We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, a little shabby”
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #63 of 208 Hotels in Nha Trang
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location, a little shabby”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here with our GAP Adventures tour for 1 night. It was close to the beach and easy to get to from the train station and the food in the restaurant was good value and quite nice. The rooms were a little shabby, with very old (and slightly dubious looking) carpets. The bathroom was actually a wet room, and the floor was a little slippery. I would recommend, but only for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JClay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
41
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed here for 2 days and we found insects and lots of bed bugs all over one of the beds in our room. We got a cleaning lady to come in and she gave me a can of bug spray to solve the problem. When we complained to reception we were told it wasn't true and we must have brought the insects with us. Even when we had to take the sheet off the bed ourselves and bring it down to reception she still would not give us a refund for our one night stay or even a discount The mattress under the sheet was crawling with bugs and they still denied it was there fault and just put new sheets on the bed for the next people staying in the room. Reception was extremely rude and tried to imply I had brought ants in my luggage and it was our fault.
Also the breakfast was pretty bad, not many options, But you get What you pay for.
The only good thing was its location. But I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews of previous members and considering their approval rate. We found the hotel to be clean, basic and inexpensive. The area where the hotel is situated is entirely suited to those on group tours [arriving late and leaving early] and to those on tight budgets. The hotel is close to nothing other than several overpriced seaside restaurants and 'girlie' bars. Currently the hotel is very noisy due to the major extensions being undertaken at the hotel and the construction of a further hotel adjacent to Vien Dong. For the more energetic visitor there are many restaurants in the Diet Thu [street]/Tran Quang Khai [street] areas which is within a 10/15 minute walk [turn left at the main entry to the hotel and keep on walking]. BUT leave the Vien Dong Hotel before dusk to miss the countless large rats that feast on the decaying food left on the footpath between the hotel and the restaurants. We chose to walk to the restaurant area BUT taxi home. We are unable to agree with previous submissions with regard to the 'breakfast' made by others - average quality only. The basics of cereal and toast are not provided, the display of food is made over an exagerated area therefore giving the appearance of an extensive selection which it isn't. Staff generally are efficient however without personality and we believe this is due to the lack of management skills shown by a number of the senior personnel. We were witness to a male manager 'phisically kick' one of the receptionists because she had not become immediately aware that we were waiting at the reception counter. The staff appear willing to assist but have no identity and appear intimidated by the employer. Staff appear never to have received any formal and/or proper training in hospitality. The restaurant which adjacent to the pool is converted into a wedding reception area most evenings therefore limiting any use by guests of this area. Preparation of the 'now' reception area commences each midday. The hotel is adequate however if we were to return to Nha Trang we would seek other accomodation before returning here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Stayed just the one night after a train trip to Nha Trang. Basic, near the beach but not that convienent. Big pool with no character - looks like the school pool. Average breakfast. Good price at $43 US for 4 of us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed there as a part of a group tour. The location is perfect, 2 min walk to the beach, huge swimming pool, great buffet breakfast. It isn't one of those big towers. The rooms are normal, had 2 double in ours and the bathroom is fine, although has the classical Asian shower in the middle of the bathroom. The only downpoint would be the staff which is very helpful at times.Also, if you going on a boar trip, don't book it at the hotel. The guy was mad and made us karaoke in the middle of the day when we just all wanted the boat to take us to a beach. Once we arrived at 'the beach', it bwas dirty, small and awful. There are other boat trips just outside the hotel. And for the laundery, same same, don't do it a the hotel, there are places much cheaper just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and found the hotel quite good. The rooms are fine, albeit a little outdated and the swimming is huge and great to relax by. And, the breakfast is really impressive. The staff here were quite rude, on check out the credit card machine was not working, and all the close by ATM's were out of order however they made no effort to assist in resolving this problem, just telling us we will have to take a taxi at our expense. It is about 700 metres from the main tourist area which means it is more quite and relaxing and not many touts. I would recommend this place for people who want and good value but not flashy hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_the_Sea_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Our family of five stayed at the Vien Dong for six nights in April 2008. We found everything about our stay a perfectly adequate -we had two rooms next to each other - the kids had three single beds in their room and ours had a queen bed and a single. Rooms were clean and serviced daily, came with toiletries, fresh flowers, television with cable, and towels changed every day (even if they were a little old) For about $60 AUS a night we found this extraordinary value. Breakfast (included in the price)
was a buffet down by the pool - a huge choice that changed every day, and you could always order an omelette freshly made while you wait. Internet is available (two terminals) in the lobby for a very minimal charge. We found the desk staff more than helpful at every turn. The beach is a very close by, as is the centre of town where there is an amazing choice of restaurants to dine in every night. There are quaint signs in the lifts apologizing for the renovations, but we didn't really see any evidence of any such improvements. Sure, the place is a little old, but it suited us down to the ground. Beware if you swim in the pool - over-chlorination is a universal problem in Vietnam.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Avoid the budget rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovealifeoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Hotel Nhatrang
Green Hotel Nhatrang
#62 of 208 in Nha Trang
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#47 of 208 in Nha Trang
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#28 of 208 in Nha Trang
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Galliot Hotel
Galliot Hotel
#22 of 208 in Nha Trang
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#11 of 208 in Nha Trang
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nha Trang Palace Hotel
Nha Trang Palace Hotel
#38 of 208 in Nha Trang
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Property: Vien Dong Hotel
Address: 1 Tran Hung Dao Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vien Dong Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing