Interact with live cooking stations featuring local and international favorites, including a delicious range of seafood, char-grilled meats and authentic Vietnamese specialties. Open all day, dine al fresco facing the sea or inside the restaurant. Breakfast will encompass all of your favorites, as well as fruit-infused water, imported cheeses and homemade Dim Sum. Healthy choices are available with calorie counts, low GI indicators and gluten free dishes. Travelling with children? Ask for our specialty shaped pancakes.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

Very disappointing. Not worth extra money and food produced didn’t comply with menu description . My tuna gravalax came as a tiny small hard lump, asked for lime to juice it up. My partner ordered juicy stir fried lobster medallion . Came as a small half grilled lobster , dry with no lime just a bit of soy sauce, so was neither stir fried or juicy. His apple tarte Tatin nothing to write home about either. Did alert the manager and he did kindly give us 280.000 dong back which was much appreciated. French Sauvignon good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank B7024IRemmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuyP109, Manager at Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Dear B7024IRemmah,

We sincerely apologize for the service challenges your experience. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations.

Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to re-instill your confidence in our restaurants and our services.

Best regards,

Duy Phan
Digital Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 320 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2019 via mobile

Tried this restraraunt 2 years ago and I enjoyed it then..

Not very good.. The quality and variety has gone down but the price has gone up..

The half lobster is so small, it's a baby lobster or you could call it a shrimp..

The lobster being sold on the street and beach are bigger.. :(

The bbq section is so small now, only a small selection of items to choose from..

The whole buffet tasted okay nothing great, I would NOT recommend this place.. it's very overpriced for what you get..

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank _CDN_Travel_Guy_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuyP109, Manager at Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2019

Dear _CDN_Travel_Guy_BC,

We sincerely apologize for the service challenges your experience. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations.

Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to re-instill your confidence in our restaurant and our services.

Best regards,

Duy Phan
Digital Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

I really wanted lobster and I wanted a reliable option in Nha Trang so we headed to the Cookbook Cafe expecting great food and not worrying about paying a premium for it.

The lobby of the hotel was beautiful! Wow.

The Bad:

When we arrived we mentioned that we didn’t want a buffet dinner and would prefer to order off the menu. The staff suggested that we eat in the bar. No problem. The bar was empty and is in the lobby of the hotel; great environment.

We ordered which was a struggle language wise. Who cares. 4 dishes were delivered to us:

1. Lobster; it was mealyand smelled like an infected wound. Gross; I gave it a try anyway and it tasted as bad as it smelled. Not fresh, rubbery, mealy.
2. Bread; it was like the bread was mad of air. It had no substance or falvor. It was stale and dissapointing.
3. Some sort of starch with cheese on it; also disgusting. No flavor; just a puck of grease.
4. Beef satay - actually tasty.

This resturant was so below what I would expect from arguably the nicest hotel on the main drag of Nha Trang. You can do better anywhere else including a Pho house.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuyP109, Manager at Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2019

Dear David S,

We sincerely apologize for the service challenges your experience. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations.

Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to re-instill your confidence in our hotel and our services.

Best regards,

Duy Phan
Digital Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

Because we chose the Intercontinental Nha Trang as a stopover, we had a great dinner at Cookbook Cafe. The space is both luxurious and cozy with the melodious music. The seafood here is very fresh, and very well prepared, especially lobster dishes. We also enjoyed 2 drinks: pina colada and tiger draught. They were all wonderful. I will recommend this spot to my friends.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank rasmusssorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuyP109, Manager at Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2019

Dear rasmusssorensen,

We love to hear such terrific guest feedback, I am so happy to know how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our restaurant and passionate colleagues are very deserving of your praise and I will share your kind words to them.

Many thanks again, we are at your service to provide anything you need and hope you will return again soon.

Best regards,

Duy Phan
Digital Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

A fan of seafood? This is the place to go for fresh and perfectly cooked seafood.
of course more expensive than other restaurant but I will still come back as it's worth it.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuyP109, Manager at Cookbook Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Dear Marc J,

We love to hear such terrific guest feedback, I am so happy to know how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our property and passionate colleagues are very deserving of your praise and I will share your kind words to them.

Many thanks again, we are at your service to provide anything you need and hope you will return again soon.

Best regards,

Duy Phan
Digital Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookbook Cafe also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Cookbook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing