We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whale Island Resort
Ranked #41 of 215 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just returned from a delightful long weekend at Whale Island Resort and I would gladly return again the next time I want to unwind in simple seclusion near Nha Trang.

This is very much the reserve of those people looking to escape the high rises of the city and instead wile away their days swimming, eating, reading, and lounging about. Thanks to the lethargic pace and limited number of rooms, there is almost a communal sense to the place with a shared identity between the sun worshipers that permeates every aspect of day to day life.

Admittedly, I was a bit concerned by the last review from Presutto, but then I discovered that my fears of pollution were largely unfounded. As boat people do occupy the other end of the bay they can end up clogging the surrounding waters with rubbish, but at the resorts beach this is only the case after a storm passing through the area and thanks to the diligent staff who are out on garbage patrol every morning at dawn and the collective efforts of the resorts sedated guests, there is little real trace of pollution in the azure waters of the resort's private sheltered bay. While one cannot say the same about some of the island's other beaches accessed by jungle paths, in truth this was of little real concern to most of the guests who became so sedated by the peaceful lifestyle that virtually no one ever felt like departing the main beach.

In the end however, we utterly loved our tastefully decorated spotlessly clean bungalow meters from the beach that was a steal compared to many similar spots in Vietnam. Similarly, the meal plan is a great bargain as each meal is huge and the staff can easily adapt the meals upon request for just about anything. ONE TIP we discovered was to order a purely vietnamese meal that ended up consisting of fried shrimp cakes, sauteed baby calamari, salad, summer rolls, rice, a glass noodle soup with crab, and a large grilled fish. For no extra cost this was a massive amount of good food for two people and a real treat that I would highly recommend. Other then that, I must say that the staff were friendly with a decent amount of english and in true french tradition, there was a nice cocktail menu and a lovely wine selection.

All in all, this is a place that most Vietnamese skip altogether and if you are looking for massive buffets, motorized watersports, modern amenities, and an active nightlife, then you had best stick to the city. However, for those of us looking for a few nights of utter peace and tranquility, its hard to think of a better place to recommend in the region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 436 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Whale Island Resort has only a slice of beach during low tide. Another small beach few minutes by feet. Beautiful but, unfortunately, full of plastic (bags, bottles, lighters, shoes). All Whale Island is choking in plastic. So sad. We stayed there last week and was fully booked: it means no space for everyone on the seaside. The staff is ok, but the management was unpleasant. Our bungalow (n2) was small. Backpackers style, but all inclusive tours guests. The food was good: I'm vegetarian and they cooked special meals for me. From the airport are 3 hours, plus 15 minutes by boat. We leave one day before our plans (too many people, too much plastc) and no refund.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPresutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at Whale Island Resort at the end of an organised cycling trip. I cannot comment on value for money as the cost of meals and accomodation were included in our cycling trip however can advise that this resort is secluded and a relaxing place to stay. It is an "eco styled resort" so the rooms are cabins and do not have air conditioning. If this is an issue for you, this is not the place to stay. 2 nights here was enough for us - not that there were any specific issues, but just not to our style for longer.

My advice if you are considering visiting is to make sure you are comfortable with the "eco styled" rooms and also check the food situation - meals are 3 times daily and fixed so if you have any special requirements I am not sure they would be catered for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerTiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Recommended by a friend, we came there for our weekend. It's really a nice place for relaxing from life. Room is just basis, no air con, no room internet, no tivi... & you totally enjoy the natural life there. There is no swimming pool but the beach is also the pool for you!
Staffs are nice & friendly. Food is not too much but acceptable. I am sure i will go back this place in the near future. Highly recommend to ones who want a hide away life.

Room Tip: Remember to bring snack or anything you can eat during yr stay as nothing to buy in this island unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThienNguyen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here two nights after the chaos of the cities. Paradise all the way. The bungalows are basic but beautifully equipped. King size beds, mosquito nets and cleanliness A+. Ceiling fans too. Wet room en-suite. Lovely hardwood floors and verandah runs along the front. Terracotta pot filled with water with a coconut scoop sits on the verandah to wash the sand off your feet before entering your bungalow - lovely touch. Restaurant a stroll along the beachfront. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was good. Marvelous considering everything has to come over from the mainland. Canoes, snorkels (small fee to pay), and plenty of sun loungers - whatever takes your fancy. Transfer from train in Nha Thrang well organised and boat transfer only about 15 mins to resort. Should have stayed longer..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Whale island was a lovely break for us. We were more than happy that the transfer from Nha Trang Railway station worked out so well. Our train was over 1.5h late and we were sure, that we would be stuck now in Nha Trang, but luckily our friendly driver was still waiting for us! All arrangments were well organised. We stayed in a lovely family bungalow close to the beach. The food was delicious and we found it very relaxing not to have to chose what to eat. That way we tasted a range of different very tasty kind of vietnamese and also some western food. Every meal was a pleasent surprise. Staff was nice and helpful. We did some scuba diving there as well, and believe it or not, we actually saw a whale shark!!!!!! However don't get your hopes to high, our divemaster, who has been diving there for 15 years told us, that this was only the second one he ever saw. So we were extremely lucky.
Our daughter also did her open water certificate for scuba diving and enjoyed it a lot.
If I could wish for something than it would be for more fruits at the breakfast. A buffet would have been lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famfinally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very nice place to stay. the amenities are not extravagant but it is a very nice place to get away from it all. Laid out on a lagoon the water is Roped off so no fishing vessels can come in. There is some very nice free diving here. There is also a dive shop and some nice dives to be had.some advanced but mostly chilled out diving. We stayed for 3 nights and really loved it. No TV or air con in the rooms. Just Bungalow style. internet reception is almost nothing and you can barely get a signal on your phone. Like I said, nice if you want to get away from it all. there is a bar and a set menu restaurant. I really loved it here and can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deco66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
29.4 mi away
La Paloma Hotel
La Paloma Hotel
#59 of 215 in Nha Trang
154 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#31 of 215 in Nha Trang
417 reviews
34.5 mi away
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
#32 of 215 in Nha Trang
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Galliot Hotel
Galliot Hotel
#25 of 215 in Nha Trang
324 reviews
31.7 mi away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#11 of 215 in Nha Trang
1,924 reviews
12.5 mi away
Some Days of Silence Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Island Resort

Address: 2 Me Linh | Van Ninh District, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#12 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: $38 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical paradise on a small island in stunning Van Phong Bay, Whale Island, also known as Ile de la Baleine or Hon Ong, is a low-key, initimate resort two hours north of Nha Trang. Offering a desert island experience, Whale Island nestles amongst swaying coconut palms and a pristine sand beach.Thirty one traditional-style bamboo thatched bungalows offer beds with mosquito nets, pillar fans, plus en-suite bathrooms with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whale Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Island Hotel Nha Trang
Whale Island Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing