We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value with some rooms really quite nice. I'd go again.”
Review of Kim Ngan Hotel

Kim Ngan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kim Ngan Hotel
Ranked #166 of 211 Hotels in Nha Trang
Reviewed October 16, 2009

On the basis of reviews here on tripadvisor we decided to stay at Kim Ngan. We had a great time and found everything clean and functional. I'd say this hotel is a pretty safe bet. The lady in charge (maybe she's Kim Ngan - I don't know) was on the ball, spoke good english and was always ready to help us.

We stayed one night in a 12 dollar room on the 3rd floor. Small balcony. No view to speak of. Towels and soap missing. Small TV just a speck, across the other side of the room from the bed where we wanted to collapse after a long day of traveling. Not a fantastic start, but not terrible either for 12 dollars, everything else was inorder. They quickly and apologetically sorted out our towel and soap problem and we discovered 2 large bottles of water in the fridge (nice touch - 10,000 each - not bad). Powerful air conditioning and a duvet -like blanket rather than a plain sheet brought back the feeling of luxury and we were happy bunnies. Especially when we saw the prices of the room service menu - very reasonable indeed.

We spent 3 more nights in a 15 dollar room on the 6th floor. This price includes breakfast. We later discovered that breakfast options were rather limited as most of what is on the menu was not available. Maybe we were unlucky in our timing as other posts here recommend the banana pancakes which were not available for the duration of our stay! This room had 2 double beds (one bigger than the other), a bath tub, and a big balcony looking out to the water in front and the mountains on either side. Really brilliant. We had no problem with noise from other guests or the street.

The location of the hotel is fine as long as you don't mind a little walking. It's a little more than 5 mins to the beach and then a walk along the coast until you decide where you want to settle. Probably another 10 mins to the sailing club, for example, which provides nice beach chairs, umbrellas, drinks and masseurs. If you'd like to in the heart of the bar and restaurant area I think this place may not be ideal for you. There are plenty of cheap hotels closer to tourist-central.

Other comments on the hotel: the manager recommended a couple of good Vietnamese restaurants which were indeed excellent but totally out of our modest budget! One place we can recommend is Lac Cahn, popular with tourists and locals alike for table-top BBQ style food, not for seafood though.

The hotel can sort out tours for you (boat tour to 4 islands 100,000 VND) and hire out motorbikes (120,000 for an automatic and 80,000 for normal). They also have internet access for free and a skype headphone set, set up and ready to go.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Island_Girl_Puerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Kim Ngan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

We (4 of us) stayed here in July 09 for 3 nights. The rooms were a good size and everything was adequately clean. Nothing was in very new condition, but we were paying $14 a night for a double incl breakfast, and were more than happy with the standard of the accommodation.

The bes thing about the place was the balcony. Of our 2 rooms, one had a very small balcony which faced out towards the sea. The room facing inland, however, had a huge balcony with beautiful views up to the mountains. The 4 of us had a great time sitting out there in the evenings and they even served us breakfast up there every day!

The service we received there was excellent, from breakfast on the balcony to booking our buses and letting us use their staff shower before getting on the sleeper bus to Hoi An.

For the money, I'd definitely say it was the best value hotel we stayed in in Vietnam

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djgrayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Our room was very spacious with 2 large beds, lovely decorated. Snack and food was fabulous, quick and cheap. Booking boattrip tour was very easy and trusted from hotel reception. The location is OK as well, just 5 mins to walk to the beach and restaurants, shops are all around, within walking distance. We were very happy enjoying the holiday there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FleurDCute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed in mid Feb 2009. My buddy and I booked this place off another site, where it has more reviews. A bit hesitant after the negative review on Tripadvisor, but we went with it. After staying there, I feel like I should spread the word about this little find. Kim Ngan is located in a quiet street away from the main street construction. It's about a 10-12 min walk to the beach. Lots of food and shopping options nearby.

This hostel is one of the few that I've stayed in that has an elevator. This is convenient, especially after a long day on the town. We were given a 3 bedroom balcony room, which basically turned out to be the entire floor, for the price of a double. Rooms are clean, although ours was a bit cramped with the 3 beds. Bathroom is a bit small and not as clean as it should be, but this is probably attributable to accumulated sand and soot from the beach. We had a great balcony view of Nha Trang. Great banana pancakes, eggs and coffee served to your room. Front office staff is friendly and helpful - they recommended where to go, rented us motorbikes (THE ONLY WAY TO EXPLORE NHA TRANG!) and booked bus tickets.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfe151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

This hotel is only $12 a night inc breakfast, it has aircon, fan, balcony, fridge, cable tv. The hotel even has a lift!! its in an ideal location, down a quiet street.

we actually should of been staying in the angella hotel for $45 a night, but this hotel (which is only in the next street) had intensive building work going on it it, plus a new hotel being built infront of my seaveiw window.we stayed one night then went to sunflower tours down the road who recomended the kim ngan, one of the tour staff even walked us to the hotel. we couldnt believe what we could get for our $12. the room was big and clean, the bathroom is small but its the standard style for a $12 hotel, you know the type (sit on the toilet whilst you shower).

i can honestly say i would definatley return to this hotel, i found it oen of the better $12 hotels i stayed in throught vietnam

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank proseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Thank you all staff in Kim Ngan Hotel, we had a very nice time staying at your hotel. You all are very friendly, kind and made our trip easier, more comfortable. The room we stayed was very spacious, everyday cleaned, well-equipped, and especially good view from the balcony. We were suprised when you showed us that room, because we had never rent a such beautiful room while travelling around Vietnam ( I mean standard and 1 or 2 stars hotel ). We also had good breakfast in room, you always had friendly smile on face, it made us feel comfortable. Next time, if we have a chance to Nha Trang, we will defintely come back your hotel.
Best wishes to all.
Mrs. Hilary

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lovemyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

we stayed here while on our travels through vietnam, on our first night our hotel room was broken into and about 7000 dollars worth of equipment and cash was stolen, the hotel denied everything and were not helpful to us one bit. after a long argument with the hotel staff patronizing me and my friend, woth comments like 'you might have left your stuff on the bus while on your journey to nha trang' we became very angry. eventually they called the police. we done what we could with the police and waited for police reports. our hotel then insisted that we still pay for our accomadation, which we thought was wrong. overall this is a unsafe hotel and has happened here before. the staff are only freindly when they are taking your money, when the tables turn the story changes and they are difficult and unhelpfull. This is just a warning so that it doesnt happen to any one else.

thankyou

Stayed: May 2006
19  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.2 mi away
La Vie Hotel
La Vie Hotel
#194 of 211 in Nha Trang
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Long Hostel
My Long Hostel
#120 of 211 in Nha Trang
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea 1-3 Hotel
Blue Sea 1-3 Hotel
#185 of 211 in Nha Trang
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ken Hotel
Ken Hotel
#94 of 211 in Nha Trang
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Lotus
Hotel Golden Lotus
#83 of 211 in Nha Trang
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Indochine Hotel
Indochine Hotel
#92 of 211 in Nha Trang
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Ngan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Ngan Hotel

Address: 52 Hoang Hoa Tham, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 211 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kim Ngan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kim Ngan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing