We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great friendly place to stay”
Review of Ha Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ha Van Hotel
Ranked #56 of 214 Hotels in Nha Trang
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were recommended this hotel from another in Dalat where we stayed & found the Ha Van very nice clean & friendly. Close to the beach & many amazing restaurants. You get a free drink on arrival & breakfast is included in room price which when on a budget is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 811 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms and location are okay. Big noise from construction next door...not their fault ,we can understand. The real problem in this hotel is the poor quality of service by the whole staff. The worst employées work at the restaurant. No smile, no attention, you feel like you should not be there. We asked for wake-up calls twice...and they forgot twice ! Big déception overall considering that we booked this hotel to encourage the owner which is coming from our country...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Monsieur,
I understand your frustration about not being served with a big smile in the morning and the fact that my receptionist forgot 2 wake up calls for you. This is of course un-acceptable from our team (there where some factors in play, but I take the blame on myself). I have met the concerned employees and remind them how important is to be on top of our game. I understand also that out of frustration you would put our ‘’whole staff’’ in the same basket which seems unjust for my room cleaning staff, our other receptionists and also our old manager that has brought you to your bus depot on his own motorbike to help your booking. I understand that on check-out we have forgot to include your restaurant bills and that you had to pay for it in another transaction (we will be more careful in the future to include all bills due on check-out). Yes, there is construction next door but it seem rather suspicious that it has cause you much headache since you were on the other side of the hotel, I am living myself in a room on the side of construction site and thanks to our double paned windows I can hardy hear anything (and nothing when my AC is on). Hopefully, the big noise is now over, they have finishes the foundation yesterday and now noise will be greatly reduce outside (no big bangs) and unnoticeable inside. In Nha Trang construction is everywhere, we should rejoice of the progress.

We are very sorry for your overall bad experience with us, be assured that your opinion count and measure have been taken to remind my staff to be on top of it.

Please accept my best regards,

Nicolas

Last note for our readers: If you have a problem or if you don’t like something in our hotel, please tell us! Don’t wait for the ‘’steam’’ to come up! Most of problems that arise in a hotel can be corrected quite fast as long as we know it. Tripadvisor is a good place to let a comment but there is nothing better than to let us know beforehand if there is something you need we correct or change….don’t wait after the check-out; it is our job to make sure that you’ll have a good stay in Nha Trang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal on this place with breakfast included. It means a lot having kids travel with us without having to look for breakfast in the morning. Choices were great for breakfast. The front desk always helpful and happy. Booked our train tix out and gave beach towels out. The rooftop servers in the morning, maybe some were not quite so friendly but good enough. The rooftop was much needed relaxation at night for drinks. This place has it all.
And what I appreciate most was that they had given us a chance to store our luggage and shower after we have checked out since our train was leaving in the evening. Awesome! Oh and French Canadians eh!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isacameth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Free welcome drink. Great location. Charming staff. Rooftop bar and monthly free party. Let us shower after checking out and stored luggage free. Ace. Clean good AC bakery in front. Staff really nice and helpful good English.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farisyakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. $28 for a double. Breakfast included was good! Quiet rooms. Laundry available for us $1.50/kg. room clean. Close to beach and other restaurants. Great location. Transfers available to airport $16. I would stay here again!! Staff good. Credit card available.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocopops89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights. They upgraded us for the last 2 as we were planning on moving hotels and they wanted to keep us. Lovely team of staff working here, very helpful, kind and caring. Had laundry done, came back quick, clean and faultless. Helped us organise all trips and transport. Great location. Wonderful Vietnamese restaurant 20 yards round the corner. Close to the beach. Nice balcony. Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Can see why they've Warner themselves trip advisor awards. Would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Based on all the good reviews and the prices charged, we had higher expectations of this place!
Upon arrival we were shown a room with a small bad while having booked a twin room, also there seemed to be a water leak in the ceiling / wall and the room had a moldy smell....moved to another room in which the AC didn't work, so we ended up moving into a third room which seemed ok. Rooms are on the smaller side, with old televisions but very comfortable beds. The bathroom is tiny and while the showers are nice (rain shower) there was a strong sewage smell coming out of the drains. Worst thing was the construction site next door which wouldn't stop till midnight and works start as early as 7 am. Noise level are intense and I guess will be ongoing for a couple of months.
I have to mention that they granted a 20% discount on the room rate for the inconvenience caused and breakfast was rather nice, but not enough for me to return or highly recommend his place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Madame & Monsieur,

Thanks for your fair review of our hotel. We are sad that the Ha Van Hotel didn't live up to our reputation. There was a mix-up in your reservation (my fault) so we showed you a room with one bed then correct it to have you in a Twin Room and sadly the A/C unit was not working (it happen sometime, those machines are working constantly because the Nha Trang heat and was promptly repaired) then running out of option we had to give you a room on the side where there is a construction nearby. Normally that would have been fine for the noise level as the construction site has working hours from 8 am till 5 or 6 pm and more importantly, our rooms have double paned windows that cut out 95% of the noise. That said, last week, they had to ''ramp up'' the work to finish the foundation of the building and work late. That work is now completed and noise level will be back to normal and inaudible behind of double paned windows.

Since the room hadn't been used for quite a time, there was a bad smell and we should have the room aerated before give it to you. For that, we are very sorry and I will make sure that all the rooms will be aerated as we are starting to use them again regularly (now that the noise level finally came to normal).

Be sure that the Ha Van Hotel team does everything in our power to make sure that the upmost majority of our guests have an excellent stay with us.

I know this is a long shot, but should you be back to our hotel, the experience you will have with us will be on par with our excellent reputation.

Nicolas
Ha Van Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.0 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#61 of 214 in Nha Trang
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#41 of 214 in Nha Trang
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lion 2 Hotel
White Lion 2 Hotel
#98 of 214 in Nha Trang
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Rain 2 Hotel
Golden Rain 2 Hotel
#36 of 214 in Nha Trang
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
#2 of 214 in Nha Trang
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Holiday Hotel
Golden Holiday Hotel
#95 of 214 in Nha Trang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Van Hotel

Address: 3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 65000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2007, the Ha Van Hotel is Nha Trang's favorite budget hotel for the discerning budget travelers. Low rate, clean & comfortable rooms. The Rooftop Lounge (on the 5th floor) is the place to be if you want to meet expats or long term travelers of Nha Trang. Yen's Restaurant (#1 Tripadvisor Restaurant for Nha Trang), located in our lobby offer you one of the best Vietnamese cuisine available in Nha Trang! Come meet us, we are sure you will like the Ha Van Hotel! So many regulars have made Ha Van Hotel & The Rooftop Lounge their home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ha Van Nha Trang
Hotel Ha Van

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing