We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location.”
Review of Ha Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ha Van Hotel
Ranked #55 of 215 Hotels in Nha Trang
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This hotel is hidden away in one of the alley's off a main street in Nha Trang. The French-Canadian owner is very friendly and the staff are very helpful.

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. It inlcuded a mini-fridge, tv with cable and the bathroom had hot water - only problem is that everything gets wet when you're having a shower. Nothing separates the shower from the toilet or sink. Our bathroom door would not shut properly either, so we had to prop up a bottle to keep it semi-closed.

There is an elevator so you don't have to climb 5 flights of stairs. There are 2 computers in the lobby for internet use as well. The rooftop is nice for a city view and after 5pm they server drinks (at an added cost). Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but it only costs $3 US and includes coffee or juice.

You can walk to the beach within minutes, there are tons of excellent restaurants just around the corner - so for those just wanting a clean, comfortable place to stay for a bargain - this is your hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PStoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 811 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at the Ha Van hotel for three nights during januray. We pre-booked a double room with a balcony for $23 via email about a week before we arrived.

This largish hotel is situated on a side street just off the main strip, about 5 minutes walk from the beach. The room we booked was on the 4th floor which gave you a good view from the balcony, and luckily they had a lift which saves your legs. The rooms are a good size and you get basic furniture. The bathroom is in a wet room style, with a simple shower mounted on the wall. It takes a few mins for the hot water to come through so leave it running before you jump under!

Included in the price of the room is air con, a fridge, hot water, minibar and satellite tv. Breakfast is not included but is an extra $3 if you want it. You can get cheap breakfasts at any of the bars/cafes around the corner so this wasn't a problem. The staff are friendly and the hotel itself feels safe and secure. The owner (french-canadian) is welcoming and able to book buses/trips and give you all the info on the local area.

The Ha Van hotel is a good budget option hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

My husband and i had a great stay here. Very clean and efficient. Nothing at all to say to the negative.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yasminruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

One of the cheapest and best stays we had in Vietnam. We were plesantly surprised with the quality and service

Rooms: as with most places the toliet is in the shower. No biggie. Shower was great - lots of hot water.
Queen size Bed was soft comfy
Rooms / linen were clean
Aircon and Tv worked a treat.
Balcony would have been good is it had stoped raining !

Location: what more could you want. its just off to the side of the restarunt / bars area. short walk to everywhere, and beach just up the road. The street the hotel is on isn't busy - so nice and quiet

Didnt have the hotel breakfast because we were out wandering early and theres so much to choose from (recommend 'same same but different' cafe. if you can get past the cliche'd name its a great and inexpensive cafe just round the corner !). The hotel staff spoke great english and organised mud spa + taxis at a very good price. We hired motobikes from the hotel at cheaper than we could from the street vendors.

Overall a top stay !

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bennoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed a couple of nights in rainy Nha Trang in December. Good points included airport pickup and fast and easy check in. Room has a balcony which would have been nice in dry weather. Bed comfortable and there is a TV with multi channels, plus weak wireless in the room. They also got us train tickets and only charged 10% commission - much lower than some other hotels / agents. Slept fine and late - street is quite.

Things that need to be improved include: threadbare towels in bathroom; lack of a clean floor towel; no shower curtain / cubicle - instead an open design meaning the bathroom is flooded after every shower; weak water on 4th floor.

I can see why people give the place good reviews, and I can see the good points. The main problem was the towels / floor towel. Never had their US$3 breakfast - there are plenty of options two minutes walk away for less money.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2009

I would like to thanks ‘’Drumbrake’’ for his honest and detail review of our Ha Van Hotel. Because of constructive criticisms offer by our guests, my wife and me are able to improve the hotel. Since one year, many of the reviews have helped us to become better.
Since the review of ‘’Drumbrake’’, we have discard our oldest towels and buy more than 100 new ones. As for the shower/wet floor, our reader have to understand that we don’t own the building in which we make our hotel. We have 1 year left to our contract with a possibility of 3-5 years more. I pledge myself that when we will ink the contract for 3-5 years more, I will add shower curtain that will prevent the floor to be wet. Until that moment, please note that a lot of Vietnamese bathrooms and hotel have the same system as ours. I have even design my bathroom in Canada to be design this way!

I want also outline the fact that we are pro-active in improving our hotel, in one year a lot have been done and sometimes it is frustrating for us that the guests can’t fully appreciate all the work that have been done…be assured that I am not fully satisfied with many things in our hotel but that we are making great effort financially and time consuming to improve the experience lived by our guests. All profit are reinvest in our staffs and business..ALL. (and that why I am not rich and that my wife complain!!!)

I want to thanks all of our new guests (regular guests too) that have been staying here, for their support and kind words. I can see my employees, my wife and myself being proud to have an hotel that can fulfill their requirement for clean, affordable, comfortable and convenient rooms. We are succeeding in giving honest and competent services, making Nha Trang a better destination to visit. It is not always easy, Vietnam is a noisy and difficult country to do business...especially for a westerner.

Last I want also to thanks my employees for their work and honest ways of work. Their respect and friendship is very important to us.
This year will be better than the years before.

Nicolas
Flamingo Suites’ Ha Van Hotel
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Good location and friendly staff makes this a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LV2TRVL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Having stayed in a number of hotels during our stay in vietnam travelling from Hanoi to Saigon, I feel that I have some ability to say that Ha Van Hotel in Nha Trang is one of the best discount hotels in the country.

The room we booked was a balcony suite for $22usd a night. The room was clean and tidy and unlike most hotels in vietnam did not have mold and mildue growing in the corners.

The hotel has a modern lift so there is no climbing 5 storeys like many of the hotels in the same price range. It is also close to many very good restuarnts (i would recommend the cyclo cafe) and a 5 minute walk to the beach. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that stays in Nhas Trang. Nicolas and his staff are exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nmeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#37 of 215 in Nha Trang
501 reviews
0 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#64 of 215 in Nha Trang
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galliot Hotel
Galliot Hotel
#27 of 215 in Nha Trang
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#42 of 215 in Nha Trang
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
TriStar Hotel
TriStar Hotel
#38 of 215 in Nha Trang
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#48 of 215 in Nha Trang
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Van Hotel

Address: 3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 65000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ha Van Hotel & The Rooftop Lounge, since 2007, the heart of Nha Trang nightlife! ​ The Ha Van Hotel is a well-appointed budget hotel with a rooftop bar (The Rooftop Lounge), a Vietnamese Restaurant (Yen's Restaurant) and located in the heart of Nha Trang City. Just 120m away from the beach, and near all the restaurants, bars, dive clubs and other touristic services Nha Trang has to offers; a traveler would not find more ''downtown'' than this! If you are looking for action, entertainment and the very best nightlife of Nha Trang , the Ha Van Hotel will be for you! We cater for the more liberal oriented travelers looking to stay in an storied and borderline cultist hotel that has stood the test of time! Don't be surprised to meet musicians, singers, writers, doctors of all kinds, refugees, kids, spies, Vietnam veterans, Russians veterans, US Army veterans, hippies, bohemians, charlatans and other interesting characters... Visit us, you're welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha Van Nha Trang
Hotel Ha Van

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing