We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort for holliday in Nha Trang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whale Island Resort
Ranked #37 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort for holliday in Nha Trang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two days and enjoyed our stay greatly.
Location was great and the staff was also great. Food was very good, with slot of seafood. They also provided good alternatives for for the seafood if you don't like it.

All in all a very good resort to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosophoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    131
    56
    36
    19
See reviews for
92
192
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mannum, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We loved staying in the beach bungalows. They were very simple and made from bamboo but had mossie nets over the beds. The location was ideal. Right on the beach. Lots of things to do or just chill out. Really good food. It was a set menu but there was plenty of food and it was yummy and there were plenty of courses. We loved it here. Kids loved it here as well. We stayed three nights but should have stayed one more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hewie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Me and my girlfriend booked this place for a week, we left after only 3 days.
The Bungalows were very simpel, thats ok but for 42$ or 60$ a night its quite expensive. And you also have to pay the food 26$ per day it maby sound ok, but for lunch and dinner that you mabe dont like.... you can`t choose what to eat. Its a set lunch and dinner meny and if you dont like it you can`t go some where else to eat,I didn`t like the food at all, I do like fish but not the one they served, tasted like chewing gum. And when they surved meat my girlfriend (who dont eat red meat) got only some carrots and cucumber for dinner.
I ordered a birthday cake for my girlfriend on her 30th birthday, the staff said "no problem", but it did not appear, as they had promised.

The local staff was OK, but very shy and the manager was like a nobody.
When we were there it was only about 10 other guests and the manager could not even say hello when run in to him!
The dive instructor did not even look at us, we had tried to contact him about 3-4 times, after that we gave up.

So all together our stay was not good, but of course it could be better. The most anoying is that this place could be a paradise easely but you get the feeling that they dont even try.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deleriumDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKOUET, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear customer,

As i tried to improve the quality of our service, i have paid a real attention to your review.

I feel really sorry to appear unavailable at the office all morning and at the bar lounge and diner room in the evening: i would try to give you satisfaction if i knew that your wife did not like the vegetarian food served in the 3 lunch courses and our 4 diner courses.

Since your review, we are serving the birthday with the dessert and not after, as you left your table before our staff could give it to your wife: the birthday cake is more considered as a gift than a dessert in Vietnam.

Finally, i was pleased to know that you found the diving instructor, as you are on the dive profile of the diving boat trip on your 4th day on our island.

I officially apologize for the inconvenience you met during your stay but hope you did enjoy your beach bungalow charged at the garden rate.

As you did not answer to an email i sent you 3 weeks ago, I remind you that I still available to answer to any question you may have,

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier ("Mr Nobody")
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

My wife and I had three nights at Whale Island and would have liked more. This is not a five star hotel but a tranquil oasis with access to warm clear waters for snorkeling and scuba diving. There is no AC but the bamboo and palm thatched huts are all equipped with ceiling fans that provide a comfortable nights rest. The dining is a fixed menu with generous quantities of well prepared food. The bar serves a good range of alcoholic drinks and the nearby lounge is a good place for free WiFi. This resort provided the ideal end to our 40 day tour of Vietnam.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RjG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I was blown away by this place, its almost paradise. The beach and water were gorgeous, food amazing, nice beach bungalow. This is a private island with 20 beach huts, bar, restaurant, spa and diving centre.
Previous reviewers complaints mystify me, yes there is no safe but for the three days i stayed there i left my door open all the time. There are only guests and a few staff on the island. The beach hut was gorgeous with a nice bed, mosquito net, ceiling fan and lovely bathroom. Towels/bed linen were of a high quality. It was 35 degrees when i was there but the fan was fine to keep me cool.
Yes, its a set menu every day but the food was delicious, a cross between Vietnamese and French food (the owners are a French-vietnamese couple). They basically serve whatever is fresh on the day from the sea and their vegetable garden.
There is a mix of westerners and Vietnamese here and I met three very nice Vietnamese couples with great English who were very keen to chat about Vietnam etc which was great.
Couple of issues tho which meant im only giving it a four star;
-staff in restaurant were incompetent, spoke no English and starred at me while I was eating. When i asked for more food one night that I was still hungry (portion size was small one night) I was told no by the servers despite paying 14USD (300,000 VND) for dinner. The french owner told me the next day this should not have happened.
- as a solo traveller this place is hard to meet people as its mostly couples.
- snorkelling trip by boat was a waste of money, there are no fish in the waters near whale island, they have all been fished (take note dive course people) and visibility was poor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay despite the distance from the airport, but I knew it before so....
I came with my girlfriend, and to be true, this is a really romantic Resort: first, the place is really clean (eco-resort), and a lot of flora diversity (palm trees, and colorful flowers everywhere), the sea is a clear and blue, the bungalow is authentic, yes there is no AC, yes there is only one plug, yes the is no double window, yes there is no LED 3D TV with an I-pad control.... hey, you are in a eco-resort in a beautiful and peaceful island! What do you think (response to previous comments). This resort has some character, it is definitely not a standardized 5 stars hotel (like some people seems to expect for 60$, still response to previous comments).
According to the food, personally, I knew it before that we have to pay for it.... and that it was a set menu. But I like it sometimes because it let place to surprise and discovery, if there is a regular menu, we use to take what we know and so, no place for surprise. Furthermore, I was really surprised by the quality, really "rafine" and diverse. Good value for money. (and you are on a Island, so not easy for the kitchen to be fully supplied... you want a Mac Donald maybe? Still response to previous review...)
For the activities, some rest under sunshine, snorkeling, canoe, and tour of the Island is amazing, really wild and preserve, great! And, at the sunset, we really enjoyed having a cocktail in the really nice bar area. And then, in the bungalow, the magic take place....

To conclude, if you want to get away, enjoy a peaceful experience in a resort who respects the place, this is the place to go, and you will be under the charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cousinhub86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

After travelling round Vietnam in a group, me and my boyfriend took a 2 day time out to Whale Island.
Lovely place, the bungalows are so pretty and we had access straight to the sea.
Snorkelling is a must do - mainly because there are so many sea urchins in the area of sea by the bungalows. The sea is crystal clear, so you can sea them but...
The food is very overpriced, compared to the rest of Vietnam and a can be a little strange.

Perfect for couples wanting to get away from the noise and crowds of Vietnam for a few days, Whale Island is absolutely charming!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sterashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nha Trang
34.5 mi away
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
#28 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
17.1 mi away
Wild Beach Resort and Spa
Wild Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Ninh Phuoc
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#29 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Some Days of Silence Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
#2 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
27.0 mi away
Amiana Resort
Amiana Resort
#5 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Island Resort

Property: Whale Island Resort
Address: 2 Me Linh | Van Ninh District, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#12 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical paradise on a small island in stunning Van Phong Bay, Whale Island, also known as Ile de la Baleine or Hon Ong, is a low-key, initimate resort two hours north of Nha Trang. Offering a desert island experience, Whale Island nestles amongst swaying coconut palms and a pristine sand beach.Thirty one traditional-style bamboo thatched bungalows offer beds with mosquito nets, pillar fans, plus en-suite bathrooms with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Whale Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Island Hotel Nha Trang
Whale Island Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing